Take Note: NTUC car insurance

Altivo

NTUC? Can buy one! Its good. New CEO jus took over. But then hor, dun get into accident lah. Wanna cheap cheap insurance then bo pian, must be careful.

BTW i oso on NTUC.......I damm afraid to kena accident,if not got to pay.

Are you sure they are the cheapest ? [:/]

I believe they are the onli insurance company that offer installment payment (correct me if i am wrong) that is y so many ppl buy from them.

They may not be the lowest but price quite competitive lor (depend).

ha me too on NTUC, also now afraid kana accident too....pray hard...

I remember I kana an accident where I caused a scooter to skip and fell and the scooter kana some demages.

First time kana accident so abit panic and call their so-call NTUC help line...

[thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown] la, keep telling me if wanna claim my insurance must go IDAC immdiately and keep advising me is better that I get a private settlement with the scooter now..., if not the scoter also must go IDAC with me...

Asked her what is the best option.. keep repeating " you can settle private settle private with him, but must go IDAC! whether to cliam or not to claim NTUC" [hur]

From that moment I know I wont buy NTUC anymore.... will be the first and last time, period

Edited by Davidwookokliang

I got camp mate working for NTUC insurance claim dept, even they tell me not to get from them what side u wanna see???

i work in one of the insurance company and my whole family plus my motor insurance are not from my company. hahaha we always think grass is greener elsewhere

sometimes we miss the good and harp on the bad. if the scenario i painted is true, ntuc has done beyond what is normally expected? perhaps the guy did not understand the situation?

ann-tee-u-see very the cb one la. i've got a fren who used their installment plan and they failed to deduct the payment. 5 mths later called him up and ask him pay 5 mths 1 shot.

i also kanna last mth. got enough money in bank for them to deduct but they didnt. this mth deduct 2 mths straight without telling me. [:|]

I was with NTUC income but I have switched to another insurance company. NTUC is not the cheapest around and they way they handle claims.. makes them look like they are the cheap skate type in the market.

In reality, the insurance policy that you have bought is more for covering the legal requirement that all cars must be insured at least third party.

Most car owners (or should I say car hirers because of hire-purchase act and contract) was forced to insure under comprehensive because the rightful car owners (the bank or any other financial institution) wants to cover their ass at the expense of car hirers (hirer.. even if the LTA record shows that you are the registered owner unless the car was paid in cash full or you have completely settle the loan).

This is a penalty on the car hirers. Market value as assessed by the insurance company win the event of total loss will be way below the actual resale value of the car. Some insurance company might even go to the extend of scrapping the car instead of forking out few thousands for repair. This is because this way is more economically beneficial to the insurance company.

Cold hard facts of life in the real world. These insurance companies are out there for profits, not your peace of mind, that's for sure.

keep telling me if wanna claim my insurance must go IDAC immdiately

> ntuc requires you to report to idac for damage assessment within 24 hours. tis is oso taken as u making an accident report to ntuc. nothing wrong with this rite? generally, all insurance company encourage the insured to report within 24 hours. u still gotta report it unless u wanna private settle or hide it.

and keep advising me is better that I get a private settlement with the scooter now...,

> good advise. cos if u in the wrong, maybe u pay him $50 on the spot settle liao. else, he go his workshop and start claiming for the moon. workshops like to do this, esp if the customer is seen to be victim in the accident. u pay $50 is way lesser than what u lose in ur ncd or get loaded on ur premium when scooter makes a claim to ur insurance company.

if not the scoter also must go IDAC with me...

> yes, that is to protect u. if he goes to his own workshop, be prepared for inflated claims!

Asked her what is the best option.. keep repeating " you can settle private settle private with him, but must go IDAC! whether to cliam or not to claim NTUC"

> once again, this is to protect u.

From that moment I know I wont buy NTUC anymore.... will be the first and last time, period

> u should reconsider them if their price remain competitive.