Thefear Clutched October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost5983.aspx The driver who was stopped by Traffic Police over the weekend has written to STOMP, saying he was not drunk at the time and did not see the Traffic Police behind him. "I wasn't drunk at the point of time. I am not trying to run away from the Traffic Police and would have stopped if I saw them," Lyon said in an email today (10 Oct). He said he was rushing his wife to the nearest toilet as she was experiencing sharp pains in her stomach. Lyon said this after STOMPer Gerry reported seeing him speeding, with the TP in pursuit. Police said a man in his mid-20s was arrested for dangerous driving after he failed to stop his car along Penang Road despite the police signalling him to do so. When the driver failed to stop his yellow Suzuki Swift, a chase followed before the driver mounted a road kerb along South Canal Road at about 2.45am. In his email, Lyon said: "I am the driver of the car and this is what really happened. On 6/10/07 Saturday at 1.30pm I already knew I lost my baby from the doctor after a routine check every month. "My baby ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thefear Clutched October 11, 2007 Author Share October 11, 2007 Yes it is a sob story my condolences, but most importantly, who believe him? TP claimed they signalled for him to stop at Penang Rd but he didn't n can speed all the way to South Canal Rd, all this while claiming he didn't see nor notice there was a TP with blinkers n lights flashing at 2am+ right behind him.... I can see TPs in broad daylight, how come he can't see a bright christmas tree at night? N i oso don believe the TP didn't on siren leh.... I kena pull over by ROV they oso can blast their siren at me(short 1 sec blast) to get my attention let alone a car chase... Well its his words against the cops la so we shall see the outcome... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoner Clutched October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 'My baby Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Well if he can link up that story about the miscarried baby with doctor's proof maybe he has a better case, but the cops also have the burden of proof whether by video evidence or bystander statements whether they provided more than adequate indication for the driver to pull over. Driving late at night it is real hard to miss a pair of blue and red lights...... But give the benefit of doubt in the meantime, this thing doesn't seem to be over yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Well, no matter the circumstances, if he can miss seeing blinking lights at 2am, then he really shouldn't be driving... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 11, 2007 Share October 11, 2007 Why he needs to go to Boat Quay when there is a rolls of coffee shops along Killiney Road (after Penang Road) where he could just stop for his wife. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 (edited) even if his story is true, can only lighten the sentence...what if he kills someone, will that someone's family forgives him? moments of follies, years of regrets. E.g. A father's child is sick and need money for medicine/ surgery, so he go rob ppl and accidentally kill the victim, so is he forgiven? anyway if really pain should go to nearest hospital...Raffles or Mount E? Edited October 12, 2007 by Julio369 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 If your wife got sharp pain in her tummy, u would rush for the nearest Hospital/clinic or toilet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 (edited) good analogy But i find the driver's story incedulous if toilet, y rush to macdonald's? Edited October 12, 2007 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 penang rd to boat quay is not very near. don't tell me he did not even check the mirror through out the journey? nonetheless,my sympathy to the unborn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Julio369 Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 that's the nearest toilet at the crash site? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 yea perhaps.. If i were in his shoes and my wife is in great pain, the next best thing i would do is to rush to the nearest hospital...screw the mac donald's toilet! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 "When I was at Clemenceau, she told me her stomach was having sharp pain and wanted to go to the nearest toilet," he said. he should have drove pass penang rd then turn into clemenceau ave. TP gave chase at Penang rd,which means before his wife even complain about tummy pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astroboy Neutral Newbie October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 Then is the lady standing there looking good n healthy his wife? If so, she definitely seems ok to me. People in depressed mood should not be driving around "for some fresh air" cos they are not in the right frame of mind to concentrate thus endangering other road users as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 maybe mcnuggets can help to relief pain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 [laugh] Yea, rushing for nuggets! As much as i sympathise with the loss of his baby, i can't help but feel that his defence statement sounds really lame and illogical Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 "My baby Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear October 12, 2007 Share October 12, 2007 the truth will prevail. we shall wait and see. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...