Rocker Neutral Newbie January 21, 2008 Author Share January 21, 2008 Her car was full body length inside of the lot. I would have stop to let her complete the parking but she reversed all the way in already...then all of a sudden she decided to move forward to re-adjust have you considered stopping your car for any driver to complete their parking before driving through to anticipate that they will pull a stunt like you have described..........., how long will it take waiting, a few minutes ..maybe?? I normally do... this is call defensive driving..... and it will not make you angry too.... and while waiting, you can laugh at yourself and call whatever names you can think of for the driver that try to vertical park...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 (edited) We are forever young..... in our hearts that is Correct terms or not..... just leave it to the person describing it lor... In the schools, in their books and to some others, they refer it as "reverse parking". And to some others, they refer to it as "vertical parking".... so let's just leave at that.... since we are talking about the same thing, though initially the poster before me in the other thread was trying to say what I had describe earlier...... Edited January 21, 2008 by Wanderer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 (edited) not parallel park....vertical ah!!! And she just moved her car forward without noticing that my car is just in front. How blind can she be ?? Maybe she need special permit to drive hey, not only i used the term vertical parking leh... maybe both of us wrong?? or wanderer should go re-study his basic theory? Dan if u park head-in it'll be call what? Horizontal parking? It's either parking head-in or reverse parking. It's not a new term. It has been around for ages. Maybe u should re-take your basic theory. I didn't know there are so many astronauts in sg doing vertical take-offs and parking. Edited January 21, 2008 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nohnemwan 1st Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 Before you tell others what the correct terminology is, you should check what it REALLY is. It is not called parking head-in or reverse parking. In the context used, the correct terminology to use is perpendicular parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 yeah, i agree, we forever young at heart. even at 70 we wont mind driving a lambo if we can afford Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 But what is it perpendicular to? if Sapace is wrap then there is not straight line.. and if albert is correct then the parking is actually to a curvature in the space time media. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starsaaa Neutral Newbie January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 Bro, its ok la but now usually I give and take sometimes they re in the wrong but quickly I will forget maybe because my wife also going to be on the road , ironically with my pumped up wish but i wonder whether she could take the car safely to one destination to the other as the dimensions is different from a seden.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 Perpendicular to the kerb or watever is stopping lor.... be it a line etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Missyjas Neutral Newbie January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 well not all lady drivers are like tat.. unless u guys can be so sure tat guys' awareness are always there? not only ladies but guys do make mistakes too.. those guy drivers who thought they're 'lacer' or busy wif something else n nv check their blindspot or look out for other vehicles, like tat means their awareness also not so gd? if the concentration n alertness is used on something else, the awareness of the driver ard the car therefore wont be there. if the driver was a guy instead of the the lady, would u have make the same post n say tat guys' awareness is not tat gd too? Peace for both sexes n enjoy ur driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorco 2nd Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 wait till u see them drive out without bothering if u are infront. kana once before. end up 50 50 case. NCB lost time wasted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victorco 2nd Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 never take things for granted. use your horn u paid for it. a light tap will do just to inform that driver u are moving. or wait till u see "IT" shiok liao then move. u never know when they will wan to re-park the car again. some pple are funny ever meet a driver never even wan to wat for me to clear she just drive out from the lot even with half my car infront end up 50 50 case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Missyjas Neutral Newbie January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 sometimes we should look out for cars tat are coming out from the lot too. but if ur car is infront of them n yet they still drive out, then they can declare blinded liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Missyjas Neutral Newbie January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 as for tis type, treat it as training up ur patience lor. wait for her to finish parking then move off or wait for her to show tat u can move off first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 (edited) not parallel park....vertical ah!!! And she just moved her car forward without noticing that my car is just in front. How blind can she be ?? Maybe she need special permit to drive =================== Maybe someone told her when drive must anticipate ahead of time so she is just doing that. She look behind while moving forward & she look in front while reversing. But I do notice something. Many women have great difficulty in parking a car. I think it cud have something to do with which side of the brain they tend to use more. Or if they use their brain at all when parking. BTW, did u notice if she had a handicap logo on her car? If not physical handicap, maybe she has a mental handicap? Edited January 21, 2008 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 Today also kena, this black toyota rush nv stop at stop line to watch for coming traffic before move off. I need to jam brake for her even i have right of way. Some more the young gal can look at me as if i at fault. After tat outside the road, i travelling beside her, den she wanna cut into my lane despite i beside her, instead of slowing down or wait for the right time to cut, this rush wanna cut straight away. Den she realise i nv give way to her she go back to her lane. After tat give me a few horn behind. To them they only know the very very basic of traffic rules such as green light can move off, red light stop. The rest like right of ways, cutting lane etc its all according to their own theory and rules. =================== Maybe she is some spoilt brat who is always used to getting her way. So she also bring that attitude on the road with her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 I was driving my car into the carpark of Woodlands swimming complex and was travelling like 20-30km/h. About 20m infront of my car was a wish driven by a lady driver. She was trying to vertical park her car into a lot. She was in the lot already and my car was heading pass her when suddenly she step on gas and her car started to move forward. She almost hit the driver's side door of my car and I have to sway to avoid being hit. I stopped my car and was expecting her to apologize but all I get was a simple wave and she continued to try to park her car like nothing serious happened. I wonder how could someone drive a car forward without looking in front with at least a vision of 60-70 degree. Is she did then she should have noticed that there was a car moving across and she should wait. Give up! When I parked my car, I notice next to me was another lady driver trying to veritcal park into a lot. But this lot is actually a motorcycle lot and she probably didn't notice it ( how I don't know as it was very obvious) I tap my horn to warn her to avoid be summon a ticket...i tapped once...she never noticed...i tapped another time and still the same. The I sounded the horn and still no reaction from her. Mind you, she was just next to my car and she was so focused to parking than she didn't notice my horn and also all the people around her car looking at her and wondering why she is trying to park in motorcycle lot when the car park was pretty empty. I GIVE UP!!!!!!!!! Females spatial awareness is not so good. In the caveman days, man is expected to hunt so our genetic build-up has good spatial awareness that aid us in hunting. Women just need to plant veggies around the cave, so their spatial awareness is poorer. ================= I tot those cave women were more for re-population purposes only? To re-populate their lost mates who got killed while out hunting dinosaurs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 not parallel park....vertical ah!!! And she just moved her car forward without noticing that my car is just in front. How blind can she be ?? Maybe she need special permit to drive hey, not only i used the term vertical parking leh... maybe both of us wrong?? or wanderer should go re-study his basic theory? Dan if u park head-in it'll be call what? Horizontal parking? It's either parking head-in or reverse parking. It's not a new term. It has been around for ages. Maybe u should re-take your basic theory. I didn't know there are so many astronauts in sg doing vertical take-offs and parking. ============================= If a guy puts it "head in" then it's called farking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 21, 2008 Share January 21, 2008 well not all lady drivers are like tat.. unless u guys can be so sure tat guys' awareness are always there? not only ladies but guys do make mistakes too.. those guy drivers who thought they're 'lacer' or busy wif something else n nv check their blindspot or look out for other vehicles, like tat means their awareness also not so gd? if the concentration n alertness is used on something else, the awareness of the driver ard the car therefore wont be there. if the driver was a guy instead of the the lady, would u have make the same post n say tat guys' awareness is not tat gd too? Peace for both sexes n enjoy ur driving. =========================== Wah So chim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...