Jerrygsr Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 i have been considering both models for a long time. since is my 1st car, i dun wish to make any rash decision as buying a car now a long term choice, not say wanna change then change if u dun like it. i need some advices, i am very new to cars, i have been riding bike for the last 9 years, now its time to get a car. I plan to get a car that have some performance plus able to mod the body kits etc, but my budget for installments is not over $650 per month. on top of that, i will wanna change to my dream car after 5-6 years later. here are some of the comments abt the cars i heard: HONDA FIT 1.5 Vtec MT:- Pros - supermini with some performance (8-9 sec 0-100km/hr) dun need on mod much on performance fuel consumpstion due to its light weight. more durable than lancer. many exterior and interior mods. Cons - Very Expensive, around 59K - 62K for a small car. spare parts are expensive also. PI car, after sales service might differ. Mitsubitshi Lancer 1.6 MT:- Pros - more affordable (basic model at 45K - 47K) interior seems nicer. many interior and exterior mods. AD car, aftermarket service and spare parts more easily availble. Cons - performance will be a let down (still can mods till as fast as Fit but spend $$$ and risk of being caught) not as durable as HONDA. These are the inputs i gather from friends and relatives so far. I mean no offence to anyone driving any of the tha A/M mention car. Will like to have some help from ladies & gentlemen here for advice about their choice above. All comments and advice are deeply appreciated THANKS!!!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lengendcf 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 For me.. I would buy a Lancer if this is my 1st car.. Why at least drive a saloon car first... Hatch back or MPV types, should be the next..When you are quite mature and figured out what type of cars you want.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Who told u Lancer not as durable as Fit?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 haha, i sort of agree wif TKSEAH... lancer is realli not tat durable (no offence to anyone)... the metal is thin and whole car is light... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 How long have u had a Lancer? Thin metal + light car = not durable??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minicop Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 I think a tank is required for him. Cause it had very thick metal and very heavy. Can over run almost everything without any problem at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 U sound like a prudent 1st-time buyer. I voted for Lancer simply because of it's price. There's nothing to shout about it's "performance" (especially for an auto, but since u going for manual, no issues) but it's more than adequate for normal driving & occasional highway cruising. Only gripe i have is the cabin noise while running, which i minimised with some soundproofing & quieter tyres. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 (edited) Want a tough & hard body can try koreans or conti... Tanks also can lah, but maybe 4km/L??? Edited March 13, 2007 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Tkseah meant "WHO SAY lancer not durable?". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Dun anyhow agree with me leh.. I do not think that Lancer is any less durable than a Fit.. I dun understand why pple say Lancer is light.. on paper it is heavier than a Sunny and just as heavy as an Altis.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pimpmycar Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Welcome to the thousands and million of Honda n Mits. The 2 biggest clan after toyota clown. integra or evo if not than anything is the same, no need to think so much . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vicz Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 From ur choices above, i guess u have not really pened down ur requirement of what u want. This is very important bcos u will end up buying something that u don't like after paying for it (worst of all u have to keep it until u can sell it). Think abt it: a hatch? a sedan? jap? conti? who am i fetching? how long do i intend to keep it? bla bla bla. I heard many said chin chai chin chai but whenever i mentioned a certain brand or model they will start considering the this and thats ... so, even a small requirement is still a requirement. Both Fit & Lancer are aging, replacing soon... i had a jazz, common rear wheel bearings problem, noisy too. Almost the same as a City. Prejudice & preference of brands aside, if u want a little compact hatch just for a to b thing, i'd rather u consider very cheap options like Kia Picanto or Perodua Kelisa (its actually a Toyota/Daihatsu in Japan). If u want a compact or small sedan, i suggest u don't follow the singaporean path (that few "national brands & models" are really really ageing like my great grand mother)...my take is a Kia Rio (its been just updated, its drive is very reasonable for the money) and if for japs, go striaight for a Civic FD, it sounds pricey though but it packs a worth load of perks, really, a good car. For Korean in this class, go for a Hyundai Avante, a reasonably good car too. Unless if u like to try a conti, go for Opel Astra (1.6 MTA may be good enuf, its only the gear change that u hav to get use to), for that price u get a German, reasonable. Also try looking at VW Polo, very reasonably price German with reasonable equipment & drive. Another one for u is SUV? go for a Grand Vitara (the 2WD one), value for money. If u want MPV, Opel Zafira 1.8, value for money (for a german), if not, Mazda 5 is fun. More choices if ur pocket is deeper. Don't worry, all from auth agents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 i'll pick the lancer... FC should be ok and i prefer a sedan. can get at a good price now. there's someone selling Lancer here...but i forgot who liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jian Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 I will def go for tt vtec engine. Fit got tons of performace mod if u got the money As for lancer, don think there is a lot after market part for it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 i have been considering both models for a long time. since is my 1st car, i dun wish to make any rash decision as buying a car now a long term choice, not say wanna change then change if u dun like it. i need some advices, i am very new to cars, i have been riding bike for the last 9 years, now its time to get a car. I plan to get a car that have some performance plus able to mod the body kits etc, but my budget for installments is not over $650 per month. on top of that, i will wanna change to my dream car after 5-6 years later. here are some of the comments abt the cars i heard: HONDA FIT 1.5 Vtec MT:- Pros - supermini with some performance (8-9 sec 0-100km/hr) dun need on mod much on performance fuel consumpstion due to its light weight. more durable than lancer. many exterior and interior mods. Cons - Very Expensive, around 59K - 62K for a small car. spare parts are expensive also. PI car, after sales service might differ. Mitsubitshi Lancer 1.6 MT:- Pros - more affordable (basic model at 45K - 47K) interior seems nicer. many interior and exterior mods. AD car, aftermarket service and spare parts more easily availble. Cons - performance will be a let down (still can mods till as fast as Fit but spend $$$ and risk of being caught) not as durable as HONDA. These are the inputs i gather from friends and relatives so far. I mean no offence to anyone driving any of the tha A/M mention car. Will like to have some help from ladies & gentlemen here for advice about their choice above. All comments and advice are deeply appreciated THANKS!!!!! If you are sure you wana change car after 5 years, then take the car you don't mind driving around with for the time period. Since you are focused on what you want you should not have to mod your car as you are going to change quite soon. Which car would you be comfy with for that period. This is based on my opinion as I chose my car based on the above also, my ride has almost no mods and many ding dongs from other inconsiderate ppl opening car doors. Gonna change anyways... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 (edited) only talk Cons; city vtec- Expensive but still can affordable(based on your top limit $650 per month), Weird look, Thai made lancer- outdated engine and noisy, sluggish pickup, FC slightly high than city if you want to stick a car more than 5 years, city lah BTW, wonder why you define city PI car Edited March 13, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdilancer Neutral Newbie March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 Hmm, he is referring to Honda Fit 1.5.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear March 13, 2007 Share March 13, 2007 err.., Honda Fit 1.5 it is right, only from PI, but if it's Fit how can be $59k? i tot PI Fit 1.5(M) only about $50k ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...