FYI. In-Vehicle Unit (IU)

Galantspeedz

Case: My IU spoilt, called LTA, told got 5yr warranty period. My car registered in July'02 so possible that IU may or may not be under warranty. Told LTA CSO to check, CSO check and came back to me, said OIC of IU say my IU expire in 2003..!!!! [sweatdrop]

Means? Car register in 2002 and they fit in a 4yr old IU and tell you say anything after 5yr warranty, you got to pay for repairs? [:/]

Awaiting call from LTA office OIC but most likely i must call them instead. CSO refuse to give me name of OIC.

So guys, when buy carm especially new car pls check your IU warranty till when hor...

wah like dat got chance my IU also old liao.been having prob wif it.must insert cashcard a few times for it to read.some cashcard cant even read.n my car is only 2yrs+.

jialat la like den.den going thru erp gantry how?...i even bought a new cashcard thinking my card faulty.but de new one was worst.cant even read.at least old card try a few times den can.dis sat mayb go for iu inspection.wil they change on de spot if find it faulty?

Try rubbing the chip on the card and then re-insert again.

Sometimes, it is the contamination which hinders the reading.

Works for me all the time.

PI. but the problem is LTA should ensure all new cars be fitted with new IU.

It is after a requirement from the govt... and LTA itself to have the IU mah

don work for me all de time.. [laugh] i can rub till genie come out also cant read.de iu really c0ck up already.sometimes insert once can liao.sometimes insert until tomrw also cannot.

the fact they fitted a old IU means they short change u. but this is a problem btwn LTA and the car supplier mah. if this old IU is fitted with full knowledge and permission of LTA, then LTA has to take full blunt of the warranty as if they has agreed and accept it is.

u sud not pay.

if no warranty i tink abt $100+ rite?...i wont pay la!mayb call back dealer n screw them up.even my 3yrs car warranty not over..how can IU which is to hv 5yrs warranty b expired.

LTA will tell u IU, like tyres perhaps, are requirement but owner's responsibility. frown.gif

I suspect mine is not new also ...

It's not fair to point finger at LTA as it is not by law that IU must be new on new cars.

It is a matter of contract between buyer and seller.