Karbonphyber 1st Gear August 18, 2007 Share August 18, 2007 arh ok. expected. hehehe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear August 18, 2007 Share August 18, 2007 How much did the repair cost you? Did it take long for the mechs to troubleshoot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie August 18, 2007 Author Share August 18, 2007 Hi Garlic, Nope, the mechanic was fast to find out the problem. Cost me $58 (2 brake pumps) excluding $35 labour. Are you having the same problem? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie August 18, 2007 Author Share August 18, 2007 By the way, I changed my shoe brake pads too, cost me $36 per pair... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garlic 1st Gear August 18, 2007 Share August 18, 2007 My dad's 3+ yrs old car with 50+K on odo is facing something similar as well. He's complaining of poor pedal feel. Did a test drive and true enough, the brake pedal feels lower than usual. Removed the front wheel and there is about 5mm of friction material left on the brake pads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magiclamp Neutral Newbie August 19, 2007 Author Share August 19, 2007 I'm no mechanic, but for safety reason, it is better to change the brake pads or get a mechanic to assess the brake pedal. Good luck! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 Thanks...Brake shoes got brands like our brake pads or not? Like brake pads got brands like mintex, ferrodo etc? I have a set of project mu brake pads. Haven't changed yet. I am using stock pads now. Still left 40%...Dunno change now or wait for stock pads to be used up first..... bro, project miu has brake shoe for rear drum brakes as well.....as a general rule of thumb, every other front pads replacement entails a rear brake shoe replacement as well. i was previously on project miu brake shoe....honestly, i cannot feel any diff..... fyi, stamford tyres do hv ad hoc sales @ certain times of the year...if u r a member they'll mail u some offers...project brake miu shoes after discount is abt 100 bux w installation. fr min ghee, supplier, they say rule of thumb every 2 change of front disc = 1 time rear drum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 thickness of brake pad on disc are visible it's not the gap to the rotor ask the mechanic to adjust the cable lor when is the last time u change brake fluid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 Most disc brakes will give a "grinding" feel when the pads r wearing out. There is a thin layer of material in the pads which will give this feel as a warning to change the pads asap. Even if your pads r not worn after 3.5years, it is a good idea to have them changed. I had the same thing as I drive very gently & although my pads were still quite thick, it had glazed over & lost it's grip. I needed an expensive accident with a new Merc to wake me up & have them changed. I also changed all my brake fluid at the same time as that was also overdue. If u feel your brakes not biting as much as b4, ti's time to let an experienced mech give them a check. yalor ..better play safe than sorry...brake pads may also wear and tear even if dun drive alot but for very long time?If let's say I seldom drive this car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 brake loss is not just abt thickness alone. there r other factors like "brake fade", problem of brake fluid/ delivery/ age, problem of tyre age/ type <--> grip/ tyre pressure road slipness/ condition/ gradient (downhill opp to uphill) passenger loading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banban Neutral Newbie August 19, 2007 Share August 19, 2007 Thanks for your info bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shor 1st Gear May 18, 2011 Share May 18, 2011 What brake pad is recommendable for Nissan Murano and what will be the cost like? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikail5858 Neutral Newbie May 19, 2011 Share May 19, 2011 Just go down to Waterloo street near Middle Road [next to GSM Building] where there are a whole lot of parts distributors and you could purchase for about $30-00 - i normally go to Chop Aik Huat - then go to a workshop in JB and they will change for you for about RM$20 to RM$30 - its that simple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowblind Neutral Newbie April 14, 2012 Share April 14, 2012 Anyone driving a Mazda 3 2.0L? Enquired for my fren regarding buying the brakepads at stocklist and was quoted 140 just for rear pads. Any alternatives to Mazda brake pads? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I_M_Ken Neutral Newbie April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 how does brake dust affect anything? hmmm, i havent really seen any answers for that anywhere else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alphas 2nd Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Anyone knows why there is is hmm" sound when the car is about to stop after I press the brake. The sound comes from the brakes when I release the brake pedal again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Anyone knows why there is is hmm" sound when the car is about to stop after I press the brake. The sound comes from the brakes when I release the brake pedal again? is your brake disc or drum? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear April 24, 2012 Share April 24, 2012 Most likely Rotors are warped. Best to change it. I went for some smoothening thingy so got irritating noise but only for the first 5 to 10 brakes. So poor neigbours who stay at low floors. Sorry. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...