Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 planning to get a car for family use (hopefully b4 the month of may despite the increase of erp and all) pref manual transmission... hatchback would be my option.... are u driving a hatchback or a sedan? which would u prefer? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 When I bought my car, also face the same issue. Though I prefer the look of hatcback, but for family, i.e. need to put baby pram, child car seat, picnic basket, etc boot space was important. Hence went for the sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 hmmm my family are my dad, mom and i true oso coz sometimes when my parents need to buy stuff, need to consider the space for storage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 I like hatchbacks, for contis like Focus, Astra, C4, 147, 307, Golf and etc. As for Japanese there are Mz3, new Impreza and maybe some PI options. I excluded small car category for family size. I dun include wagons or estates also cos different cat. But I need to use the boot so no choice gotto stick with sedan. For safety,eg. rear impact, sedan is a better choice for some ppl. I think if given choice on my next ride I'll choose a hatchback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 generally i feel hatchback is nicer. but there are some ugly ones and some nice sedan. but then coupe is still my preference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 At 1st was considering the hatchback version when i was getting my Mz3 which i feel is chio-er but in the end settle for the sedan as need boot space and also hatchback version boh climate aircon & passsenger air bag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2IQyYLr-1240.html best of both worlds..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 (edited) do u guys know of any nice hatchback manual cars? somewhere priced at about 50K plus? i'm looking ard doing homework b4 hitting down to showrooms... Edited February 5, 2008 by Strawberrypink Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 auto leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 I have this impression that sedan provides better cushioning for rear passengers in the event of an accident from behind. Safety-wise, I would look for a sedan. Storage-wise, I would choose a hatch-back, especially the ones with foldable backseats. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 Sedan would be good if the owner wants to install 2 CNG tanks in the boot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strawberrypink Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Author Share February 5, 2008 yeah impact for sedan cars are lesser den hatchback..... sighz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 Then the boot space boh ki liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 tiptronic mah......... the sound of open pod n turbo engine is music it is GT leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paikia_rav Neutral Newbie February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 Precisely what I thought when I saw this thread. Most ppl have the perception that a sedan offers a better boot space when it is not necessarily true. A hatchback with folddown rear seats offers a HUGE boot space. Many sedans nowadays oso comes with limited boot space and with the fixed rear panel, even some models with the rear seats folded down cannot offer the space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 planning to get a car for family use(hopefully b4 the month of may despite the increase of erp and all) pref manual transmission... hatchback would be my option.... are u driving a hatchback or a sedan? which would u prefer? I prefer wagon...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 Yeah. It is possible to pack a foldable table or 29" CRT TV in a hatchback car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear February 5, 2008 Share February 5, 2008 do u guys know of any nice hatchback manual cars? somewhere priced at about 50K plus? i'm looking ard doing homework b4 hitting down to showrooms... Honda Jazz. Its a versatile and fuel efficient hatchback. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...