My CNG conversion

Genie47

It would be good if they could make the weight lighter.

The lighter tanks could be mounted on the rack, with bolts and nuts securing the tank to the roof rack in the event of a crash. Of course some thorough crash-test needs to be carried out before letting them on the road.

Alright, I will install the tank at the boot (of the Getz or Picanto) and mount an external luggage box on the roof instead. I am short, I will keep a stool in my car to help me access the roof. [;)]

I am a cheap-skate driver. [laugh]

exactly the same?

wat about warranty issue?

Warranty is not realy an issue, Sg workshop only gave 1 year warranty....

if u do not have kids, u dun need the roof luggage box at all. just dun carry passenger

behind [sly]

use the rear passenger area as ur "boot". in fact, it is far bigger than the boot. then u can have ur CNG as well [sly]

personally, i dun drive so much so not willing to upfront pay 4.5k for installation [thumbsdown]

my ROI will take too long liao [laugh]

personally, i dun drive so much so not willing to upfront pay 4.5k for installation

The actual cost for such installation should not be so high.

What is the price for such installation in Malaysia?

i believe it's 4.5k now. WITHOUT GST [dead]

worth for those who drive alot..

anyway, malaysia can install. but not LTA legal i think. need to install locally n send for inspection.

if less than $2k everything i also jump on the bandwagon liao loh.. [laugh]

Hmm... the price seemed to increased quite substantially.

I enquired about the CNG conversion kit in Feb and was quoted SGD3200. (this is the better kit, not the sgd2k kit)

As i went overseas in btwn feb till now, i only have time to conver my ride to CNG now but the steep price is putting me off.

Just a thought:

Shouldn't the price of the CNG kit be at least on par to FEB or even lower since there is greater demand for it, which leads to better economy of scale for the distributors?? OR the other way round - more demand equates to raise price and pple will still get?

Not only the CNG conversion cost increases..the gas price itself also increased. Now the gas in Jln Buroh is 1.35 per kg..3 cents difference from Mandai..

I think the cost of installation might increase further if there's more people queueing up to convert.... Now the booking at Melchers stretched 3 months or more, Scantruck about 2months....so do you think they'll reduce their prices? If their price increase, it'll be due to "increase in price of raw material..."

Edited by Snappyg9

Hello bros,

Did some research on the net and learnt that the piston valves etc wear off faster and ultimately nosier engine and lesser power. True or not ? Heard got to install the "cylinder top lubricator" then will work well. Does our CNG after installed comes with this ? True or not ?

Please click on this thread : http://www.sgauto.com/forums/showthread.php?t=734&page=2

Hi all, I have manage to secure a price of less than $4k with a workshop for "my friends" only. Actual price depend on the size of tank installed. This is the workshop that I converted my car too. There is a waiting lead time of 1 month. If any of you are interested, pls PM me for contact.

You will then liase directly.

Rest assure I am not getting any commission out of this. Just wanna share good lobang with fellow car drivers and returning a flavour for good customer service that the workshop has provided. [thumbsup]

Luckily i did mine the first batch at the alright price for $3500. If you need good lobang let me know, cos i know the installer very well. She is my bank customer. Confirm good price! Good luck guys.

My banker customer told me the increase is because of the increase price in steel. Hope this info helps dear . Good luck!