Kyojin 1st Gear July 19, 2007 Share July 19, 2007 personally the most i would pay is for the remaining COE value plus an additional $1k for an ep70... can consider paying more if seller can produce receipts for parts changed recently hi, i'm new to the forum. i'm currently looking to buy a EP80, and i've seen 2 that i like. they both have the 18444 08/11 COEs. what's a "price" to pay (both private sellers), since they both have only COE value left. about $7377 now. first specimen is with full GT kit, 2E, EP82 p/windows, EP82 p/steering, EP82 4-disc, front strut, rear anti-roll, rear strut, koni "medium" all round. second specimen is bone-stock, EP82 front discs/calipers, K&N filter, 131,000km since original. changed wheel bearings, tie rods, very clean engine bay! alternatively, there's a Daewoo Lanos on SGcarmart asking for $17k, with 9166 PARF left. thoughts? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 scrap need to pay, but usually the price of the scrap metal will cover that. you should get some money back... dun fall for pressure tactics... the thing with old cars is you definitely got to wait for a good deal... just make sure you have the cash set aside for you to jump on it when the window of opportunity opens. try bargaining with him. point out the corrosive spots, and say you need to spend money to fix and spray those. black smoke in exhaust? at least a top overhaul. total repair costs pushing $1k liao. cut that amount of money from the price and see what he say. IMO dun bargain till less than $1k above scrap value if not he has no incentive to sell you all i know is, your work is not done once you buy an EP70. i always advice my friends who buy old cars to budget at least an additional $2k for repairs. the moment you buy the car, drive it to the workshop. delays will only make small problems grow big Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 EP80 ah... i think a 2nd hand dealer will offer around $9k to take in... but dun expect to buy at that price cos the private seller can advertise on sgcarmart for the market rate of around $11k. up to you how you bargain le if you ask me, the one with the all round disc and ARB is of course better, but you really gotta see how much work needs to be done on both cars to decide. no point getting 4 konis when 2 of them are leaking, you know what i mean? the lanos is not bad, but you'll be paying for the PARF rebate that you'll lose when you extend COE. of cos i prefer starlet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 first specimen is with full GT kit, 2E, EP82 p/windows, EP82 p/steering, EP82 4-disc, front strut, rear anti-roll, rear strut, koni "medium" all round. bro care to share this lobang? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 actually, both cars seem like nothing needs to be done - major stuff have been done quite recently. as for the Lanos, I'm guessing scrap before 10 years, and get back 80% PARF. Depreciation about just over 2k/yr! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 bro so-nice, i will pass you the lobang if my bargaining doesn't go thru ok? hope you understand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starletgt Neutral Newbie July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 personally the most i would pay is for the remaining COE value plus an additional $1k for an ep70... can consider paying more if seller can produce receipts for parts changed recently hi, i'm new to the forum. i'm currently looking to buy a EP80, and i've seen 2 that i like. they both have the 18444 08/11 COEs. what's a "price" to pay (both private sellers), since they both have only COE value left. about $7377 now. first specimen is with full GT kit, 2E, EP82 p/windows, EP82 p/steering, EP82 4-disc, front strut, rear anti-roll, rear strut, koni "medium" all round. second specimen is bone-stock, EP82 front discs/calipers, K&N filter, 131,000km since original. changed wheel bearings, tie rods, very clean engine bay! alternatively, there's a Daewoo Lanos on SGcarmart asking for $17k, with 9166 PARF left. thoughts? Sorry did u say rear anti-roll, if so, it's a damn rare find... Most starlet in Singapore are equipted with fron ARBs.... As for rear ARBs, only whiteline and UR is doing them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 ohh sure tats of course..but regarding tat starlet lobang, is it a white ep80 with full kits? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 i took a peek at the ARB, but couldn't see properly as it was dark. will take note if i send for pre-purchase inspection. but the owner did emphasize that it's rare and people have asked him to de-mod and sell various parts on his ride... (of course, i take it with a pinch of salt) btw, bro so-nice, it's not white. it's gunmetal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 20, 2007 Share July 20, 2007 ohh..i think i noe which one u're refering to. is the gunmetal one from a 2nd hand car dealer? i saw it before but didnt go ask the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 Thanks for ur insights. Seller told me the corrosive spots need not worry too much, just need to wax regularly. Who is he trying to kid. Also told me engine cfm no problem and as long as there's "no excessive" black smoke shld be ok. If the amt of black smoke i saw is not excessive, i dunno wat is. Seller insists on his original price. I cannot agree on tat price. The depreciation is way too high for an 18-yr old car. Hence, no deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 bro maybe u can consider this: http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-20YJkAGB-1000.html looks very neat and well maintain. only 133,000km on the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emperor Clutched July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 is there any payment involved to scrap it? (ie: toh tiap to scrap) The owner did show me some receipts of repairs. One of the corrosive spots happens to be at the edge of the gap where the fuel tank cover sits in. Patch liao still need to respray. Asking price is more than 1k abv paper. Hard to decide especially when pressure tactics is applied ("i got another buyer waiting after u..blahblah"), however i'm unwilling to pay an exorbitant price no matter how much i like it. Btw, i observed black smoke when i rev the engine at idling. Either the fuel pump is gone or the carb needs to retune? I dunno why but i'm oni interested in ep70 ...old skool stuff. I totally agree that good condition ones are extremely hard to come by. Patience might help i guess. Have to come into this forum for advice as there isn't any other starlet forums besides tat delphi forum which is very quiet these days. Hi Bro. Have been reading your post and I think I should say something at this point. Unless you have cold hard cash to really restore this car.. do it! If not. I recommend you dont. I mean the 70 is a real looker and legendary... but where cost to pocket is concern... I dont think its a good idea. I had difficulty holding my AE86 together and I was holding it with faith alone.. and some moolah here and there... its a great car yes.. but I was alot happier with the my current ride. Lesser hassle and headache. Seriously consider bro. This is my advise. Of course the decision is yours to make. Till then.. STARLET RULES! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear July 21, 2007 Share July 21, 2007 bro, that red EP80 is quite good. i drove it and it feels almost new. why don't you consider? i've followed your posts and see that you've been looking for the longest time... I think he's in a bit of a hurry to sell soon coz he's new ride coming soon. http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-20YJkAGB-1000.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wayhow Neutral Newbie July 22, 2007 Share July 22, 2007 walk away lor at least you offered to let him pocket $1k, which i think is more than reasonable. let him drive one more year and he's forced to scrap his car, he will have nothing left. im sure there are many better options for you in the used car market with the same yearly depreciation do consider what emperor said also. the past few years my EP70 also keep pushing into workshop. it was one problem after another. however, if you plan to drive it long, and you really like the car, i would say stay away from recon parts. just get a brand new OEM replacement if something breaks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mclaren_ Neutral Newbie July 22, 2007 Share July 22, 2007 Thanks for all the advices guys. I plan to get an ep70 to drive for at most 2yrs jus to get the feel of owning it. Not too hard up for one. See if any ep70 coming along then, or else i'll gladly save up the marnee for new ride..5k can do I.C.E or get original bodykit from nihon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Emperor Clutched August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Good decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starletgt Neutral Newbie August 1, 2007 Share August 1, 2007 Well, my advice to you is to get a EP80 instead as EP70 spare parts is getting lesser and not every EP80s or EP90s series spare part can rectro fir into a EP70. EP80 in another hand chassis and stuff are very much similar to EP90s thus spare pare wise a lot in the market. FYI: EP90s series ended production at 1999. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...