Malie Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 hey bro happy new year hur hur hur! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 (edited) If you dun mind older model, the old lancer 1.6 is quite a decent car. I am inclined towards sedan because of the boot space. You can sit 5, and yet have the boot to put stuff. You can argue that hatchback can fold the rear seat down to create more space, but then you can only sit 2 now. I guess 80% of the time you dun transport heavy bulky items... at most u do a lot of grocery shoppings of many small bags which sedan boot can easily take care of it. So, the choice is still a sedan. But if you choose a HB purely because u like it, then nothing to say liao Latio HB boot quite big even without folding down the rear seat... you can consider..... Edited February 5, 2008 by Gantan88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 hmmm thanks. another one to consider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jesse Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 Hi there, my is skoda. can consider this car as it's a hatch. Nice handling and comfort ride plus big boot space Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 ok, will go have a look thanks thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 some i considered and like 1. suzuki swift 2. mitsubishi colt 3. mazda 2 but i'm pretty confused over the whole paper value omv depreciation calculation all those figures like insurance n stuff i see liao head big... i will take mazda2 among the 3... but take the new mazda2 hor, not the old one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 yeah def. new one looks sexier lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 definately a lady car i muz say.... SWEE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 same to u bro..happy new yr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 i thk depends on wat car u looking at, some models jus look better in sedan (eg) IMO the Mz3. for me im a sedan person anytime....bt my first car is a hatchback, zippy, easy to park but storage space very limited. and for hdb mscp, u may hv to park at the other side (the open air side) if u wan open the boot... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 6, 2008 Author Share February 6, 2008 yeap yeap looking ard. its still juz window shopping phase now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naresh 1st Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 (edited) some i considered and like 1. suzuki swift 2. mitsubishi colt 3. mazda 2 but i'm pretty confused over the whole paper value omv depreciation calculation all those figures like insurance n stuff i see liao head big... By any chance, have you test driven any of the cars above? Would be great if you could share your opinion. I too am window shopping, and considering the same 3 options. Edited February 6, 2008 by Naresh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 6, 2008 Author Share February 6, 2008 hahaha ok sure sure let me know if u did the same too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 planning to get a car for family use(hopefully b4 the month of may despite the increase of erp and all) pref manual transmission... hatchback would be my option.... are u driving a hatchback or a sedan? which would u prefer? =============================== Neither. I drive a wagon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear February 6, 2008 Share February 6, 2008 planning to get a car for family use(hopefully b4 the month of may despite the increase of erp and all) pref manual transmission... hatchback would be my option.... are u driving a hatchback or a sedan? which would u prefer? I prefer wagon...... ================= Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naresh 1st Gear February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 (edited) Well, I have test driven the Mazda2 1.5 R(A) & Suzuki Swift 1.5(A). I am a first time car buyer so please do bear that in mind that my comments may not be as comprehensive due on my limited experience. But, here it is anyway... 1. The interior for both Mazda 2 & Suzuki Swift were good (if you don't compare it to continental cars), and all nicely screwed together. If I were to choose between the two, it would have to be the Mazda 2. Mazda 2 has iPod connector (missing in Swift) and the compartments and storage space seem to be better designed when compared to the Swift. Also, the Mazda 2 R(A) has 6-CD changer. The Mazda 2 V(A) has single CD player like Swift. Both had steering audio control. 2. The boot for Mazda 2 was clearly more spacious and lot more practical, a definite plus for Mazda 2. 3. With regards to the drive itself, both had very good visibility and seating position. While the steering for both Mazda 2 and Swift provided ample feedback, Mazda 2's steering felt lighter when compared to Swift. I preferred Swift's steering as it had a very assuring feel, specially when turning. Madza 2's steering was accurate but that assuring feel was missing. Mazda 2 was however a lot more peppy when compared to the Swift. The acceleration for Mazda 2 was noticably better, specially at lower speed. Swift on the other hand felt little slower, but more refined. You could floor the accelerator, and the engine noise for Swift would not be as harsh as Mazda 2. If I had to choose between the two based on the drive, it would be the swift... I guess this essentially is personal preference. 4. Last month Swift was currently selling for S$54K if you take a with bank loan, and S$56K without bank loan (the prices have dropped by S$1-2K since then). It includes leather seats, reverse sensor, 15" sports rims, side mirrors with indicator. Mazda 2 R(A) was selling for S$55K if you take at least 7-year bank loan, and S$59K without bank loan. Mazda 2 V(A) was selling for S$53K if you take at least 7-year bank loan, and S$57K without bank loan. Yup... the S$4K difference is due to in-house finance subsidy. There is no 1-2 year loan option that Suzuki has. For Mazda 2 R(A) 16" sports rims are included and V(A) 15" sports rims. Leather seats and solar film is not included. Tough decisions... Edited February 7, 2008 by Naresh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cefiro_dude Neutral Newbie February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 (edited) I believe they have a manual version. Unfortunately its only 1k cheaper than the auto. Edited February 7, 2008 by cefiro_dude Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 7, 2008 Share February 7, 2008 Yes, Mazda 2 has a spacious cabin but it doesn't seem to come with a manual version and its FC is not that outstanding. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...