Sedan or hatchback

Strawberrypink

Sedan or hatchback  

96 members have voted

1. 1.

• sedan
    • hatchback

[reply]

Precisely what I thought when I saw this thread. Most ppl have the perception that a sedan offers a better boot space when it is not necessarily true. A hatchback with folddown rear seats offers a HUGE boot space. Many sedans nowadays oso comes with limited boot space and with the fixed rear panel, even some models with the rear seats folded down cannot offer the space.

But if considering a vehicle for a typical family (i.e. Dad, Mom, Child + Maid?), a sedan would offer more boot space for outings. wink.gif

hatchback definitely look [thumbsup]

but i think you need the boot space for family use... [:/]

Edited by Bugts

some i considered and like

1. suzuki swift

2. mitsubishi colt

3. mazda 2

but i'm pretty confused over the whole paper value omv depreciation calculation

all those figures like insurance n stuff i see liao head big...

When I was considering the Latio, I was torn between sedan and HB too.

HB:

Chio-er (at least for the Latio)

But more ex

less boot space

boot not totally enclosed (more susceptible to theft as there are slits in the cloth cover & smell from boot can seep into the main cabin)

Sedan

Damn f***ing ugly [laugh]

But got bigger boot

boot space fully enclosed

rear seats not foldable but when was the last time I bought a big item from Ikea? Scratch head....not recently and if it is a big item, I prefer professionals assemble them as I don't have the necessary tools

If suay kenna buang at the backside, at least got kar chng tahan some shock

And most importantly, $3k cheaper

I guess pragmatism won in the end. [laugh] And no regrets.

Precisely what I thought when I saw this thread. Most ppl have the perception that a sedan offers a better boot space when it is not necessarily true. A hatchback with folddown rear seats offers a HUGE boot space. Many sedans nowadays oso comes with limited boot space and with the fixed rear panel, even some models with the rear seats folded down cannot offer the space.

That's when you don't have to drive your family around. Imagine a family of 4, needs to bring pram, car seat, and picnic basket, other barang. The sedan still offer better boot space in this scenario. And this scenario is a daily affair for a family man like me.

For once in blue moon affair like ikea shopping, then agree with you hatchback offer bigger space when folded.

do u guys know of any nice hatchback manual cars?

somewhere priced at about 50K plus?

i'm looking ard doing homework b4 hitting down to showrooms...

Fit RS 1.5M

Suzuki Swift sport 1.6M

Colt Ralliart 1.5M ..... [nod][nod]

Yeah. It is possible to pack a foldable table or 29" CRT TV in a hatchback car.
I ever place a 32" LCD TV in my old civic hatch with ample space left before! [thumbsup]

[reply]

But if considering a vehicle for a typical family (i.e. Dad, Mom, Child + Maid?), a sedan would offer more boot space for outings. wink.gif

My colleague just collected his Golf GTi on thurs. I would say the boot space is decent enough with quite good legspace for rear passengers.

But of course HBs like Fit, Getz, Swift and the infamous QQ is practically Boot'less.

But a good compromise for a 'hatch' would be a wagon like Forester, Legacy GT, or the new Corolla Fielder. And if you dun mind a MPV look, the Airwave and Colt Plus are quite decent.