ERP helps more S'poreans to own cars: Minister Raymond Lim

Cheekg98

ERP got lots of uses you know [rolleyes]

very soon our own MSCP or open CP will have gantry liao lo... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

where's our toylet janitor?? toilet also got gantry liao! haha [laugh]

Edited by Relagsingh

i think the slow vehicles have a very bad habit of coming out to second lane even when lane 3 is smooth, ie they try to overtake another slow vehicle traveling at almost the same speed. once lane 2 and 3 are blocked and you get an idiot hoggin lane 1, you have a sudden jam forming and all the cars behind start to slow and pile up behind the 3 goons.

there are some solutions but i think the TP and LTA got no balls to implement,

1, enforce the keep left on the slow vehicles (no fines but TP can influence behaviour)

2, raise speed limit and get rid of camera at key areas that always jam

3, chase road hogs and issue summons if required (there are people who dun remember their highway code)

4, if they can have TP to chase pple just b4 the ERP gantry, surely they can put some TP at the key jam areas to usher traffic, note down reasons for poor traffic conditions and attend to traffic build up quickly.

if there are 10,000 pple on the road and a jam wastes 30 minutes of their time, 5000 man-hours is wasted. 10 TP on the road for 3 hours is only 30 man-hours, surely this is acceptable commitment to save 5000 man-hours? (very simple assumptions so dun over argue the point hor)

Another thing to note - formally COE was implemented to control the number of vehicle on the road. Now ? With the over release of COE per month and the low price it is at now. Does the system still works now other than milking in more money ?

Yes . the price of a new car is low now compare to say 5 - 10 yrs back. Last time a new Honda or Toyota could cost easily up to 100k and over. Now ? 45k to 70k . A lot of ppl and youngster could easily afford to buy one now for the sake of owning one or to get another spare family car . Some ppl could had just pass his license today and got his/her new car tomorrow.

There is another group of ppl like Aunt and uncles in their 50s or 60s seeing the all time low price of buying a car. They are definately tempted to buy one for themselves. who doesn't ? Can you imagine when was their license passed ? 10 yrs ? 20 yrs back ? And can you further imagine "them" driving on the road ? I believe most had already pass back what they learn back to the instuctors already !!

How we know the car situation is that bad in Singapore ?

Some interesting facts to ponder over from my years of driving.

* new vehicle keep coming out even faster than my three yrs old son can say A to Z . Today SGA ...tomorrow SGB ...blink of eyes...now SGZ !! What ?? SHA comes out already ?? Oops sorry ..that is for Taxi [laugh]

* Last time when i go for incamp training or RT. I can relax relax drive in knowing that there is ample of car lots. Knew what happen to my last incamp ? Over numbers of car in a big big camp that if you came late. You LL have to park illegally resulting in many cars being cramped .

* Last time you can see some of yours buddy wanting to hitch a ride and "Long Pang" your vehicle . Sometimes not enough cars so 5 - 6 ppl squeeze in one vehicle to booked out. Still not enough cars ? Either had to wait for ARMY bus or walk out of camp. Now ? One driver one car zoom out of camp . The most 2 ppl per car.

* Last time when you reach home at your multi storey carpark say at 10 pm. Maybe you would still find a lot easily at level 2 ? 3 or the most 4 storey. Now ? You can listen to Kylie Minogue "Spinning around" . Spin your way up even to the roof top.

* Last time when say you want to travel from Jurong all the way to Airport . If you avoid the peak hours . Your journey can more or less confirm is not more than 30 min even if you drive leisurely . Now ? Driving at 10 am in the morning already took me more than 40 min just to reach Balestier via PIE !! 10 am ? Still got so many ppl haven't reach office ?? [sweatdrop] Or is it due to backlogs that those ppl had been jamming there since 8 am ?

Well ...i guess that was Last time ... [confused]

Edited by Ixiz

The government is laughing at us. You people want to own cars, it's one of the Cs.

You can have it, pay heavily to use it.

Anyway its so darn cheap to own a car now, gone is the $105k COE, the 30% DP, the max 7 yrs loan tenure. Every person who joins the workforce wants 1, some even get one to go to school! I agree that the rd tax should be removed.

Edited by Amuze

I always had this joke when i go to Turf City for Lunch with my friends.

I would tell them . "Do you want to buy a car ? I buy one for you ."

Then i would take up a One Dollar gold coin , Flip it to my friend and says

"Nah ... Here your car ... One dollar drive away "

I feel tat if they wanna do it, might as well install island wide ERP straight away instead of one by one. Most probably they are still waiting for the number of cars to continue to raise so tat can milk more and more.

Aiyah...u dono their pattern meh...

