Gtti Neutral Newbie December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 i always feel that i've been always keepin a very safe distance from the cars infront. My dad was a very much more cautious driver than me. Whenever he sits into my car, he always warns me to slow down for the car infront(when it was like 4~5 car length away) when i'm travelling at arnd 40kph.. It was only until one day when i was following behind my friend's car by arnd also 4~5 car lengths.. the traffic light infront suddenly turns Amber, while i was trying to notice whether there's any red-light cams along the roadside... When i looked back to front, my friend E Brake unexpectedly, although he would normally dashes across ambers.. I was lucky to brake in time. I tink it was another 2 to 3 cm, that i could have crash into him.. Well, I've finally understand why my dad has been warning me all those times... Lesson has been learnt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 those who do not signal worst than them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 Simple........ cos to them, it's still daytime. Nevermind the dark clouds etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 Some might have forgotten all about it . . . i do turn on my lights during heavy downpours or when is darken by rain . . . this evening very big downpour travelling along BKE towards PIE direction certain stretch really cannot see far ahead and some cars never on their headlights made it difficult to spot them when trying to change lanes esp when the rain droplets made my side mirror useless as cannot really see the car only can see headlights (if they were on) i was travelling along BKE towards SLE(wlds/sembawang) this evening too and the rain was super duper heavy. some idiots just refused to on the headlights. personally i on my headlight and my fog light cuz my headlight is slightly white while fog light is the stock yellowish one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear December 11, 2007 Share December 11, 2007 and yes..instead of switching on their headlights during heavy downpour, there are idiots who choosed to on their high beam during the night. encountered at least 5 -6 of them tonight within abt 30km travelled.(m/cycle, car, van..) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gtti Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 i've observed sometimes at night, some cars did not even On their headlights too. and Most of these cars c/w the Optitron meter box...lit up when engine is started(regradless of headlight condition). perhaps this had mis-lead them into tinkin that they have aledy turned on their headlights liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 bring on the flood man!!!!! how come got no flood nowadays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Edix73 Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 got floods la..all mini floods..not worth mentioning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 i've observed sometimes at night, some cars did not even On their headlights too. and Most of these cars c/w the Optitron meter box...lit up when engine is started(regradless of headlight condition). perhaps this had mis-lead them into tinkin that they have aledy turned on their headlights liao.. ================= its possible bro....esp if it is not their car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 Yalor some car headlight is white and rain also white Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 i was travelling along BKE towards SLE(wlds/sembawang) this evening too and the rain was super duper heavy. some idiots just refused to on the headlights. personally i on my headlight and my fog light cuz my headlight is slightly white while fog light is the stock yellowish one. ========== my car fog light i thk only used for less than 5 times....all becos of the nonsense ambiguous fog light rule.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wave_rider Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 I always on my Van Headlight when it rains (including Drizzle) It's not about when i can see the road infront but making my vehicle be seen by others Headlight on is a compulsary feature on Motorbikes. Been riding since 2001 and also can't understand why some folks chose to off Headlight on bikes ?? I suggest to do a Feedback on that QX vehicle (failure to set good example on the road) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 we are different?? we also got arms and legs... i think different mentality lah i think they want their bulbs to last longer lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear December 12, 2007 Author Share December 12, 2007 When to switching on headlights during rain or darken conditions is very subjective.My personal rule of thumb is that when I begin to ask myself this question for the road condition at that time, I just turn on the lights. As for turning on the lights in the tunnel, I had one bad experience in China which made me turn on the headlights regardless of time. I was in a taxi travelling through a 1km tunnel. It was brightly lit when we went in. Suddenly, the tunnel lights went off due to a power trip and the tunnel was completely thrown into darkness. The thing that saved us from crashing to each other is the headlights of some cars that were turned on. Believe me, you dun want to drive through a tunnel at 80km/h when the tunnel lights suddenly go off. i guess that is the reason why they want us to turn on the headlights when inside the tunnels. just in case of blackout in the tunnel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 they dun understand that even if their lives cost 5cents, other road users' lives are priceless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 agree. that happens to me once and a kind driver used hand signal to tell me. from then onwards, never happens. there are tell tale signs that head lights not on even when meter box is lighted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 nothing more idiot than switching on hazard lights when raining. they thought they are smart, but actually causing more hazard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 12, 2007 Share December 12, 2007 Besides that, i always turn-on headlight when i am driving IN or OUT of MSCP....most of them are very dark....others can see you coming ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...