Refrigerator

Kieran1975

just check with one of the shop and a 400+L japan model (not made in japan) will cost ard 900++. They recommend me a LG model GRM 562 at $800. Is it Good?

They told me a MADE IN JAPAN Refrigerator will cost me at least $1500 or more for 400+L.

so should i settle for a japan brand but made in malaysia or a made in korea brand....

Edited by Kieran1975

to know if it is rotary screw and the SE is clueless, just check the rear base of the fridge. if the compressor is long cylindrical with both conical ends horizontal, tat is rotary screw. if the conical is sitting vertical and big roundish, then is normal type.

U will regret it... any fridge cost less than 1.3K is CMI ....

Simple as that....

Stinge on initial payment ..later after a few years need to replace again...

and like cars .. idiot users will have the fridge screwed up before it's time.... seen many idiots who FLUSH the back of the fridge to the wall... idiots

Same for anything that has been made in one country for many years and then uprooted elsewhere.

Can happen for Singapore -> China, Japan -> Thailand, Germany -> South Africa, Poland -> Turkey etc.

I think you brought up a valid point in that no matter how good or how much one pays for something, if it is not installed, used or maintained properly, it will definitely not live to its maximum lifespan.

sanyo seems to make gd fridge in the early 90s as mine is more than 15yrs old,but they do cost more back then compared to other brands.The only part tat is not so gd now is the torn rubber thingy at the door,anyone noes who can replace it [hur]

yep... glad u see my point....

Number one rule for fridge..

Leave pleanty of ventilation ...and clean up the grill twice a year ... oil the fan ...once a year

u can use it for MINIMUM 12 years

My house Ariston refrigerator 'up lorry' liao.....

Has been using it for ard 7 years....

So now need a replacement...

any shop , brand and model can recommend?

budget ard $700-$800.

Thanks.

Been a faithful user of Samsung freezer...my set is into 8 years old...still going very strong...And am not a ''soft user''...I abuse it (not kinky stuff hor)....Who dare to said Korean stuff is no good...think again pls... btw...my freezer cost below $1K....

Edited by Application9999

just check with one of the shop and a 400+L japan model (not made in japan) will cost ard 900++. They recommend me a LG model GRM 562 at $800. Is it Good?

They told me a MADE IN JAPAN Refrigerator will cost me at least $1500 or more for 400+L.

so should i settle for a japan brand but made in malaysia or a made in korea brand....

=========================

I had a Kelvinator(Made in Philippines) which lasted me abt 14 years. Now I changed to a Samsung. Cost abt $800 for abt 400lit capacity.

I guess if this fridge can last me 10 years, I wil b happy. The only problem when I change fridge is to get 1 with similar dimensions as the previous 1 cos otherwise it wont fit in the space in the kitchen. [:/] That was a challenge to get as big as possible at the best price. [bigcry]

Most Jap brand fridges r not made in Japan anymore cos of the cost. Koreans sud b ok but now not all Korean brands r made in Korea anymore.

U will regret it... any fridge cost less than 1.3K is CMI ....

Simple as that....

Stinge on initial payment ..later after a few years need to replace again...

and like cars .. idiot users will have the fridge screwed up before it's time.... seen many idiots who FLUSH the back of the fridge to the wall... idiots

Flush to wall not the worst. i have seen wooden frames being built all round the fridge to make it have the "built-in" look. and it's an ordinary fridge, not a built-in model. poor fridge....must be having really bad ventilation.

Pretty thanks for your comment. I called up mayer marketing... they can tell me on the phone that pretty sure its compressor down, need to replace cost 400+ as it just out of warranty Ask other repair shop, say they dun repair ariston brand. so whats next ?