Harper Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 the savings of 17k, excluding the road taxes are enough to buy 850 20bucks coupons... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 "Similarly, when u see a crime in progress, by not reporting, you are not making it safer for others, you are allowing the culprit to get away or to propogate this action... " Reminded me of the Spiderman movie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 when till u ppl buy OPC car , den u ppl will start to asking LTAwhy Saturday can only drive after 3pm....etc..... I think this question quite simple... cos long time ago when the OPC scheme was first conceived, 5 days work week does not exist! As always, once implemented, nobody review and update i.e. don't rock the boat Why specifically 3pm? On weekdays from 7pm... assuming that most people finish work at 5pm and require on the average 2 hours to get home to get ready. Why 7am then? Cos 7am-7pm it's easy to remember So apply this to weekend and there you have it, 7am-3pm. OPC scheme is a good idea ....... but that's in 1994. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Batliwala Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 I heard that OPC scheme will be withdrawn soon because alot of loopholes exist in the system, and people have been found misusing the $20 dollars coupon. I don't know if it is true??? but if it does happen will the govt force the existing OPC owners to convert thier car's to normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legend Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 (edited) I hope I don't offend the OPC drivers here, but to me.. the OPC timings are not really "off-peak". Many of the roads are still congested at 7pm, yet the OPC cars can come out to the roads, contributing to the congestion. LTA has already acknowledged that peak hour is now extended later in the night by pushing bus lane hours back to 8pm, but yet OPC cars can come out at 7pm. A bit kuku policies by LTA to me . u already say 'STILL congested' so the problem lies here, too many normal cars. y dun gahment limit more COE and car agent up the car prices as to limit more cars on the road. Edited June 8, 2007 by Legend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Hmm how to force them to convert? I expect a number of them will not be able to afford to do so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civicblade 2nd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Instead of lamenting OPC drivers who flout the no driving timing, we should ask ourselves.. why should all car owners be paying the exceptionally high car ownership taxes in the form of COE, ARF, import duties, ERP.. etc etc.. I do not flout the timing rules intentionally. But to those who flout the rules and are willing to take responsibilities for it, I salute you. The OPC car prices should be the car prices that we pay for a normal car. The government taxes car owners so heavily, and what do you have? Morning jams are common, takes 45-1hr to reach a place just 10km away in the rush hour. You pay even more for ERP. Even the lousy HDB carpark, with no security facilities, limited washing bay, no free water.. cost $90 a month!! I recalled an LTA letter in reply to a citizen queries on what the government does with the taxes collected from vehicles owners and why our road conditions are not first of the first world class.. the reply, taxes collected from road uses are not thrown back to improvement the road conditions and systems. Instead all taxes are gathered and re-distributed according the the year's budget needs. If every single cent collected from road users are being channelled back to improve the road system, we would have a double layer CTE, PIE2, City expressway, east-north-west direct MRT line long long time ago. Now our tranport Minister Raymond.. wants us to pay for the cost of building an expressway running parallel to CTE, on top of the taxes that we are already paying! Many are right, we should not standby and accept the way things are when the times have changed. Instead of changing the OPC hours, we should scrap the OPC, makes all future cars enjoy the same tax rebates as current OPC cars, if not more. Then charging for road taxes, ERP and toll for expressways can be justified. It can be done, we are democratic country and the government should listens and adopt the citizens view not the other way. around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ikan Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Wah! So Holy man . You are a good Singapore CITIZEN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 I agree with you! All cars with normal plates should be priced at OPC level. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanromeo Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 i think the problem here lies with us humans.. and secondly sillyporean ,why? cause we are a bunch of kaypohs..see people do wrong thing not happy report,thus alot of stupid post at stomp website , see accident on the road slow down and look thus causing more road jam... Actually what i'm trying to say whatever the cause , let them answer for themself..what does it benefit you /us anyway if we report.. nobody perfect... let the gahmen handle all this matter less 1 topic on the forum. having said that i'm sure kena arrow already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 is it true going to have revise on the timing wise for sat ? it will be great if able to drive out on a full sat as i usually travel out (on bike) sat morning not much of a traffic jam on the road comparing to weekend at the same hr abt 8am kinda stupid to sit at hm to wait for the 3pm curfew thing....waste half a day of family outing day which most of us usually bring our family out during sat or sun. should they take the restricted timing to VS with working timing locally? etc : if those who work on sat then knock off at 12pm or 1pm...they have to be sitting duck in the office till 3pm lastly i think u guys should compare 1 issue at a time instead of putting some many issues together to discuss...like dat cfm will cause many disputes regarding to OPC cars/users Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 8, 2007 Author Share June 8, 2007 there is no way that the govt will withdraw the OPC scheme. Think of the petrol, season parking and road taxes that they stand to lose. worse come to the worse, govt will implement a GPS system to track OPCs. cost will be borne by these owners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 I would assume these OPC driver are mature enough to think for themselves if they should/should not break the rules. If they do, then they are either really stupid or brave enough to want to take the risk of getting a huge fine if caught. If they are adopting the monkey-see-monkey-do mentality, then if they are caught,they have only themselves to blame. It's their choice. OPC issue apart...they are many who cheated a few mintues when parking in a coupon-carpark or hadn't return to their cars after the coupon has expired. Should also get the authority to give them a ticket? Cos if we don't do that, those of us who abide with the parking coupon rules 100% may be swayed to 'cheat' too and those who 'cheat' will continue to do so until they are caught..and may still do it again after that. I do not support people who cheat on OPC coupon/rulings and if they are cautght...all the better. But I think it's another thing to want to report it just cos most of us pay extra to have a normal-plate car. Elitist mentality? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yrvsport 2nd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 would any of you report to the TP/LTA if you happen to see OPC driving without displaying coupons? some may think its unfair for them to be on the road during peak hours cos they got $17k and road tax rebate already. Why must I go bother to report... let the TP/ROV/LTA do their job lah is their duty..Anyway end of the day not us who got the credit..U know what i mean @#$%... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 I would think it make most sense to enable OPC to drive all day on Sat...since the gov introduce the 5-day week to encourage more family time. That would also make Sat off-peak...since few have to work on Sat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 ...having said that i'm sure kena arrow already..Hee...hee..arrows should be coming your way pretty soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mouse Neutral Newbie June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 well, lets put it this way... if the OPC driver is law abiding in the first place and only moves his vehicle during the allocated timing, they will not mind the electronic tagging... i don't see why OPC drivers should be swayed to flout the rules in any instance if they are as mentioned earlier, law abiding, and that the penalty is just too heafty to justify the flouting of rules... i do agree with you that OPC drivers who abide the rule are also victims to those who flout it... it may be even better to "electronicalise" the whole system for someone who simply just follows the rules as there will be no more tearing of coupons and mistakes to be made... don't see any reason OPC drivers will want to sit up and make noise to something that they have always been doing correctly? unless we're talking of privacy issues, etc... Believe me, I have been asking myself the same qns also (why the hell doesnt the govt wanna do electronic tagging on OPC) I am a OPC owner and I dun flout the rules. At times I find tat it is damn troublesome just to go to the post office to buy the $20 coupon, why dun they just make the $20 coupons easily available(like our car park coupons) in shops like 7-11 etc etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear June 8, 2007 Share June 8, 2007 Hehe ... true. They take the risk, they take the gains. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...