Evo X launched!

Eyke

sort of.. [laugh]

is a 6 speed automated manual. better pick up as gear ratio is closer to each other for the lower gear. 5th is of a bigger gap which is good for cruising as well. it also feature greater torque.. overall.. worth the additional $4k top up from GSR 5MT. [thumbsup]

But u lost alot of the fun factor of the stick. I take fun over faction of sec off the speed anytime.

But of course the sst allow auto mode which will be handy if u just wanna cruise smoothly from point a to b, or caught in a jam. Or if wifey itchy wanna take the driver seat.

Off topic abit, any guys have any idea got such device that can sound a buzz or better restraint the rpm to below 3K, (with press of button or something) so I can pass the car safely for others like wifey to drive without worry the suddenly boost from the turbo?

MT is easy to maintain, but stuck in traffic jam good luck to you.

SST is more expensive than MT, but it shifts faster and you don't need to work the clutch (there's no clutch). It's a motorized manual transmission, so you get the advantage of clutchless shifting and none of the loss associated with the auto transmission. Main disadvantage is that its not tried and tested yet, esp with such a high performance engine in the Evo. So in the long run, you're the guinea pig...

there is still clutch in the SST, infact 2 clutches, one clutch for 1st, 3rd, 5th and the other clutch for 2nd, 4th and 6th. All the gear shift is done electronically for you, so there isn't a clutch pedal for the driver that's all, behaves like an auto but without Torque Convertor, so no loss in power sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

Off topic abit, any guys have any idea got such device that can sound a buzz or better restraint the rpm to below 3K, (with press of button or something) so I can pass the car safely for others like wifey to drive without worry the suddenly boost from the turbo?

Just get an Electronic Boost Controller, to override the factory settings.

Then set the upper limit to a much lower boost. (e.g. 0.5 bar)

So the boost won't really engage even when floored.

Thanks alot. [:)]

Just another question, can it be turn on/off by flip of a button (or at least done easily without going to the workshop).

I am pretty interested in it.

Anyway, I seen all the colors, I think red is still the best. AT least until they come out with dark grey, yellow in future. Hope to get in red in 2 years time. [:)]

Edited by Kiadaw

there is still clutch in the SST, infact 2 clutches, one clutch for 1st, 3rd, 5th and the other clutch for 2nd, 4th and 6th. All the gear shift is done electronically for you, so there isn't a clutch pedal for the driver that's all, behaves like an auto but without Torque Convertor, so no loss in power

You make SST sounds awefully like a DSG-wannabe [flowerface]

read that SST 0-100 timing is better that 5MT. but don't quote me on this please.. can't confirm it

Confirmed. [thumbsup]

http://www.zercustoms.com/news/Mitsubishi-...-5MT-Video.html

Detail explaination in nippon-san:

But with dissappointing track result againts the old WRX:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=_jfYmpH5nvA

Edited by Wishcumstrue

Pardon my ignorance but EVO X is 2L nia? [shocked] Thot was 2.5L like new WRX? [:/]

So this means what? They gonna put a gigantic turbo inside again(turbo lag). Then whats the point of the SST [hur]

Anyway, it is in the showroom liao?

is 2.occ only.

my showroom have 1 exo X 5MT on display. do inform me before hand if you intend to drop by. just have a look is okie. no obligation for anything. cheer! [sunny]

I always thot bigger cc and smaller turbo will spool the turbos faster mah. One can put in a gigantic turbo but if kicked in only at 4500 to 5000rpm then whats the point.

Ok so this EVO X 2L (with a huge turbo) can do what?

"You make SST sounds awefully like a DSG-wannabe"

wells.. isnt both using the same concept?? [sweatdrop]

Yes in concept, but no in technology maturity.

We must realise that this dual-clutch gearbox is not a new invention.

It goes back to the 80s.

VAG's DSG advanrage is not only over 5 years of head start against SST, but also their ability to put market proven gearbox into wide range of models from Audi TT to latest Jetta.

Generally, bigger Turbo has more lag, requiring higher RPM to spin. However the lag can be improved via perimeters like lighter rotor, ceramic coating on exhaust, or variable vane geometry design (which the 997 turbo being the only production car to use it), to name a few.

There are actually people that like shiok feeling of the sudden boost of speed.., not me thou

I heard the SST / DSG or similar design actually come from the same supplier, just different spec & abit of variation in design from different automakers. I could be wrong but I remeber reading about it somewhere. WOuldn't the inventor(s) of the Dual crutch be silly not to patent the design.

there is still clutch in the SST, infact 2 clutches, one clutch for 1st, 3rd, 5th and the other clutch for 2nd, 4th and 6th. All the gear shift is done electronically for you, so there isn't a clutch pedal for the driver that's all, behaves like an auto but without Torque Convertor, so no loss in power

You make SST sounds awefully like a DSG-wannabe flowerface.gif

yes, in fact its similar lah laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif