Can anyone help me one Parallel Parking?

Quantum

my car is the red car, unfortunately Parallel parked somewhere too close to left side wall, the passenger was not able to open door to alight, right side was busy traffic road, I wouldn't drive out to re-park again, just managed to adjust in the parking bay to get more space in left side, duo to front and rear the limite space, I couldn't succeed and situation became worse, the passenger had to alight from driver sideunsure.gif

Can anyone share some skill on this case?tongue.gif

Many thankssmile.gif

[inline Wall.JPG]

post-1-1181528865_thumb.jpg

actually the skill is not to go in too deep into the side. u can avoid this by reversing in with a more gentle angle, and advoid turning handwheel too early

Agree with you. The only thing can do is to park and judge the angle properly. Otherwise, ask the passenger to alight first then park. From your diagram, I can't figure out with this busy traffic on the right and a wall on the left. Care to share where is the location?

While reversing in, turn all the way left and proceed. When the lining of the door at the driver's side reaches about 85% of the front of the car behind in the lot, you can start turning 1 round to the right.

When your bonnet is about halfway past the back of the car parked in front, turn full right and proceed in. You shld be in the lot swee swee and just do a bit of adjustment in the lot there and then.

Well, this is what the school taught me. And when I'm out, still used the same principle, but now depends more on what I call driver's instinct [laugh]

sorry! this road is not a offocial road, a temperory road at my construction site, right side always have heavy vecicles moving through[:/]

So it is within your site area lah. I believe u work for the main con lah, easy lah, get the guard to block the traffic for you while u adjust lor. [laugh][laugh]

I know, that's why I also said I depend on driver's instinct now.

Nowadays, there are diff types of cars on the road. Some with long bonnet, dashboard which is further in etc, so have to be comfortable with your own car so that u can gauge the distance.

try not to use rules like when certain car part reach certain part, turn curtain angle etc. etc.

they will make you very confused, and when u make a mistake, you won't know how to adjust back.

you need to really understand your car, and use your own judgement and feeling. don't memorise "methods". practice. practice. practice.

There r 3 things that can be useful to parallel parking.

1. Use a good Reverse Sensor for distances judgement

2. Convex Blindspot mirrow.

It gives you a clear view of how far you are from the Wall, drain or any objects that you wanna keep away.

3. Using the car (if any) behind you as a guage.

If you wanna park somewhat comfortable to the position of what the Blue cars are, use their right (front or rear) bumper as reference. Condition: The empty lot is big enough to park yr car as what your instructor taught you.

As you reverse yr car, notice when it's rear right bumper is align to the back 'neighbour' front right bumper corner, you know yr car will be park in line with.

If all the ideas (from this thread) still dun work, get a reverse camera for parking. [nod]

my car is the red car, unfortunately Parallel parked somewhere too close to left side wall, the passenger was not able to open door to alight, right side was busy traffic road, I wouldn't drive out to re-park again, just managed to adjust in the parking bay to get more space in left side, duo to front and rear the limite space, I couldn't succeed and situation became worse, the passenger had to alight from driver sideunsure.gif

Can anyone share some skill on this case?tongue.gif

Many thankssmile.gif

i will reverse the car as far back first.

then turn the steering fully to the right and move abit and adjust steering straight(this will helps abit).

now steering is straight and car is closer to the front vehicle.this time reverse with the steering fully turn to the right and adjust the steering straight again.repeat this a few times can already.

Edited by Turbonetics