OPC car good idea!!!

Yeshe

wah lau.. already say before wat.. it's on the lta website.. once all the ERP points are up. OPC will be a thing of the past.

I wonder how they going to implement.

I think the second car can be an OPC...like I saw an OPC Nissan 350Z on the road....convertable some more....

I dun mean anything though.. but IMO, i feel that such cars dun seem to go well with red plate. rolleyes.gif

OPC Car Owners should try to adhere to usage hours n not try to 'makan' govt....cos if too much spoil market, another set of rules will surface to counter OPC cars on the road....the penalty is hefty too!

I agree.

Rules are all set by humans.. cause we have shown that we dun have self-discipline..

Who can we blame for all the rules implied but ourselves.. shakehead.gif

with the following COE crash, OPC car like VIOS/lancer can get easily for 25k after AD adjust the new pricing. i wonder if anyone did the calculation, if someone gets the OPC car and used $20 coupon everyday, it would actually be much cheaper than regular car!

eg, 52 weeks a year = 100 sat/sun

approx 11 holidays a year

total days that can use OPC car = 110 days.

total days that have to use $20 coupon = 365-110 = 250 days

even if u use $20 coupon EVERYDAY for 250 days = $5000!!!

so in short your OPC car is actually only $30k and can use for everyday compared to a normal car costing about $42k?? the hassle is of course to tear the coupon everyday.

For OPC cars, u need to go for inspection to check the no. plates every year. and u'll be subjected to checks for the coupons on the road during peak hr. very troublesome.

i had heard of an idea from someone to buy OPC cars and re-sell it in M'sia as it will become cheaper after the 17K discount. but this was not feasible as singapore registered cars are a potential targets for thief

Well, if can afford the 350z, whats that 17k? One year road tax for the 350z is already 4k. [:)] Unless, the money really got way better use. In which case, then car shouldn't buy at all. [:p] Different perspectives, perhaps.

Pls post in the right thread. Its about 10k, depending on whether sports edition or not and whether its auto or manual. Can read sgcarmart.com for details of the omv.

true.. nod.gif

probably is just that the first impression it gives me.. the car defintely wows me.. but i feel that it will be better with a normal plate car.. laugh.gif

with the following COE crash, OPC car like VIOS/lancer can get easily for 25k after AD adjust the new pricing. i wonder if anyone did the calculation, if someone gets the OPC car and used $20 coupon everyday, it would actually be much cheaper than regular car!

eg, 52 weeks a year = 100 sat/sun

approx 11 holidays a year

total days that can use OPC car = 110 days.

total days that have to use $20 coupon = 365-110 = 250 days

even if u use $20 coupon EVERYDAY for 250 days = $5000!!!

so in short your OPC car is actually only $30k and can use for everyday compared to a normal car costing about $42k?? the hassle is of course to tear the coupon everyday.

For OPC cars, u need to go for inspection to check the no. plates every year. and u'll be subjected to checks for the coupons on the road during peak hr. very troublesome.

i had heard of an idea from someone to buy OPC cars and re-sell it in M'sia as it will become cheaper after the 17K discount. but this was not feasible as singapore registered cars are a potential targets for thief

Plate inspection not troublesome lar. The vicom centres are open until 5pm on saturdays. So no need to proposely tear $20 coupon for inspection. Its a breeze too. Just a glance by the inspector on the front and back of the car and he will sign on a form on the spot. With paper, can immediately pay the $138 road tax and get the disc liao. I got everything done in 5 mins nia. Yishun Vicom is 5 mins drive from my house somemore. [nod]

good to know that. but basically got to make yourself free on a sat afternoon 3-5pm. how abt servicing? got to service on sat afternoon or sunday then

Just tear cupon and go service lor, OPC is only for driver that want to drive during off peak hours,

not really, for me i dun drive to work, i only need car after work and on weekend. I just dun want to spend so much $ on car, so i choose OPC. individual needs