AD unreasonable servicing terms..

Rskeisuke

no sweat bro.

To be honest, i agree wif u too. only slight diff, my UPTIME is not "TIME minus TIME-INSIDE-WS". but rather problem-free driving time, meaning no need even to go WS, regardless of who. typically most AD would just chg stuff at fixed interval to avoid this, of course at expense of $$.

here said, i only go to AD for svc, things like batt. tyres, A/C is also done outside. oh ICE as well, impt one...

seeya arnd

mice

not TC, but they using Shell lub which i dun really like..

Don't tell me is BM as they uses Shell Lube. I always send my ride to them for servicing and I don't border what oil they use but I insist only on Syn oil and pay a little bit extra. [shocked][shocked]

picnic wat's ur picnic's fc?

mine only 10km/litre max

wat's urs?

hi bro,

Of course svc with AD will be exp.. thats one of their income source too.

Servicing is a personal thing. i hv to state that if due to some svc terms that u r not happy wif and u svc o/s and eg if engine died or txm failed... the $$ to pay is not worth it. cos i hv seen pple( who did svc with AD) and faced with problems that o/s mechs just cant solve, eg one side car electrics just died, engine up lorry, txm gone crazy, EUC gone mad, etc etc...

now for myself:

i m driving a cs3, close to 3 yrs liao... my engine mounts hv gone bad, rear dampers leaked, engine idling rpm unstable... heng in my case i m wif AD, cosz the 1st items chg would hv "earned" back the difference.

conclusion: the car owner hv to weight the pros n cons and decide cosz one day if u need the AD and they refuse you. its your own that u r responsible for. no one else.

mice

what is a cs3?

I get my old >18 yo COE car done at OS ws & hardly have any repairs done to it. In fact most of my visits r for the regular servicing only. Maybe once or twice a year for repairs of mostly wear & tear items. So far this year no repairs at all yet. [thumbsup]

If I go to AD or those big ws, I think I have to visit them more then 6-7 times a year & still the problem not properly resolved. [thumbsdown]

I just have to voice my opinion on how lousy I have found the AD & big ws to be. Maybe i'm lucky cos I am able to find good OS ws to take care of my beat up old jalopy. [laugh]

Cheers bro. [wave]

Edited by Pisces69

yup..no choice, its quite impossible for us to go into a workshop and ask them whether they are doing unethical stuff...Even if they are, they wont be telling us..so I have to tap on personal experience..

Quite a number of ADs are practising such things. Not only do they prohibit other type of engine oil, they will charge u exhorbitant rates for their own engine oil. And if you go out to do servicing, they will threaten to void ur warranty.

However, for C&C, though they have such terms, I still go out to do my 3rd servicing. When i go back to do the 4th servicing, I asked them if they are still willing to honour my warranty - and they said yes [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][lipsrsealed]

i would suggest you go make friend with some NTUC agent or from their claim dept. You will likely dig out more than getting info from here, they have all the stat on dealing with almost all the AD service centre & workshops [;)]

what we have here as individual cannot be conclusive as what deem reasonable/ethical for me may not be reasonable to others [thumbsup]

the ethics i am working on does not need concrete grounds. If u think it is unethical, we will go investigate on it. My project is actually onto justifying them

most AD are like tat cause they got tie ups with the companies who provide them the engine oil

what u can do is to BYO oil and leave it below the front seat. then ask the servicing ppl nicely if they cld use it

of course if u know them personally it'll be easier. some are quite friendly, cause they understand

Edited by Robin

this reminds me of my final year project during university.

we passed some survey forms to parents of friends to fill....included is a field "income bracket". we need this beause we are trying to see if there is a correlation of the income to how pple use their cpf and plan for retirement. but the form is anonymous because no name and address field for surveyees to fill in.

still my kiasi friends' parents (who are businessmen) refuse to fill in this survey form, apparently for fear of any form of investigation on the income they earning vs the income tax they paying. of course, this also goes to show they probably underdeclared their income.sly.gif