Mobilio Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 My car was not tinted at all. Anyway.. I am selling my ride soon... So I just push my IU back and hope that it won't drop out again. Think that's just life in Singapore. Pay and Pay.. If you think that it is dangerous, isn't it your responsibility to prevent it from hurting another innocent motorist who bought over your car? Please come to me as I have spare transparent all weather tape to stick back the IU for your car. If you feels like I should drive down, I do not mind if it can save someone's trouble. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobilio Neutral Newbie March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 (edited) i wonder if u read the above posts before u post? what if u meet with a accident when it is "attached"? if it can be removed and put back easily means it can fly out easily during an accident. detachable? no point leh. Attached or not, if serious accident, it'll still hit you. The IU is one thing that spoils the looks of 99% of the cars/bikes in Singapore. Worst still, I remembered last time the poor Citreon CX5 have to replace the original front windscreen to third party make in order to cater for the IU to function. Edited March 8, 2007 by Mobilio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 apparently you fail to read the whole story... it does stem from a simple double sided tape for IU but he's highlighting a whole new underlying problem. And as for spoilt brat, do we not see alot in the Complaint folder? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched March 8, 2007 Share March 8, 2007 hw old is the IU? mine dropped out b4... tried to stick it back wif other double sided tape.. but it still came off.. in the end.. juz place it on an anti-slip mat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mussorgsky Neutral Newbie March 9, 2007 Author Share March 9, 2007 My IU is over 1 and a half year old. The LCD was spoilt initially and I went to VICOM to get it replaced. Now my IU still sticks back to where it is after 3 days.. so I guess it is not a problem anymore. Thanks bro for the advice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 9, 2007 Share March 9, 2007 no offense to anyone la, i think people who can ignore such incidents and side with *them* must be the 66% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Landex Clutched March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 Hmmm... 1.5 yrs old is a tad new.. mine was like 9+ yrs... dat time lagi more lao turtle IU juz konged out by itself... they make me buy a brand new one... say guarantee bo liao.. knnz... the IU spoilt by itself... i din do anytink to spoil it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Avenso Neutral Newbie March 10, 2007 Share March 10, 2007 (edited) Come on guys, don't pick on Mussorgsky. For your info, the tape to hold the IU holder to the windscreen is not your ordinary or heavy duty 3M double sided tape. Those are special 3M VHB (Very High Bond) tape, and to make things more complicated there are a few types. Specific type for bonding specific material too. However, I think there is a general purpose type too. I have not found anyplace selling them in short strips. I think it is available only in roll form and the ones I used cost $100 a roll (can't remember length of roll). In view of the fact that the IU holder should never fall off if it is properly installed on well prepared surfaces and that the tape is expensive and only available in roll form, they ought to fix the unit back for Mussoorgsky. That is the least they can do for him, right? Mussorgsky, pm me if you need help. Edited March 10, 2007 by Avenso Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jmmysg Neutral Newbie January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 My IU did not work (no power). Went to VICOM. Was told probably wire loose. Within 1 minutes work (check and tighten wire), charge me $ 5.35 (include GST) ! Told me if IU damage, can exchange for free coz under warranty. For check wire, 5 dollar. Blood sucking! Next time better DIY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 WHen you DIY next time....and realised not the wiring lose....they will say you meddle with the wiring and void waranty?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 My IU did not work (no power). Went to VICOM. Was told probably wire loose. Within 1 minutes work (check and tighten wire), charge me $ 5.35 (include GST) ! Told me if IU damage, can exchange for free coz under warranty. For check wire, 5 dollar. Blood sucking! Next time better DIY. You could have them not to do the wiring & you could it yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 (edited) Bro..gettin 3M double side tape is much cheaper & easier than u callin LTA/Vicom,gg 2 Vicom, waitin 4 so long & get such answers,& posting a long complain here. I can do it 4 u..i got double side tape..PM 2 deal..FOC.. Try to DIY first then conclude???? Edited January 22, 2011 by HARDGAYHOOOO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 WHen you DIY next time....and realised not the wiring lose....they will say you meddle with the wiring and void waranty?? Best that anythings goes wrong after DIY, die die dun admit lor...however task as simple as replacing 3m tape shan't be a problem right???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Yah totally agree with our bro here. Why make such a big fuss whereas the problem is at such level you can settle ma. Fact is, bracket on holds on to the windscreen because of the 3M tape nothing else ma.standing on the mechanic perspective , I will say why this fellow bracket fall out because tape wear out also must make such a big fuss???? True mah, either change a brand new bracket or replace with 3M tape can Liao ma???? Unless fault lies with IU unit then it is a different story then you can talk about warranty. Bro, you need to be spoon feed in everything meh??? DIY lah....everything also expect ppl to do for you?? 4 year old thread... anyways i find that TS is retarded... KNN just get double sided tape settled... but then his statements also make sense... somebody should be responsible for it... watever... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 Post in the forum..cc to LTA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 With the shrinking of sizes for modern electronics, it is possible to shrink the IU to no bigger than a 50 cents coin. The only big item what is impossible to shrink is the LCD screen that displays your card balance and the cash card. The best solution is to remove the cashcard as a mode of payment. Since LTA can track a vehicle right up to the owner when going through the gantry, they can just arrange for the deductions to be made by a monthly statement to the owner or even better or the current method of deduction using credit card. The rest of the control unit can be hidden under the dashboard while the antenna pasted at the top of the windscreen. All car owners will have a record with LTA, so we can log in to see all the transactions. Not that difficult to implement at all. Can even do online payment like road tax. Time LTA learns from other government depts or private organisations how they do contactless/cashless payment. Can't stand it when they refused to accept ideas from people, but later use and rebrand them, and the ideas they like to come out with must always claim "world first". *think skin* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 unless u r staying/ working next to vicom... otherwise, I really dont undestand why u need to go there just to stick back the IU braket using some transparent double sided tape..... What the vicom guy said is true, they are not the one who is installaing the IU. So, naturally, anything wrong with the installation work its none of their business. Its just like buying a piece of mirror from a furniture shop. U pass the mirror to your renovation contractor to install it on the wall... due to the poor workmanship/ material used for the mounting work, the mirrow drop. Do you think u should go back to the furniture shop or the renovation contractor? anyway, If i were u, I will simply pop by any harwareshop and get a roll of transparent double sided tape and DIY. Its faster, cheaper compare to driving all the way to vicom... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear January 22, 2011 Share January 22, 2011 With the shrinking of sizes for modern electronics, it is possible to shrink the IU to no bigger than a 50 cents coin. The only big item what is impossible to shrink is the LCD screen that displays your card balance and the cash card. The best solution is to remove the cashcard as a mode of payment. Since LTA can track a vehicle right up to the owner when going through the gantry, they can just arrange for the deductions to be made by a monthly statement to the owner or even better or the current method of deduction using credit card. The rest of the control unit can be hidden under the dashboard while the antenna pasted at the top of the windscreen. All car owners will have a record with LTA, so we can log in to see all the transactions. Not that difficult to implement at all. Can even do online payment like road tax. Time LTA learns from other government depts or private organisations how they do contactless/cashless payment. Can't stand it when they refused to accept ideas from people, but later use and rebrand them, and the ideas they like to come out with must always claim "world first". *think skin* I like that idea ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...