Dynaway 1st Gear June 26, 2007 Share June 26, 2007 say hello to ur Grandpapa Starlet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaara Neutral Newbie July 17, 2007 Share July 17, 2007 i am getting abit impatient seeing all these pics... waiting for my tp seems to be like taking forever! i have even reserved a starlet for myself... all i need to do now is pass my damn tp and join the S-TEAM!!! this is taking forever man!!! i'm going to go crazy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 haha i'm the opp of u. i still looking for the right starlet to come along. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 Hi guys , Dun mind i tompang this thread as i still cannot start a new thread..jus registered in mcf. How much can an ep70 body fetch if it's scrap at the end of the coe (i.e: no paper value, sports rims, bodykit) assuming the engine is still in working condition? Any payment needed to get it scraped? Also would it be advisable to renew coe if the chassis has some corrosive spots? can these spots be fixed? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 i didnt check the exact price, but most probably the scrapyard is only gonna give you a couple of hundreds for the price of the metal... whatever working parts you have won't help much cos the car is really old im driving an ep70 myself... juz renew 10 year COE a few months back, and i got my mechanic to fill up some rusted spots on my undercarriage... lots of people around me telling me to scrap the car and stuff, but thanks to my brothers here at MCF, i know better if you really think about it, keeping an old car is still cheaper than buying a new one, no matter how low COE prices may be. just keep an emergency fund ready for repairs, and if something really major happens, scrap the car and you can still get back your leftover COE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 A couple of hundreds is really pathetic man. Yeah i noticed not many ep70s on the road if nt there might still be demand for the parts. There must be a reason why so many ep70 are heading to scrapyards instead of going to LTA to renew coe. How much does it cost to "patch" those spots? If i'm not wrong, it's all hollow underneath corrosive spots. It happened to my previous bike...asked the mech to "patch" one part of the bike frame where the sidestand is attached to, ended up no hole became a very big hole when he starts with the first weld then told me inside is all hollow liao and i witnessed the process..making the chassis really unsafe. I'm actually considering an offer to take over an ep70 (frm direct owner) and he told me still can renew 10yrs. Jus wanted to own this piece of legendary toyota before it's extinct. The engine has power but after considering paper value, asking price is ridiculous with abt 1yr coe left. And i initially intended to renew for 5 more yrs next yr but after seeing those corrosive spots ("big pimples" which are visible on the chassis) , i think otherwise. I dun want to be worrying abt them whenever it rains. One more thing, did u install power steering? Cant imagine doing parallel parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 as a rule of thumb, we shouldnt expect much from the body value of a more than 10 year old car =) patching costs a couple of hundreds too... can't remember the exact cost. i dun think my mechanic welded anything. more like juz fill it up with putty/fibre. i didnt really ask cos i trust him. personally the most i would pay is for the remaining COE value plus an additional $1k for an ep70... can consider paying more if seller can produce receipts for parts changed recently if you have the cash to spare, i would advice extend 10 years COE. it gives you the flexibility to scrap or sell the car if you need to. if you only extend 5 years, and you happen to be very happy with the car, you'll still be forced to scrap it. when shopping for such an old car, the chassis condition should be priority. everything else can change. do consider the younger EP80 too if you can't find an EP70 in good condition =) most starlet owners have strong biceps dun worry lah... you'll get used to the weight of the steering after a week of driving... the starlet is a light car, and the lack of power steering is great for cornering Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 is there any payment involved to scrap it? (ie: toh tiap to scrap) The owner did show me some receipts of repairs. One of the corrosive spots happens to be at the edge of the gap where the fuel tank cover sits in. Patch liao still need to respray. Asking price is more than 1k abv paper. Hard to decide especially when pressure tactics is applied ("i got another buyer waiting after u..blahblah"), however i'm unwilling to pay an exorbitant price no matter how much i like it. Btw, i observed black smoke when i rev the engine at idling. Either the fuel pump is gone or the carb needs to retune? I dunno why but i'm oni interested in ep70 ...old skool stuff. I totally agree that good condition ones are extremely hard to come by. Patience might help i guess. Have to come into this forum for advice as there isn't any other starlet forums besides tat delphi forum which is very quiet these days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 dun worry slowly wait. sure got something u like come out. nothing will go wrong with the money in pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaara Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 mine i'm getting from my friend tat's y i feel safe... if i was in your shoes i would also do a thorough research before getting one. hope you will find a good one soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 Hi So_nice, "Like" is one thing. Pricing is another. Cannot let the heart do the thinking else will become "robert". Waiting is nt a problem..the most will nt get a chance to own one. I read the other threads and saw what u've posted. Still searching for ep80? See one tat's priced reasonably, jus grab..mai tu liao..i jus missed out one an ep70 with sunroof (functional or nt i dunno) and remus exhaust few weeks back..nt even 30 mins into discussion wif the salesman and his boss shouted frm the office tat it's sold. Talk about business etiquettes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaara Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 haha i also plan to renew 10 years... there is no way i will scrap my starlet just yet.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 owwh, remus exhaust hope tat buyer got ask for the approval cert, then the sunroof not easy to pass inspection yo.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 oh no lah i never let my heart do the thinking. though i loved the car but my wallet still has its constrain. hehe so still searching. i actually already spotted 3 which i'm keen. 2 with the same dealer but i was too slow and they are sold. the other one too ex so i didnt buy. lol the dealer can actually remember me liao sia. say next time ep80 with gt kit come in 1st to let me know. kekeke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 haha izzit? the salesman told me inspection nt a problem ley..loud and deep exhaust note it had. Tat time i also forgot to asked abt the exhaust approval paper. imo, it was quite a true deal..it was going for 7.5k with almost 3yrs left...key can take out after engine started. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 salesman like to bluff one dun believe. i ever went to see one car, lup with turbo and the SE can tell me no problem wif inspection and rov. i was like.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 i also noticed some ep80 way overpriced especially frm direct owners...but with full gt kit i think can pay abit more? But overall, price must match engine condition. Shell good, inside no good also no point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 ya..slowly find lor. afterall also took bus mrt for so long. wait abit can tahan one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...