macrosszero Turbocharged July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 For a so-called Japanese made car to exhibit so many maladies in 3 years says something about the quality of the car put out by Mitsubishi. I think there are Thai and Korean built cars that are equally old that don't require as much parts replacement yet. But if you have a troublesome car, then it is always a good idea to stick with the AD for servicing to maintain that "safety net". Think of it as buying 3yr 100,000km servicing insurance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 theres no true or correct answer to the quality of products. in my case, if u noticed that the items that failed, engine mount / dampers... these hv something in common these are rubber parts with a life span attached to it. to me i find them acceptable. And the best part, these are wear n tear parts, of which the AD is actually willing to warrant them, i can only guess its due to my regular svc with them 3rd world or 1st world material... it matters not to me(or any owner), as all along, the warranty is 3yrs and it should work well within then, if it fails AD shld chg them FOC. Of course, getting them to last 5yrs or 10 yrs is another story, do also rem that the car $$ nowadays vs the days-of-cars-lasting-10yrs is also quite different. my 2 pcs of cheese mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 u r right, my car's UPTIME is the utmost importance to me. it needs to work when i needed it too, guess the trade off is the $$ thats downing to the AD's pocket. toking abt quality... the lastest phrase thats going arnd is that theres "No Free Quality" arnd anymore, unlike the yester years. This goes inline with the much lowered car prices. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 Or maybe driver thrash his car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 True abt wear & tear but better quality parts usually last longer & stand up to wear & tear better. Maybe the AD considered that they already made more then enough $$$ tru your regular servicing with them to change those parts for "free". Actually cars r more expensive now but maybe only the COE component has come down so the car seems cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 lets agree to disagree , re my cost of that repair, it only occur in the 30th mth of my ride. the "free" repair i hv tot abt it when it first occur... For the cost of repair vs $$ earn, assuming that they charge by 50%, for my 10k, 20k, 30k, 40k.. which equates to $100 + $100 + $100 + $200 = $500 excess vs outside workshop. (oh, my AD quotes me abt $1000+ to do abv job if w/o warranty, as if !!! ... roflmao) Outside charges engine mount abt $250, while dampers changes in a set of 4 at abt $800( no brand) to abt $1200(BC), so i assume $250 + $200 (take $800/4) = $450. not much diff la... also got other comp-pains that i go to them. Anyway, my point is expensive AD charges is not something new, just that when we buy car hv to take that into consideration too. also the warranty part as well... cosz when things go wrong, sometimes its really no choice that hv to go back. to TS: if u die die dun wan to go back AD, try ah-boon. he is good. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 i m driving a cs3, close to 3 yrs liao... my engine mounts hv gone bad, rear dampers leaked, engine idling rpm unstable... heng in my case i m wif AD, cosz the 1st items chg would hv "earned" back the difference. ========================= Looks like cars r getting less reliable & durable. Or is it cos they use cheap, made in 3rd world parts? i think u bought a lemon. sure they r not registered as fruit sellers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 hi, its my ride that hv the problems, but it only occur in the 30th mth of my ride. still consider a lemon ? mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 ur car post puberty lah.. need to change brand of sanitary pad simi problem, can tell? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 15, 2007 Share July 15, 2007 (edited) no la, nothing major engine mount worn out, and rear right damper, oil seal leaking slowly... no issue to me, as long its solved. mice Edited July 15, 2007 by Bluemice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 Ya lah. I see your point of view too. All i'm saying is that nothing is for free. The so called "warranty" is already paid for by you & if nothing spoil during the warranty period, then AD earn lah. If u claim, they break even. I'm sure they don't lose $$$ cos if the item that spoil is very ex. They not going to do it for u for free. Anyway I'm just quite pissed that the AD's now trick pple to take their warranty by tying it to their overpriced servicing packages. I guess they were desperate cos most pple don't use AD service package b4 cos it's really ex & they had to come up with something to save their servicing biz. Otherwise so much $$$ invested in parts, equip & manpower also cannot recover. I'm also quite surprised pple go along with it as this shows that it's quite easy to "entice" motorists to part with their $$$ for some crappy service from those AD's. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 In Reply To -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- i m driving a cs3, close to 3 yrs liao... my engine mounts hv gone bad, rear dampers leaked, engine idling rpm unstable... heng in my case i m wif AD, cosz the 1st items chg would hv "earned" back the difference. ========================= Looks like cars r getting less reliable & durable. Or is it cos they use cheap, made in 3rd world parts? -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- i think u bought a lemon. sure they r not registered as fruit sellers? =============================== Errrr..... I think u reply to wrong person leh. I was replying to Bluemice who said his car got problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 not just the warranty lah, got the insurance & car loan tied in as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 not TC, but they using Shell lub which i dun really like.. Don't tell me is BM as they uses Shell Lube. I always send my ride to them for servicing and I don't border what oil they use but I insist only on Syn oil and pay a little bit extra. i thot BM use castrol KMC another one using shell, but they allow own oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 (edited) BM use esso, at least the one at esso defu where i send my camry, i been using castrol all the way, no problem, they just charge the mineral package and deduct a bit my other car i send to cycle no issue with using own oil Edited July 16, 2007 by Furrynadz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear July 16, 2007 Share July 16, 2007 I'm also quite surprised pple go along with it as this shows that it's quite easy to "entice" motorists to part with their $$$ for some crappy service from those AD's. bro, i aint a rich man or a dumb nut, just that "my car's UPTIME is the utmost importance to me". diff pple hv diff values and expectations, as long end of day driver happy can liao. Even there is once, my car batt died, due to too much ICE-ing during car wash, notti-mice ... its abt 20mth old then, there n then i also call STAR to come, though they confirm that just jump start + charge can liao, but i decided to chg it anyway. in this case, i "lost" abt 1 hr waiting for the recovery svc. my point is that i want min hassle from my ride, so just pay $$ lor... its kinda like home reno, one average guy to do it all. or to hunt down masters of each trade but spend time + resources for ind aspect. mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 That's why they make it so complicated so it's hard to calculate which dealer gives a better deal. Doing biz in SG has become like that. Only way to survive is to cheat the customers. Last time very straightforward. How much is the car? They just quote the price "On the Road". Simple to compare with other makes & models. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 18, 2007 Share July 18, 2007 Sorry didn't mean u lah. Just that I can also get more "uptime" with OS ws. In fact, I have more uptime with the OS ws then with those AD. They keep the car 1 whole day & still cannot solve problem. I sent to then 2 or 3 times means 2 or 3 days got no car & they still don't know what is wrong. Send to my OS ws & problem is solver in a couple of hours. Another benefit of OS ws is their prices r much lower. I have very little confidence in those AD & gave up with them long ago. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...