Old days pics to share...

Dumber

wave.gif bro spas

I wish i have more info on 1961 F1 Prix...done some research online and tried to search in local old newspapers...I will post again if I have...

1st Singapore Grand Prix toruing car race was held in formerly known as Thompson road,

Date: 17/9/1961

http://homepage.mac.com/frank_de_jong/Race...0Singapore.html

http://www.grandprix.com/ns/ns14576.html

Edited by Dumber

Thanks dude.

How come the pictures are mosaiced? Got non-mosaiced ones or not? Kinda lacking detail on why they weren't public.

the pics are from spi

I believe these pics are too scary or naked body that's why..if you want know more details about HPV, can read up www.spi.com.sg

extracted from spi

"We tried to verify that the park is free of horror stuff like those wax dummies, and let the rumor dies off itself by uncovering the truth. Specifically we checked the empty cave and its tunnels underneath the pond and the storage house near the 10 Courts of Hell. The undercover cave was so humid and filled with smell of urine. One can easily go in and get lost. Children sometimes go in play hide and see but we do not recommend. The air is so foul that we almost couldn't breath while we were investigating inside the cave. We walked through every corner, no sight of weird stuff."

nobody know the reason or purpose of these hidden statues in the storage room discovered .

19.jpgDiwan S Randhawa outside the office of the Navjiwan when he was the owner of the only Punjabi weekly - since defunct.

7.jpg

The old Jiwan Sudhar Sabha.

Wonder if it still exists.

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UABvD3oZ0iSryq60N*CeWON27RvnRUiz9LIdDLMESW2gqooAqr6Xs0ktL7IBp5sPi3i5*K6Y4kkjWwN

cSTjsXzMJWaSWFPOAgC4nk1uhLwoMxOpTc7!yRHiCbw8EcG8P/xmas%20party.bmp?dc=4675481563635144393

i used to work part time at HPV too during the mid 90s! i was supporting the entertainment dept, so i heard many stories from them (but didnt encounter anything myself).

if i'm not wrong, some parts behind the HPV is an old abandoned kampung cemetary.. i saw some tombstones before.

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0VADDD34a4H!aXkZ*OI3dfXSMMj6CTl!oQPq6lzE0BMAy2tD0yz9TXHooAbXCJe*i!nsu3Gau*3644VB

!jaCYNIFvLtcQ0FE328T7Oxo6x0Kkk!qITeRAUF*bpS3x7wEr/Typical%20Street.BMP?dc=4675541754739733434

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0YABPD!EdLK2xfxKgbAjQcXjF4TXj3nlqe*BKJ1gjeWuzn6JMxMnULbGGqpvfCkD04SW5!3!Fq9BMdCt

nT2uaOiAbTXflN14pNsor*wMOrDsMVR3YimvC52QuUXZUTsBcjylQu6NEYn3XchQCTW96aQ/wedding%201965%20Army%20women.jpg?dc=4675489846739919740

old wedding photo...these women's dress look like nurse uniform laugh.gif

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UQBuDsIZSTS2ez3jaolxZA!JrU2CX5Lu!MATw23md5jHqkqyB!IrdZiuqczbth5HLtIxw9tRIw9wbvV

KKs77nKrQsxQE6iE*b90TePb3TuqXIp*HLTPcqIkZCbsDKWQm/The%20Causeway.jpg?dc=4675407436638877439

The causeway..why no cars??no jam????haha

entertainment dept? I worked in F&B ...tough...still rem I wore those traditional chinese uniforms

talking about F&B...anyone remember or been to these places before? smile.gif

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UQAjD6cYz!jXOCDDoUqwx35ldqw9xNpTS4iVZCYQs7hURcCGjJZiClh2lKVwVvOGLxvsZJ!x4BJf1Az

DF15YD9pscNi6QUWZu2lwD0use21!R7hexJc4jYosu5iJMKL2/Bar%20Card%202.jpg?dc=4675407436695152646

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0TQDQDu4XsqnXOCDDoUqwx6NtlTuW8YG0lmb*Ssjg3KDB*k9nCSRSbtwkyOze5Ha9ur68v3GCPld3ZYj

oyZIrHpIgiVMrtPeqlvKeS3cX8FKgJ2K137yZdQ/Bar%20Card.jpg?dc=4675407436728233438

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0VAATDu4ZrFCU6OcsI8pVg8hODLMOQf8B9kYGsWOPXYRnxqMFBsVqf00FmA7K!Jji3KaiWOeI1zaSUqj

