Turbonetics

Whose fault?  

42 members have voted

1. 1.

• driver
    • workshop
    • both parties

this is extracted from SHC forum.

iam posting here to see what are your views?

PLEASE NOTE THAT IAM NOT THE ORIGINAL POSTER.

Good day,

something happened to me today and i'm still feeling quite sore about it, therefore i thought i share my experience with u guys n gals...

i was at J**p Ch** this morning to adjust my twin tail exhaust tip, (as it wasn't done properly the previous day) they saw the fault n proceeded to rectify it... everything was ok and done to my satisfaction, when i was ready to leave, it all happened...

one of their staff went to the road to direct traffic for me to reverse out of their workshop, as he was looking out for the on coming traffic, he did/didn't see the stationary car that was in my path, parked illegally on the left side of the one-way lane... he gave the 'lai lai lai' command and naturally i looked in his direction to listen out for the commands, but because he did/didn't see that car, i reversed n knocked into it...

my bumper dislodged and the other car slightly dented with paint scratches... that guy whom directed me went away to serve other customers n i had to go look for the boss...

i told him what had happened n he smiled n ask "then how? u cant expect me to be responsible for it right? u go ask around, your car not my guys drive one we wun take responsibilites... u wan u go claim your insurace lor..." wtf?? i debated with him like a gentleman and he just told me off again "u want u go forum n post lor... see who will side u... car is u drive one and now u wan to get me involved... u never check is ur thing liao... or i tell u what, u send a lawyer's letter to sue my company lor..." following that, he just walked off...

i have to admit is my fault as i din do my own checks n depended entirely on the staff there who are doing traffic marshalling day in day out... so i suggested to him that we should share the cost for the repairs, he pay for that car which seems to be less damaged as compared to mine, n i pay for my own damage... he laughed and polled the audience (which is his own neighbour, doing panel repairing) and naturally, i lost in terms of votes... i had to bite the bullet when he said why dun the 2 of u exchange numbers n go settle it, before walking off again...

overall, i must say that the efficiency there was ok but when it comes to responsibilities n attitude, they din fare that well... dun think i'll ever visit them ever again... damage on the car was only $200, not that i cant afford, but i feel it's not entirely my fault and J**p Ch** should not be washed off all responsibilities... what do u think?

to side track a little, that damaged car was already damaged... he was there to repair his folded up bonnet and dented inwards front wheel arc... they illegally parked the car there as the panel beating shop was full... they were just behind my car witnessing the accident n din say a thing just waiting to capitalise on the situation even further... he wanted to charge me $40 after discount, (dun know what kind of discount that is) for fitting my lose rear bumper, and ask me go else where to spray...

luckily gary's shop was nearby n i din want to get ripped off, so i asked the panel beating to follow me over instead, he was very reluctant and tried to lower the cost... i din give in this time... and guess what, when i went over to gary, he just pushed the bumper slightly, and everything fell into place... his mother used a piece of sand paper with water, and my paint scratches from the other car was gone!! but still kana 2 irreversible deep cuts... sianz...

sorry for the long post but i feel that after this incident, i would never ever trust anyone who helps to direct traffic anymore...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this is extracted from SHC forum.

iam posting here to see what are your views?

PLEASE NOTE THAT IAM NOT THE ORIGINAL POSTER.

Edited by Gadgeter

question is, who is driving the car? That's obivious right?

The driver aka owner should have also made his own judgement. whenever I reverse out from a workshop, I always make sure I check my blind spot on my own..

Correct...he who holds the steering wheel should be responsible for his action...what if it was a small kid....who was in the path...still wan to blame the traffic director?? Lame man!thumbsdown.gifthumbsdown.gifthumbsdown.gif

Yup........... it's the person behind the wheels. The other guy is merely providing assistance for the driver to come out easier.

Unfair? Well..... it is but that's the way it is in this case.

As for haggling with the workshop pple, personally I feel it's uncalled for as the end result is still the same and the impression given is that he is trying to share the responsibility of banging the car.

Illegally parked vehicles doesn't give pple the rite to bang them, else Geylang would be a very bad place to drive to liao.....

when you are extracting from another forum. stated it in the beginning of the thread.

Unless you did it on purpose and want to see whether people got see properly..

Of course the driver who knock pay lah..so simple...somemore he knocked into something stationary hor!

How can anyone trust or take the 'Ah Beng's word that the coast is clear!...

AFTERALL, THEY DON'T LABEL HIM AS AN AH BENG for nothing , you know? [sly][laugh][laugh]

The driver aka owner should have also made his own judgement. whenever I reverse out from a workshop, I always make sure I check my blind spot on my own..

i do the same too.

guessed we have the same answer.

however i find that the owner of the exhaust shop has got attitude problem too.

it gives me a 2nd thought in visiting them.never.shakehead.gif

"u want u go forum n post lor... see who will side u... car is u drive one and now u wan to get me involved... u never check is ur thing liao... or i tell u what, u send a lawyer's letter to sue my company lor..."

the above reply is not necessary in my opinion.

but maybe the driver was rude in the first place.

Edited by Turbonetics

when you are extracting from another forum. stated it in the beginning of the thread.

Unless you did it on purpose and want to see whether people got see properly..

ok,iam not on purpose one.wink.gif

i see the amendment.thanks.thumbsup.gif

Edited by Turbonetics

Of course the driver who knock pay lah..so simple...somemore he knocked into something stationary hor!

How can anyone trust or take the 'Ah Beng's word that the coast is clear!...

AFTERALL, THEY DON'T LABEL HIM AS AN AH BENG for nothing , you know? sly.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

laugh.gif

To me, its both parties, at least the worker.

Coz he is the one who wan to help him look out for traffic while the bugger reverse.

Yes, he is the one driving. But the one behind commanding should also look out for possible hazards.

But...gary's mum also came to help...lol

i do the same too.

guessed we have the same answer.

however i find that the owner of the exhaust shop has got attitude problem too.

it gives me a 2nd thought in visiting them.never.shakehead.gif

I've been to there lei.

But the boss seems nice enough...

Maybe when come to $$ issues...i dun know...

the mech who direct the traffic surely is no fault one.. who call u listen to him..

the driver should be responsible for this own damage for being kayu

the illegally parked car shd be responsible for this car kena damaged for illegal parking.