1 2 milk swee swee also not lidat one...

Must wait for every household to own at least 1 vehicle then go for the kill mah...

Then comes the next GE, to secure 66.6% vote again, they will prob annouce 50cts reduction in ERP. This will effectively kill out the opposition & the dream team will still be able to stay at the helm & continue to think of ways to increase their pay, benefits, variable bonus & whatever benefits they can think of coming up with.

u really believe MIW got so good to die meh?

if they really so good to die, why place a limit on nos of singaporeans who can pursue higher education? why increase retirement age.

there's only one thing lemon lim can do, leave a sour taste with every driver.

thumbsdown.gif

Road tax has been reduce and in case you are unaware, there is a "park and ride" scheme at most MRT stations that costs $3 for almost the whole afternoon, significantly cheaper than if you park in CBD the whole day.

then scrap the stupid road tax system and make parking at home cheaper.

make parking at interchanges free, or free parking at mrt and bus interchange if use public transport from that interchange. something along that idea la.

i think the slow vehicles have a very bad habit of coming out to second lane even when lane 3 is smooth, ie they try to overtake another slow vehicle traveling at almost the same speed. once lane 2 and 3 are blocked and you get an idiot hoggin lane 1, you have a sudden jam forming and all the cars behind start to slow and pile up behind the 3 goons.

there are some solutions but i think the TP and LTA got no balls to implement,

1, enforce the keep left on the slow vehicles (no fines but TP can influence behaviour)

2, raise speed limit and get rid of camera at key areas that always jam

3, chase road hogs and issue summons if required (there are people who dun remember their highway code)

4, if they can have TP to chase pple just b4 the ERP gantry, surely they can put some TP at the key jam areas to usher traffic, note down reasons for poor traffic conditions and attend to traffic build up quickly.

if there are 10,000 pple on the road and a jam wastes 30 minutes of their time, 5000 man-hours is wasted. 10 TP on the road for 3 hours is only 30 man-hours, surely this is acceptable commitment to save 5000 man-hours? (very simple assumptions so dun over argue the point hor)

Err......all these cannot make money one leh, implement for wat. Use so much resources some more, a more effective manner is just pushing some buttons. Change ERP rates to $50 per entry, our traffic will be super smooth. Then alot of people will take public transport, SBS and SMRT will earn another year of super profits.

He is totally incoherent!

Isn't it obvious to all but the most purblind that owning a car means being financially capable of purchasing a car?

What does traffic at snail pace, i.e 45km/hm, have to do with owning a car?

What does ERP have to do with people having cars? Come on! Road tax is relatively cheap compared to the cost of an average car. And most of our cars are priced at a 140% above (yes, on top of) the usual MSRP in other countries. ERP does not equate to cheaper cars, and that's the only logical link I can ever draw if he claims that more singaporeans are able to own a car. (In fact, in reality it has increased the costs of car ownership, no?)

At least if he claimed that the off-peak scheme did somewhat ameliorate the 'issue'(costs involved) of owning a car, it would have made a whee bit of sense.

Oh man. What a shame.

[thumbsdown]

tats why i would not choose to live in bishan, amk, serangoon, yishun, sembawang, admiralty, sengkang or punggol... coz there is only CTE to serve these areas now...

our beloved govt build huge sengkang and punggol estates to house new families...and now charge them tolls coz they need to use CTE to get home and to work...

ridiculous urban planning!

The whole of Singapore will have erp everywhere soon, not only those you mentioned. then what are you going to do?

so it is back to the story of buy a car but no money to drive it lor...why need to satisfy our ego and make it bigger ??? i cannot understand... [shakehead]

I'd wish that COE goes back to the $60k level so that only those who can afford will drive. This will greatly reduce the no. of cars on the roads.

now every tom, dick and harry is able to buy a cheap car at full loan, 10 yrs. no wonder the road is congested.

I feel that it's just that too many ppl choose to leave home or office at the same time.

Unless ppl in sg work together, dan gov won't have to come out with such crap solutions.

Things like parents can let their children take private/public buses to school. When there's an accident, dun slow down to kaypoh. Make sure u'r not half asleep on the wheel etc etc.

It's diificult for sg to work together lah. [shakehead]

Last time only can take max 7 yrs. On top of that, u imagine fire engine or ambulance wanna go and save lives but caught in jam in peak hour? The jam now we all expeirence is still the beginning, there are worst one ahead for us, tats how i feel.

Those are the days. Last time i take public transport also very fast and efficient as no cars to block the bus and hardly trap in jam, now i see the situation quite jia lat. This thing not only affect us driver, the rest of the public transport user also being drag down together.