1nfhKo6*Pay1gUbeItqiS!ezd*SjfwflxARHZuGdhCPZtzaSk/Bugis%20Babes%201.jpg?dc=4675407436746999264

Bugis babes

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0VABDD!8Z7lCU6OcsI8pVg8hODLMOQf8BiNbphZJiywLtqBOO7HaFEBTZazjiEyMMqmFe2UEObHOYxYy

QnE7X5mESa54mmdyfrVPcxRyKnzXnUn!2uBUCpMN4ZlGuHOwE/Bugis%20Babes%202.jpg?dc=4675407436770489554

Princess Mary NAAFI Club

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0VABGDvAZMFGU6OcsI8pVg8hODLMOQf8BQ7E1aZjSGC6jXOj0saOpI3kVgnyMyTP4nmA018OgnHRuKJ9

FtwtWnVOJBvWxUhAXDxkNdHO0O*yJlFMfSobG3U0jXge6*hM6/Bugis%20Babes%203.jpg?dc=4675407436789630791

Bugis babes

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0VgDODg0bVKWU6OcsI8pVg9*RkFw*OTpv1DYJDQe4MVpbjGg9vh8JjNgiq0m1e4T2Tk0OtmbYj39S*dv

RRzXbggHvnBtGlsQnIHgmwo54HKH6XDzZtoUMM53A2TJROYce/Bugis%20St%20Advert.jpg?dc=4675407436821620344

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0UgDTD94Zh0O6OB5nfyfHOp0HLSBuNOdQRxdhvydNZS4ao!I5XmsCPTWl5b3QfWXLRQqkaUcrTq0gIHJ

O9pG0N6oOk!i!4ZNfyHcIWpBHJnHD8RBUYhgdWLwo7Q9SvV4W/Tailor's%20Card.jpg?dc=4675407436842845436

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0WQAGDjkbFcWFTonUXObITsLDoExjduqy9v0YQHngRlBeOe90uCXRByQGcji2zefnvKgSokh7td1v3cB

NbiT3zE0h!TBVt5WZJg5bLeGhz0Uxkeqfs07n3SgkK*zZnpidtuDGKIwJe0Q/Tiger%20Beer%20Mat%201.jpg?dc=4675407436852167106

Tiger beer? so cartoon tiger..haha

http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0WQD2DjobV8WFTonUXObITsLDoExjduqyAAkK54oxtnu*s4XzyJ1HOjKRiDMVdbw34uOtviOi1QtXRY2

G5rQeVvM8GpGWORgABa39Av4hpdrn8cJmDZNDiEH!W*3AgMLL4FIX12dwJa0/Tiger%20Beer%20Mat%202.jpg?dc=4675407436863524908

tiger transformed...

The bldg with vertical window and strips looks very familiar....I think its still around. Maybe in Boat Quay area...

i think that building is opposite Sim Lim Tower (not Sim Lim Square). Now painted green and selling lightings i think. the spot where the ang mo is standing should be Sim Lim Tower now.

correct me if im wrong.

I love collecting old pics...searching from websites..friends..all kind of sources...sly.gif i love antique stuff...but not antique women definitely sly.gif

Very nice but are these your originals? The National Archives might want to collect your pics (which I swear I have not seen before at their website).

Another place where pple interested in old Singapore heritage buildings and conservation is at the Singapore Skyscraper City (SSC) forum : http://www.skyscrapercity.com/forumdisplay.php?f=563

I have re-posted some of your wonderful pics there (if you mind that, just shout).

Edited by Maverick713

these are not my original photos..I'm not that old...some are got from websites though..

you may post no prob smile.gif

are you into photography? thanks for sharing the forum..will check it out nod.gif

Edited by Dumber

Hey....! I say HEY!

Good idea for a movie! Instead of Night at the Museum. We have A Night in HPV! idea.gif

Now to find some Ben Stiller or Robin Williams calibre local actors to participated. Maybe rope in old foggies.

Thanks. I do take photographs of buildings but not really into photography. Some forumers in SSC and Clubsnap are professional photographers. I have seen really beautiful pics of Singapore buildings and landscape in these forums.

86.jpg

Orchard road, 1968

fphome.LogoPar.Single.LogoImage.gif

looking at the orchard road pic, it seems like Hotel Intercontinental didn't change their logo for almost 40 years liao. the font used is still the same.

old pics are interesting!

yes..I have seen many webbies displaying very nice pics taken by these pro photographers...thumbsup.gif great works