Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 let's base on a 3 lane road. Car A is directly infront of Car B on the most left lane aka 3rd lane and a taxi had stopped infront to drop a passenger causing long queue on lane 3. Car A and Car B decided to switch to lane 2 and they ON their right signal while waiting for lane 2 to clear before proceed.both cars know each other are going to switch to lane 2. obviously Car B who is behind will normally be able to switch to lane 2 earlier than Car A. so the questions are: 1)If you are Car A will you wait for Car B to go first before turning into lane 2? 2)If you are Car B,will you turn out first but let Car A proceed infront of you? 3)If both cars don't want to give way causing an accident hitting Car A's right side and Car B's front left side,who will be at fault? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 (edited) taxi fault 1) in usual, I will let car B go 1st, coz car B lane 2 clear 1st, unless car B too sluggish. 2) depends on Car A, if car A switched out half way ready, let it go 1st lah, anyway always prepare to brake. 3) half/half Edited April 27, 2007 by Quantum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Impala Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 this is my opinion 1) yes wait a while 2) no i see car A havent move i will move 3) cant really judge must depend on the negotiation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crasher Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 1) no, I wont wait if I'm Car A, unless he turned much much earlier than me, already past my backside. 2) Yes, that's wat I usually do 3) 50%-50%. Best to claim your own insurance. You can say anything you wan to the insurance company then fight it out as there is no way to confirm you'll win. No one will also be sane enough to admit fault on his side too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gilbertaue Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 Generally if both turn out at the same time, car B let's car A out in front of him. Since first of all he was behind car A all along and B he SHOULD be courteous! But unfortunately..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 1)If you are Car A will you wait for Car B to go first before turning into lane 2? It depends. I will wait unless he's slow in turning out. 2)If you are Car B,will you turn out first but let Car A proceed infront of you? Same thing. If Car A turns out faster than me then just let him go first lor. 3)If both cars don't want to give way causing an accident hitting Car A's right side and Car B's front left side,who will be at fault? I think Car A should be at fault since in this scenario, Car B should be in Lane 2 already and Car A is the one eating out into his lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liping24 Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 Car A is an idiot for not moving out the lane 2 when he spotted the taxi is stopping. CarB will have the right of way, CarA will have to give way since CarB is coming from 'behind'. Its just like at those left give way junction where you are on the small road joining the main road. You will have to let the cars go past first....unless you are sure your turbo charged engine is able to get out first without causing the other car to jam brake. If kena accident, then both will be at fault in the eyes of the police and insurance. Both are stupid to cause the accident in at practically 10km/hr speed! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 "you are sure your turbo charged engine is able to get out first without causing the other car to jam brake." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EvenStar 1st Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 1) Will let car B pass. Have not faith with fellow SGP road user 2) If Car A signal, will let him past. Else will horn him, but still let him pass... 3) Lose-lose situation, both are at fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 only one answer....wait for taxi to move off.. so the other 2 qns no longer valid.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 1) yes, normally no choice because cat b will always take advantage of the situation. 2) yes, always. 3) depends on the person assessing the claim. best is to switch lanes before coming to a stop behind the taxi. else, wait fr the damn cab to move off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 let's base on a 3 lane road. Car A is directly infront of Car B on the most left lane aka 3rd lane and a taxi had stopped infront to drop a passenger causing long queue on lane 3. Car A and Car B decided to switch to lane 2 and they ON their right signal while waiting for lane 2 to clear before proceed.both cars know each other are going to switch to lane 2. obviously Car B who is behind will normally be able to switch to lane 2 earlier than Car A. so the questions are: 1)If you are Car A will you wait for Car B to go first before turning into lane 2? 2)If you are Car B,will you turn out first but let Car A proceed infront of you? 3)If both cars don't want to give way causing an accident hitting Car A's right side and Car B's front left side,who will be at fault? ok.. if lane is totally not movable..then the answer as such:- 1) depending on traffic condition, at times, if both are standstill, then when car B's head is out, Car A can zoom off, coz there's clearance. 2) if traffic condition is slow, as Car B, I will move out slowly, so no harm letting car A be in front. but if it's fast moving traffic, then I will pick up fast, so Car A better stay inside. 3)50-50. hard to say.. people like guyver can comment on this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 1) See what car first, those I can makan I will out accelerate them if I got enough clearance infront of me. 2) Yes, I will. It is an irony from my answer in (1) isn't it? 3) Car B Ideal situation would be Car A wait for Car B to go first but Car B out of courtesy stop to let Car A go first. Then Car A go first and wave thanks. Then both car A and B can come in here to rant about their pleasant encounter in forum. Don't all these sound familiar??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 unless you are sure your turbo charged engine is able to get out first without causing the other car to jam brake. Turbo have turbo lag...dun think it can help much in such instances... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 but the pre-condition is not valid, this is Singapore, not in Euro time is money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear April 27, 2007 Share April 27, 2007 not really..at times, waiting can gain you more time.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 27, 2007 Author Share April 27, 2007 thank you for replying. i believe this scenario is no stranger to most drivers here. its not always taxi who caused the jam,sometimes it could be broken down vehicle. and it does not mean i have to be directly behind the taxi,i could be 8 cars behind where i can't see the taxi at all and does not know what happen infront. this thread is more on the 3 questions asked instead of others which some creative posters could think of. thanks nonetheless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear April 27, 2007 Author Share April 27, 2007 1) Will let car B pass. Have not faith with fellow SGP road user 2) If Car A signal, will let him past. Else will horn him, but still let him pass... 3) Lose-lose situation, both are at fault. i love your 1st answer. after reading through,i guess the best is to give way be it Car A or Car B. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...