Are there any valid reasons WHY ONE should NOT buy a CAR in sillypore

Meecar

owning A CAR is expensive in sillypore and it suck one dry

no pleasure in driving in sillypore too many traffic lines

maximum speed 90km/h +/- 10km/h

to many ERP ... beep beep beep

salary does not commeasurate with car price

80% of people buying car may be staying in HDB ... so car doors have plenty of lobang

anymore reasons

oh just our of curiosity why these civil servants and ministers cannot be driving or be driven in a wish or proton salah since it from the tax payers money

they often have tp escort so how to get accident (if excuse is given that big conti car are safer)

CIVIL SERVANT and MINISTER ARE OUR COUNTRY CEO / TOP EXECUTIVE. Do you expect a big mnc company ceo/chairman to be ferried in proton saga or toyota wish. I have repeatedly ask myself this question as well. Granted that for pride and dignity, they should be given a proper good car as to reflect to foreigner that we are not third world countries. The main thing i can come to term is that why army general has to be ferried in Mercedes or Audi ??? does that reflect that our defence force is stronger ???

Even third world coutries politicians drive much better cars than a wish/proton [laugh]

the world's greatest investor has no driver and drives an old car

he happens to be the chairman of Berk ....

Got $$$ buy car. No $$$ use BMW. Simple as that. There is no reason why one should not buy car if one can afford. Why lamenting on car cost issue when you should spend time thinking of how to reach the top ranking income earners here so to be able to own cars here anytime you wish. It is just another jungle out there....survival of the fittest.

yes survival of the fittest

the question is not whether we can or cannot afford to own a car in sillypore

but the question is why should we own a car in sillypore

where is sillypore now and where sillypore will be in 5 10 years time with respect to transportation

in Hong kong yes you may own a car but it will take you longer to find a parking space than getting to your decision in CBD so owning a car is not a good option

there are many different types of transportation in Hong kong especailly the mini buses which are so well connected to many housing estates

so the point actually is

if our sillypore transport system (that is) public transport is not seamless than many would still need a car

i do have have a car too but i rather not use it if i can

but at the same time it becomes increasingly difficult to maintain a car but the public transport has not improved very much

so in the end why malboro just instead co sign my bank account and take money out when he wants to rather than directly and indirectly taxed me this way

i m no [angel] leh bro... how cud i help him?

you can help me by posting more constructive comments and not destructive comments

80% of people buying car may be staying in HDB ... so car doors have plenty of lobang

anymore reasons

oh just our of curiosity why these civil servants and ministers cannot be driving or be driven in a wish or proton salah since it from the tax payers money

they often have tp escort so how to get accident (if excuse is given that big conti car are safer)

Well..... sell your house and live in one of this... [sly][sly]

i had a similar idea not too many years ago

I wanted to buy into raffles marina club and buy a boat and stay there but it is too far

then ponggol marina club came and went

i bought into many years ago pinetree club in steven roads

the f& b really good especailly the japanese restaurant

but then some stupid guy destroy the club and and not be re-sold

this made me weary of country club as an investment tool because the transfer fees make it not worth it

most people on public transport don t take cab to that extent - its extragavant.

if thats the case then car will be better off. but i seriously doubt that with the activities you mention spend only $250 on petrol unless its a kelisa giving you 17km/l.

end of the day each to his own, car improves the quality of life but i find that its a high price pay.

before i drove i got by with less than $100 a month on public transport and take cab only once a month or so.

So if we don't take cab in the morning, we'll have to take a feeder bus, change to Mrt & change to another feeder bus.

School requires students to reach before 7.15am, to do that, what time do we need to wake up in the morning?

Yishun to AMK maybe only ~12km apart, takes around 20 min to reach by car, try using the public transport, that will be at least 45 min. Meaning we have to wake up latest by 6am, be at the bus stop before 6.30am. Carry our own bags, kid's school bag and a sleepy 5 year old. Try doing that when it rains. By the way, for 4 person to take feeder + mrt+ feeder = ~$6. It isn't that cheap either.

Try repeating that every day for years.

Leave home before 6.30am and reached after 9pm EVERYDAY.

No wonder high blood pressure is one of the common disease in SG.

By the way, before I have children, I also take public transport from Yishun to Dover. I don't mind reaching home late.

But with school going kids, I would like to reach home as early as possible so that I can coach them in their school work.

Edited by Mummypenguin

The saving is not much instead 200k for now will worth only 100k 20yrs later. Now is still a good time to buy not like last time, haven't start using the car u had already paid 50k for COE ,and now is u paid as u use .

some people dont get you and you have explain it well

reasons why one should not buy a car(even if got the money):

1. when public transport is easy (if i live next to mrt station)

2. if have kids, they study in school nearby or can ownself take bus

3. grocery? i buy everything at the nearby market or store down stairs

4. weekend i go to shopping mall in heartlands within walking distance

reasons why one should buy a car:

1. 90% of the population does not meet the above 4 reasons.

I rather use that amount of money to enjoy [drivingcar] . Got so much money die liao also cannot bring in. Must well enjoy on the way [lipsrsealed] .

the problem is when you old old also cannot die than what is there to enjoy

by that time your car COE has expired many times over

maybe we should hightlight this malboro tan

by the way please do not get me wrong

BUT i get this uncomfortable feeling that

you and spiders done exactly get along well

That is also assuming only 1 person is using the car. an example:

family stays in yishun, kids studying in amk so that grandparentcan take care of kids after school. Both parents working near dover.

If taking public transport:

Morning (6.30am) take cab from yishun to AMK ~ $16. If need to call cab, another few $.

Take bus-mrt-bus to office(reach 9am) in dover for 2 person ~$7

Repeat the same thing in the evening (leave office at 6pm reach home 9pm) and that will be $46. Multiply that by 22 working days = $1012 per month.

If drive:

Morning leave home at 6.45am, reach office 8am.

Evening leave office at 6pm, reach home 7.30pm.

Monthly petrol ~ $250, parking $65, insurance $50, road tax $100, installment $500, misc $100 = $1065 per month. office free parking, don't need to pass thru erp.

For that $100 more per month, can drive parents to see doctor,buy groceries, get to office dry when raining, drive out during weekends.

I think it is worth it.

YOU forget that car depreciates about 10-15% per year

quarterly servicing

anymore reasons

CIVIL SERVANT and MINISTER ARE OUR COUNTRY CEO / TOP EXECUTIVE. Do you expect a big mnc company ceo/chairman to be ferried in proton saga or toyota wish. I have repeatedly ask myself this question as well. Granted that for pride and dignity, they should be given a proper good car as to reflect to foreigner that we are not third world countries. The main thing i can come to term is that why army general has to be ferried in Mercedes or Audi ??? does that reflect that our defence force is stronger ???

Even third world coutries politicians drive much better cars than a wish/proton [laugh]

the world's greatest investor has no driver and drives an old car

he happens to be the chairman of Berk ....

He's hates to drive simple as that. So i guess he's ur idol? [laugh]

Honestly, if costs are managed about 1k a mth, its quite ok for the newly weds or small families. Lets just say, a normal jap car.

If don't need car, best is don't buy. [idea]

some people dont get you and you have explain it well[/reply]

Sorry my bad england, too short and not sharp.

My point is buy now and dun think too much, oil price can be 3 buck next time.

If value of money won't drop after 20yrs then better save it.

The charges for car usage is more transparent now compare to period with high COE.

i m no [angel] leh bro... how cud i help him?

you can help me by posting more constructive comments and not destructive comments

err which are my comments are destructive har?