Coolad 5th Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 For those drivers out there wanting a more fuel efficient drive, check out the driving techniques in the website : www.cleanmpg.com it gave an insight on how the previous winner driving an automatic Sonata during the Shell Challenge was able to achieve 30+km/litre. He probably had used some of the techniques described in the website. Please ignore some of the extreme techniques described such as switching off the engine, it is dangerous!! The shell challenge results were not accurate... only the 2006 Shell technical challenge can be taken into account. (at 30++km/litre, it already outperformed even advanced hybrid cars.) There can be no recommended speed nor precise techniques. Only general strategy. Becoz all cars have different engines/ transmission/ gearing ratio. To 1 car, 70km/h maybe best, to another 90km/h is even better. To get the best FC, you need to hook up a computer, and drive throughout the whole rpm band and speed. After which you will know your car's optimum FC profile. Techniques like feathering will only add icing to the cake, ie push it better by 10%. Actually the most difficult part is willpower and patient... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 looks like I still have to carry on hunting for used light weight 16" or 17" rims to replace my current 11kg+ 17" rim VOLKS RIMS? Kekekeke. $1000+ /rim x 4 though. Light yes. About 9kg. 9kg too heavy liao, there are cheaper Jap brand rims that's only 7kg+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 yah, the most you can go is about 1 to 2 psi higher than the recommended psi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Most cars sold in Singapore are tune to travel most efficient at 80-90km/hr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fckes Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 then you try driving in gear 2 at 90km/h see if you can get good fuel consumption Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbiegetz Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 we buy a car to enjoy the luxury, whats the point of driving until so "kan kor" dont switch on the air-con dont this dont that ? might as well take bus still can relax got air-con! if cant afford that few extra litres of petrol might as well dont drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 (edited) I did say most cars, not special or rare cars. Of course u hv to engage the right gear. Edited August 26, 2007 by Ed2win2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohks Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 it depends on attitude. there is a fellow in my block who bought a Lexus MPV hybrid sedan and today i saw a private mercedes E class topping NG in Jurong Island. why these fellows bother to buy luxurious hybrid car or NG car? if you ask me, i would think they want convenient, luxury and most important they want to do thier part for the environment. please don't equate people who wants to improve FC = poor people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohks Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Author Share August 26, 2007 This "pulse and glide" (nice sounding name ) or in a much simpler term which is called "lift your bloody heavy foot off the accelerator" is usually used when you are cruising, i.e. in overdrive and having abtain your desired speed, eg. 80 or 90km/h. So when you are in overdrive, the engine brake is actually very minimal, thus you can afford to let go completely, esp when it's on downward sloping expressway. Anyway, it's not rocket science, I wonder why this thread and the article stated it to be so complex it is not complex and not rocket science. it is a matter of feeling the car, the acceleration and decceleration forces. In overdrive and letting go of the accelerator completely, you should feel engine braking. Even if it is minimal, the car will deccelerate more quickly than a proper execute glide. you have to try it to know what i mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 if you feel engine brake when you let go during, may I know what speed you are travelling on and the road condition? Maybe the car model as well. And you shd also check on how much fuel you save when you let go VS keeping your foot, even 3mm, down on the throttle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 That's the thing. If you look at the hybrid prices and the rebates the gahment gives you, you cannot get an ROI even with 10yrs of driving if you paid for it fully w/o a loan. Hence the reason why I chose CNG. The car is already in the market or you are driving it already. Push down the cost of fuel on both petrol and CNG. CNG enables you to use up to 3/4 tank full easily for you to go into JB to fuel up once a week. The overall strategy works. My actual overall cost of ownership from reduced fuel costs more significant than hypermiling or some other fancy name for eco-driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 The lau ah pek taxi drivers sometimes overdo it giving you jerks from the engine braking. Maybe because they drive diesels. This is on the expressways. However, with the demise of the Crowns and the advent of these slush box taxis, hard to detect if they are doing pulse and glide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 Agree.. pushing it down and sudden lift off of the foot just bring much discomfort to everyone on the ride. it shd be maintain and achieve speed, let go, let it drop a bit, then press on again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucien Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 If only can run fully on CNG would be best. But having a bi fuel CNG/petrol got some sacrifice lor. Your boot is no more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithpapa Neutral Newbie August 26, 2007 Share August 26, 2007 For those drivers out there wanting a more fuel efficient drive, check out the driving techniques in the website : www.cleanmpg.com it gave an insight on how the previous winner driving an automatic Sonata during the Shell Challenge was able to achieve 30+km/litre. He probably had used some of the techniques described in the website. Please ignore some of the extreme techniques described such as switching off the engine, it is dangerous!! change to fuel efficient car lah. that is easier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohks Neutral Newbie August 27, 2007 Author Share August 27, 2007 if you feel engine brake when you let go during, may I know what speed you are travelling on and the road condition? Maybe the car model as well. And you shd also check on how much fuel you save when you let go VS keeping your foot, even 3mm, down on the throttle. engine braking can be felt at speed from 80km/h and below. Like i said in my previous post, it is difficult for me to conduct test as per your suggestion. I do not have a on-board fuel consumption or efficiency monitering system. Currently i can only monitor my results in between top-ups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Infernose Neutral Newbie August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 if u want to check how much throttle u are stepping on, can use blitz R-vit, it gives u a voltage value of your throttle position. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 27, 2007 Share August 27, 2007 Engine brake can be felt on all speed if you are at the lower gear compared to the speed you are travelling. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...