Fog light Ban?

B1dada

Dun ban lar. But make it clear when it is not allow to be use and enforce it. I need the fog lamps for my trips into Malaysia and I prefer to drive NSH during the night. The fog lamps do make a significant difference especially during heavy rain or up in the highlands of Malaysia. But I do use them responsibly and very seldom turn them on in Singapore. But one thing I am not sure of is if it is heavy rain during the day, can we just on the fog lamps and not the headlights. Btw, turning on the fog lamps or headlights should really be encouraged during heavy rains in the day as I find it it is really difficult to spot lightless cars in the rear mirror under such conditions esp when the side mirror is all covered by water droplets already and in dimmed condition. We all know that from the army that our eyes is least sensitive in semi lighted conditon, those not fully darken and yet not bright conditons.

TP should seriously enforce the rules just like the seat belts and baby seats rules...Time to wake up all the buggers using the fog light for no reason!!!

Agree with u on the foggy thing...many are just misusing it actually. Some purposely on their fog light and dim their headlight at night to look sporty.

As for the child seat issue, I think educate is better than enforce even thou I may get flamed by forummers. Y i say this bcos this concern the safety of the child & does not endanger other road users. I wont give a damn to ppl who chose to ferry jumping kids & got into an accident. Y, bcos child seat issues has too many grey areas, valid reasons like 1. sometimes cars not theirs, 2. kid not mine, etc etc. There are many angles to this issue so it is quite tough actually if we r traffic enforcers & to tackle these issues. Not forgetting we may become victims also when we help to ferry nephews or cousins around.

Fog light blind, some say yes some say no. If got no fog, might as well dun on. The world is small, for we live in all, so let's make the world a better place for all.

Maybe print out the above as decal & stick behind screen huh. What u think?

i think they wun ban for those good reason.

they will only ban those which are illegal.

and fine those that use it Unnecessary [flowerface]

hahahahahah

i dun know . but like i press the button, it seems like i am pressing nothing. then i get of the car see like nothing happen =x

Sotong for once and never will for this issue. U could ve unknowingly made other motorist unhappy.

If i not wrong i heard from radio that. it there isn't any fog awround and u turn on yur fog light.

u will be fine

so the fog lamp will be a freebie liao [laugh]

Actually I feel that fog lights of most cars have no effect on the cars in front with the exception of cars such as Harrier, Murano, Prado, etc. Their headlamps alone (esp those w/ HID) are blinding to the cars in front as these cars are so much higher than sedans & even most MPVs. I feel that most fog lights nowadays are merely cosmetic but what to say when LTA feels otherwise?

[nod] agree w u

Light Habits on the ROAD that I BLOODY HATE !! IM SO PISSED OFFF

1. Lights that are not adjusted, those that point directly at your mirrors. Esp those one high, one low. Are the drivers stupid or something ? if you notice your light beam hitting the top portion of the cars, please go do something.

2. Blue white lights that look bright, but don't really cast a proper beam. I know it's cool to have white lights, now HID is cheaper, can you go install a proper HID system ? at least the beam is more focused and it doesnt shine into people's cabin. Not everyone can afford it I know, but at least buy some lights that WON'T IRRITATE PPL ARD U.

3. Rear foglights

MotherFaking SOBs who don't know anything about their cars. You try switching it on in msia, see what happens to you, you sobs.

4. Those that never switch on their lights.

For goodness sake, go buy some lights, it's only 10 dollars. If not, realise why it's darker than normal, SWITCH ON UR BLOODY LIGHTS!!!

actualli....me wondering...is HID realli necessary in sg??

where most of the roads are brightly lit unimpressed.gif

unless u are talking bout MY or china...

not so sure bout MY ..but in china..there are places where there are no street lamps...

and all u depend on are the deflectors along the roadsweatdrop.gif

now dat is when u realli nid HID or foggies lewink.gif

Ya... my vios very funny. got the fog light button but dun have fog light hahah

The fog lights are built in the brake lights right?

Was once behind a vios during a rain...and the Bl**dy fog light is so irritating....

Fine those stupid idiots who uses their rear foggies !!

Was blinded by a stupid Optra the other way with his rear foggies...and to make matters worst, drive so blardy sloooooooow !!!

Fronts too. In fact ban everybody who install fog lights when they don't come stock with their cars. [scholar][gossip][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

As long as the front foggies are installed properly, I am ok as they dun really blind road users. But no aftermarket front foggies please !!

And those who use rear foggies on a clear day deserved to get their rear lights smashed !!

It is not Fog lights that are the issue. Its the drivers. Chances are a good majority of such drivers do not even know what the front and rear fog lights are for.

perhaps driving centers could help by giving 1-2 lesson on certain essentials like "knowing ur car", "headlight/fog light usage", etc...basically issues that deal with the car other than the driving.

Of cse as new things keep popping up in the car market like opitron meters that light up regardless of headlight being switched on etc, such syllabus will constantly need to be updated.

cheers

Not an issue of necessary or not necessary...HID is for the cool factor (in most cases)period! [laugh]

Just like why do we need big cc cars when smaller ones will do [sly] its all for the feel good look good factor. [thumbsup]

cheers

Agreed !!! Nowadays all those "fog light" is just for cosmetic wise only lar, not glaring at all as its pointed to the ground.

By the way, If kena caught, can argue also, as how do TP measure or judge whether there is any fog9beside raining) ??? I believed every each individual drivers has their own judgement....very contridating leh [confused]

cool-ness at the expense of other road usersthumbsdown.gif

dat doesnt sound so cool riteunimpressed.gif

as for big var vs small carrolleyes.gif

doesnt affect other road users mah..so not my concernrolleyes.gif

Saw an idiot on a fortunar with the fogs on in the bloody car park. I mean why the hell in a fully lit up place [crazy]

Education needed. Shouls send them to Europe (eastern) [;)] so that they can see the very reason why fog lights were invented for