Volvo S40

Icebird

when i tested the Mz3, the SE tried to sell me the same line i.e. "this car same as volvo S40. so actualli you're buying a volvo at a cheaper price. good deal hor?"....

Still same chasis? I thought they're going for different platform already? Or it's going to be the case for the next S40? Now Volvo is owned by Geely.

the extg S40 is using the same P1 platform.

I've driven both and hv to admit, the Mz3 is actualli a lot sharper around tight corners. This is prob due to the lighter body and smaller engine which makes it more nimble. Other than that, the Mz3 feels nothing like the S40.

Yeah I have driven S40 as well....it is heavy like a tank...that's why I understand ur comment..but other traits..well...maybe Mz 3 wins in terms of looks...but ...keke

Remind of the comparisan between - LEXUS IS250 and TOYOTA Mark X.

that one may be abit less obvious. they all drive like camry.... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Have to be cautious here as I kena "hump thumb" when I mentioned that LEXUS are upgraded TOTOYA.

[lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] i'm typing this from under my table and wif a kevlar bulletproof vest on..... [:p][:p][laugh][laugh]

I've driven both and hv to admit, the Mz3 is actualli a lot sharper around tight corners. This is prob due to the lighter body and smaller engine which makes it more nimble. Other than that, the Mz3 feels nothing like the S40.

i think you're mistaken

the mazda is floaty going straight and around corners, it's not sharper.

lighter and bouncier, yes. but not sharper.

yes the mazda3 feels nothing like the S40

Edited by Throttle2

i think you're mistaken

the mazda is floaty going straight and around corners, it's not sharper.

lighter and bouncier, yes. but not sharper.

yes the mazda3 feels nothing like the S40

Equating the Mazda 3 to the Ford Focus to the Volvo S40 is like equating a Japanese to a British (That's where our Ford Focus originated from, I think) to a Swedish. How is that possible?

The new Ford Focus has been launched and reviewers in UK reported that the Ford Focus has lost that tight chassis and communicative steering feel, so that Ford can market this car to a worldwide market. They pointed out that Ford thinks the bigger World market do not like weighty and communicative steering. Majority prefers lightweight steering. This was the review on the 1.6EcoBoost 150bhp 6MT model.

As for the Mazda 3, it's a really light and underpowered car. Even as a passenger, I could feel the whole car definitely isn't anywhere near as planted as the Ford Focus. The suspension crashes about too, unlike the cosseting Ford Focus (though tends to be on the harsh side as well).

As for the Volvo, if the S60 was designed to take on the 3-Series, C-Class, junior executives, which the S40 was supposed to rival, then what's the S40 taking on now?

I'm not mistaken. When i say it's sharper than the S40 ard corners, it mean it points and tracks quite accurately. The S40 having a heavier engine upfront and overall more weight transfer, is slightly less nimble. Straightline dun even need to say. Boost and it sprints outta there.

Then which segment is S40 targetting?Accord?

No no. S40 was intended to rival the 3-Series, C-Class and A4. But when they launched the S60, they then said the S60 is the rival to the 3-Series, C-Class and A4. If you've noticed how much the Audi A4 has grown especially, breaking the 4.7m in exterior length. The new 3-Series is going to be like a baby 5-Series, so I'm expecting a much larger exterior than the outgoing model.

So the S40 doesn't have any rivals now, at least on paper and the HOnda Accord (USA version) should be rivalling the S80 instead (again on paper, though they appeal to varying customers).

Edited by Proton_neutron

No no. S40 was intended to rival the 3-Series, C-Class and A4. But when they launched the S60, they then said the S60 is the rival to the 3-Series, C-Class and A4. If you've noticed how much the Audi A4 has grown especially, breaking the 4.7m in exterior length. The new 3-Series is going to be like a baby 5-Series, so I'm expecting a much larger exterior than the outgoing model.

So the S40 doesn't have any rivals now, at least on paper and the HOnda Accord (USA version) should be rivalling the S80 instead (again on paper, though they appeal to varying customers).

Ok.i thought Mondeo,Insignia and S40 are around the same price (<180000) and are alternatives to the Big 3 German models you mentioned

Wonder when the Ecoboost Mondeo will be launched?

Edited by Taciturn

i think it falls under the category of compact sedan, includes rivals like A3 and BMW 1 series

IMHO, A4 and BMW 3 series are more like executive sedan category

Ok.i thought Mondeo,Insignia and S40 are around the same price (<180000) and are alternatives to the Big 3 German models you mentioned

Wonder when the Ecoboost Mondeo will be launched?

Should be around March, since we've the Ford S-Max and Galaxy EcoBoost.