Quantum 5th Gear June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 As a pedestrian to cross a traffic light control road, wait the lovely "Green Man" appeared, thought safety for pedestrian walk through Wow lau! just half way few right turn cars and taxis already closely passed in front of me, told myself 'don't panic and stop', because heard diesel engine roar behind, wow lan! lorris wheels almost rolled over my heel Criteria: once you cross those "Green Man" road, Calm, DO keep your speed consistant!!! otherwise you will become next Singapore road ghost why nowadays patient drivers become less and less liao... 5 years ago, you could be quite comfortably to cross this type of road ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spezlezz Neutral Newbie June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 Yes.. do agree with you that drivers becoming impatient nowadays. See got opportunity they will squeeze thru However, got some pedestrian see "Green Man" flashing oso still start to cross Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan96935sg Neutral Newbie June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 Enforce every drivers to go back driving school for competence driving lesson.....see they still recall what was learnt and thought in driving school. They should, in fact, stop b4 the turning pocket to check clear first b4 driving right in front of pedestrian crossing, in attempt to hasten pedestrians to complete the crossing. Hmm.....that's a wrong thing to do! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlazy Neutral Newbie June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 Sometimes give way to pedestrians they will walk slowly and give those ya ya attitude. So, would rather chiong pass them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 You are right, sometime the pedestrians have that yaya attitude and walk at a leisurely pace. Pedestrians should walk at a brisk pace when crossing the road except for the elderly and handicapped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear June 5, 2007 Share June 5, 2007 You may not realize it, but there's pressure from the cars behind for the first car to move asap. The time for left turns is usually only a little longer than the pedestrian green light, so for a heavy pedestrian junction, only a few cars can turn and the car queue grows. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 Yeh, I've been honked at quite a few times for waiting for pedestrians to finish crossing the road. But then again, I don't really care what those people waiting behind me do, they can honk away all they want, I'll still wait for the pedestrians to be clear of the intersection before I go. Usually I just turn up the stereo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 When I began to drive, I used to succumb to the pressure from those cars honking behind, until once I nearly had a accident when doing a right turn. From then on, lesson learned, ignore those buggers behind. Satisfying their impatience is not worth the the potential trouble I might get into. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 Never ever be impatient for right turns because we not only have to look out for oncoming traffic, we have to look out for pedestrians too. Left turn isn't so bad because we mainly have to look out for pedestrians. But do beware of bicycles who suddenly dash out and are faster than pedestrians. Although basic theory said cannot turn in the face of pedestrians, but if there is ample space for me to turn left, I will do it. It's true that a lot of pedestrians are very ya-ya and take their own sweet time crossing the road, even though the pedestrian light has turned red. And I'm not talking about old ppl or kids but young, healthy people who yak on their phones or to each other, especially young couples (teenage couples) leisurely taking a lomantic stroll across the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 I am one of those that think a pedestrain should not need to rush to cross the road. They should just travel at their normal comfort pace. Of course, if they walk faster for conviences of the driver, its a bonus. As a pesdritrain, I always try to walk faster as I understand the stand point of a driver. When I joy, I will move to a walking pace (fast) on crossing road to avoid accident due to unalert drivers. Wat I cannot tahan is people who cross road especially when jaywalk or reds turned red that walk yaya papaya(and lots of time chatting) on the handphone without checking for cars, especially alot of those high school boys that thought they are "cool" to jaywalk slowly when car are approaching.... Now that I have "upgrade" to Hella Twin tone dual horn, can't wait to scare the hell out of those high school posers when they jaywalk again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tunge 1st Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 Yah I kena horn before from driver behind my car because i had to stop n wait for man on bicycle on pesdestrain crossing. Driver later zoom pass me n give me the look. agree that drivers are really getting way to impatient these days. How nice it would be to drive on a road where ever driver is patient and gives way, drives safely... anyways as for the pedestrains i guess it's their right to cross the pedestrian crossing at their own comfortable pace but yah sometimes they are a bit too much when they walk as though in slowmo like they are the god of gamblers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rtth84 1st Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 next time when kena horn, on hazard light and alight your vehicle, go and ask the driver "is there a problem?". see how she/he respond. sure nothing to say one. (: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BoneStock 5th Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 As a pedestrian to cross a traffic light control road, wait the lovely "Green Man" appeared, thought safety for pedestrian walk through Wow lau! just half way few right turn cars and taxis already closely passed in front of me, told myself 'don't panic and stop', because heard diesel engine roar behind, wow lan! lorris wheels almost rolled over my heel Criteria: once you cross those "Green Man" road, Calm, DO keep your speed consistant!!! otherwise you will become next Singapore road ghost why nowadays patient drivers become less and less liao... 5 years ago, you could be quite comfortably to cross this type of road green man or even blinking green man I sure give way...but nowadays more pedestrains are taking for granted and crossing even when the man turned red. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackhouse Neutral Newbie June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 Agreed with you. That's why I always train my daughters. 1. Don't trust the "green man" and zebra line, you must see the on-coming vehicle really going to stop for you, then start crossing the road. 2. While crossing the road, always look at the direction where vehicles come from. i.e. At traffic junction, before half of the road, look at right side, after over half of the road look at the left side. At filter lane, look at the on-coming vehicle direction. At car park, keep quickly scan throu every direction. As you don't know where car may come from. Hope every parent do the same. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 5 years ago, you could be quite comfortably to cross this type of road Sadly that isnt true... there was this one time abt 8 years ago i was a liaison officer with one of the family service centres and went with them on a night hike. Because there were kids (quite a lot), I stood and let them cross when the man was green. There was a driver waiting to turn left giving me black looks (mind you he was not there when the kids started crossing). Naturally i "diao" him back. As soon as it was clear, this yaya papaya driver decided to chiong past (it was the blinking red man then). He then stopped further up and came out because i "diao" him and wanted to try to abuse me. It must have been his "lucky day" because as soon as he did the other 2 liaison officers came up to me. (his friend tried to ask him to forget it but he was being stupid and still came up) We all smelt how strongly his breath was of alcohol. I identified myself, took his driving licence and called for TP lor. and surprise surprise, he was over the legal alcohol limit . I was thinking though, this was ONE person that got caught for this... how many would have escaped... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 Just bewarned sis, as long as the pedestrians have not reached the concrete center divider or the other side when theres none, you're committing an offence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 You are right, sometime the pedestrians have that yaya attitude and walk at a leisurely pace. Pedestrians should walk at a brisk pace when crossing the road except for the elderly and handicapped. Nope i disagree. they should be walking at a pace in which they are the least likely to fall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Symantec9 2nd Gear June 6, 2007 Share June 6, 2007 (edited) As a pedestrian to cross a traffic light control road, wait the lovely "Green Man" appeared, thought safety for pedestrian walk through Wow lau! just half way few right turn cars and taxis already closely passed in front of me, told myself 'don't panic and stop', because heard diesel engine roar behind, wow lan! lorris wheels almost rolled over my heel Criteria: once you cross those "Green Man" road, Calm, DO keep your speed consistant!!! otherwise you will become next Singapore road ghost why nowadays patient drivers become less and less liao... 5 years ago, you could be quite comfortably to cross this type of road 'Green man' signal is nothing to shut about, wait till you try the zebra crossing, eye need to open big big, give way to car, not car give way to you... Edited June 6, 2007 by Symantec9 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...