Ford S Max

Buzz

Ok thks for info! Double congrats then since your COE successful as well!

What about Galaxy? More ex? No diesel?

Like one bro said earlier, Galaxy shld be more spacious but I belive you chose S Max cos it looked nicer?

yes, Galaxy is more ex & it got the TDCi too.

We chose the S-Max for it's looks, it's wifey's first good impression on the appearance. The S-Max wasn't on our radar initially as we tot it's overpowered & in Cat B, but the drive is supreme + the price came down so we tot why not?

yes, Galaxy is more ex & it got the TDCi too.

We chose the S-Max for it's looks, it's wifey's first good impression on the appearance. The S-Max wasn't on our radar initially as we tot it's overpowered & in Cat B, but the drive is supreme + the price came down so we tot why not?

Congrats. S-max a good decent people mover with not too shabby performance

I had yet to take a look at the car.. but from the review in youtube. the 3rd row is more for kids ?

I am currently driving a stream.. have to say the s-max is very chio....and sporty looking.

Yes, confirmed S-Max 3rd row now (much) improved from Stream, in terms of space.

Galaxy is much better.

But both also 2 individual seats. So while wife used to sit in 3rd row of our Wish with both kids when they were younger, and when we needed the space, I think this would not be possible in these European MPVs, as everyone of them have 2 indiv seats on row 3...

Congrats. S-max a good decent people mover with not too shabby performance

In fact, i don't think you can find another MPV whose performance comes even close to S-Max... The 240 hp cannot be found elsewhere... Only prob for me is the space...

Yes, confirmed S-Max 3rd row now (much) improved from Stream, in terms of space.

Galaxy is much better.

But both also 2 individual seats. So while wife used to sit in 3rd row of our Wish with both kids when they were younger, and when we needed the space, I think this would not be possible in these European MPVs, as everyone of them have 2 indiv seats on row 3...

In fact, i don't think you can find another MPV whose performance comes even close to S-Max... The 240 hp cannot be found elsewhere... Only prob for me is the space...

as long as the row adult passengers need not tucked in their legs, it might still be bearable.

I had only sat on my Stream third row while cleaning the rear...

if the 2nd row is pushed forward abit, the third row is still comfortable for audits.

The good thing about Wish & Stream is the third row passengers' seat are slightly "elevated" ,, hence they won't have the feeling of "seating" on the floor..and resulting in them needing to tucking their legs up.... Saw the renault grand scenic, no way I will want to take the rear seat,,, likewise for the Peugeot 5008..

I will be checking out the Smax, also take a look at Mazda 5 and Biante...

Its a bit out of topic ... but while you at it ..maybe you wanna check it out on kia sorento ( diesel 2.2 CRDI) , heard from one of the driver in mcf who bought the sorento and very please with it , be its power (400+ nm torque) or space and quite a good 3rd row space too or its bells and whistles ... but the brand is KIA and slightly expensive

as long as the row adult passengers need not tucked in their legs, it might still be bearable.

if the 2nd row is pushed forward abit, the third row is still comfortable for audits.

The good thing about Wish & Stream is the third row passengers' seat are slightly "elevated" ,, hence they won't have the feeling of "seating" on the floor..and resulting in them needing to tucking their legs up.... Saw the renault grand scenic, no way I will want to take the rear seat,,, likewise for the Peugeot 5008..

Yes, Grand scenic, 5008, Grand Picasso, Zafira, Orlando, Touran are all sitting on the floor.

S-Max is marginally better the above. Actually i still think Wish is better than it, though, but S-Max is wider and much more powerful, and has air con for 2nd row...

Its a bit out of topic ... but while you at it ..maybe you wanna check it out on kia sorento ( diesel 2.2 CRDI) , heard from one of the driver in mcf who bought the sorento and very please with it , be its power (400+ nm torque) or space and quite a good 3rd row space too or its bells and whistles ... but the brand is KIA and slightly expensive

Are you sure? I'm quite surprised that space is good on 3rd row for a SUV. I'd ruled out SUVs altogether thinking that it's no-hopper for space, but if this is true, maybe I'll at least go take a look...

I have a belly so if the 3rd row is low, it doesn't provide enough thigh support so for people like me, we will find it hard to sit cos the thighs are pressing against our belly!

I suppose I deserve it for not being in shape haha!!!

you may want to check out this thread ..

http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2687818-kia-sorento-2013/

disclaimer : I am not an agent for KIA ..i drive SMAX ecoboost as well .... but may buy this kia sorento if i waited long enuff though

Yes, Grand scenic, 5008, Grand Picasso, Zafira, Orlando, Touran are all sitting on the floor.

S-Max is marginally better the above. Actually i still think Wish is better than it, though, but S-Max is wider and much more powerful, and has air con for 2nd row...

Are you sure? I'm quite surprised that space is good on 3rd row for a SUV. I'd ruled out SUVs altogether thinking that it's no-hopper for space, but if this is true, maybe I'll at least go take a look...

yeah,, there were good comments on the 3rd row for the Sorento... but better do a personal butt test..

but the current car price is still very crazy...

yah, i booked the diesel...& got it(COE) today!!

yup, diesel at $149,999, the petrol was $155,999...i test drove both, insignificant different, both as solid & powerful...

Are you aware that the road tax for diesel engine will cost you $800 more per year?

Of course, you save on the cheaper diesel if you use the car a lot.

Are you aware that the road tax for diesel engine will cost you $800 more per year?

That's why dealer gibe more discount for the diesel. If you look at the list price in sgcarmart the diesel is more ex dan the petrol S-Max.

Not many ppl go for diesel if you look around except maybe for LandRover(Discovery) or Jag. If they dun make it attractive to buy it's difficult to move these diesel units becoz of the tax.

If there's CEV rebate it's even worst. Although you make savings now, it reduces your car's parf value. As your car age your loss is more.

Actually most mid size MPVs in the market are more or less the same. Most are in fact 5+2. With the seats fully occupied you are left with hardly any boot space unless you get a set of roof rack and roof box. But how often do you use the +2?

It's down to engine choice. I would go for those with 1.4L turbo options except VW. In terms of FC it's still frugal, road tax and insurance are cheaper dan other options. I find that on normal day to day driving you dun get to use a lot of hp & torque. I say that coz I recently bought a OBD link that shows all kinds of stats. I can hardly hit the max hp & torque. I already felt I'm going too fast and running out of roads. LoL...

1.4L turbo ..then its either Opel or Chevrolet orlando ....

btw another thing to note on smax ..i feel the gearbox is a bit slow in response in some cases

Good choice. In fact, read a review somewhere that Galaxy drives better than SMax.

Love my Galaxy.

Bought it 6 months ago, but sigh, COE has dropped so has price.

But the savings in diesel makes up for the extra road tax. Oso depends on the type of car. My tip: if SUV, gotta go turbo diesel to reap the max fuel savings + extra torque to move the big thing around briskly (try driving the XC90 2.5T petrol n you'll know - sibei underpowered). If small hatchback, dun bother - juz stick to petrol. [;)]