Another Fallen (foreign) talent

Cheekg98

but all is just speculation ... maybe he has urgent things to attend to back home. just giving benefit of doubt.

You are very kind.

But there is this thing called telephone which he could just call up to inform. [sly]

But James Wong is a sportsman that I respect.

At least... he's a true blue Singaporean who sacrificed his youth training real hard. This is something most of us will not venture into.

Actually. from what i heard - in the inner circles.

James Wong was (allegedly) was apparently pretty ungentlemanly towards his then sponsors.

jumping back and forth, all around.

to the highest competing bidder w/o much regard...

Slaves to the highest bidders.

but of course most athletes are nowadays.

not to condemn him specifically (esp. since its something i heard 2nd hand)

but no need to raise him on a pedestal either.

Edited by Niteblu

There are many things said about Foreign Talent(FT), somehow, I feel that being a Singaporean, it faulted us in our advance as compared to FT, eg...National Service, (am not complaining, actually was a senior officer), we served at least 2 years of NS, started life later and FT don't so long they become a citizen after 35. And eg...SIA takes a FT at 18years old for flying and a Singaporean needs to be 26 years old.

I feel that the Government need to re-look at balancing this by not faulting thoroughbred Singaporean. The so called SAF is served and protected by this thoroughbred Singapore.

Ya lor if they are realli good, u think they will take a 2nd look at sg. All these FT are those who CMI to China National squad. Other country offer them $$$ n they change citizenship. Have u seen any of those FT win anuthing big in international stage? If they are good, table tennis and badminton will not be dominated by China liao lor.

not only national team. Sekali Sg will soon be one of china colony [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Take a stone n throw a a crowd in orchard in future, chances of u hitting a FT is higher than a local sg [laugh][laugh]

This foreign talent policy is preventing our local talents from shining... How come our gahmen always think that these people are better than our own? Are they cheaper to hire or easier to satify by giving them a citizenship? You get these characters and all they do is just win some medals, get their citizenship and go back to their motherland after their latest performance is not up to par... Another example is the Chinese trio of hammer, discus and shot putt throwers. Couldn't meet their mark and was kicking up a fuss. In the end also go back to China liao...

go back to China w sg passport n tons of $$$. can be king liao lor. so good who dun wan.

SG policy in earlier year do not emphasis on these area of talents. Now change mindset, but sg nan cannot, so how? get FTs lor.

U tell sg parents, let ur child train full time to be an sportmen, most likely they will say, NO FUTURE lah.

When an athlete injects foreign bodies into him/her to get a meal, he/she is a cheat.

But when a nation injects foreign bodies into its team..... we call it "Foreign talent" policy... WTF who are we kidding???

Yes athletes move around, but the way its done now by Singapore Inc is shamless. If we cant win medals, so be it, at least we play fair with our own athletes.

There is a pic of the table tennis men and women team in the ST today. Out of the ten, six are FTs........ shakehead.gifshakehead.gif

We cannot be supporting tiong kok until like that right? I think as much as we need foreign talents, priority must still be given to Singaporeans...

money can buy talents, but not loyalty

Right ... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Then, my next million dollar question is:

What is the way to get loyalty?

Hmm...

What a [thumbsup] question [idea][idea][idea]

[smash][smash][smash]

There are many things said about Foreign Talent(FT), somehow, I feel that being a Singaporean, it faulted us in our advance as compared to FT, eg...National Service, (am not complaining, actually was a senior officer), we served at least 2 years of NS, started life later and FT don't so long they become a citizen after 35. And eg...SIA takes a FT at 18years old for flying and a Singaporean needs to be 26 years old.

I feel that the Government need to re-look at balancing this by not faulting thoroughbred Singaporean. The so called SAF is served and protected by this thoroughbred Singapore.

Yeah Bro .... [:/]