Silhoutte Clutched February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Good one! A picture speaks a thousand words, or rather in this case, the main word itself! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 ST also bor pian. it's their job to champion gahmen policies. the press is subordinate to the gahmen, as our dear LKY, no less, once said the only way is to express ur displeasure officially, every 5 yrs. never mind that the dark side is not very capable, yadda yadda. if keep giving u-know-who strong mandate, that's like bending over and asking them to screw u. for those who like to be rear-ended, i respect their choice. but i have absolutely no respect for anyone who votes white due to job concerns (civil servant) or because voting slips are serialised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyreboy Neutral Newbie February 28, 2008 Author Share February 28, 2008 i already showed them during the last election...vote for the opposition...happy to hear the results that the gahmen achieve only 66.6%..immediately you can see PM face turn black on the TV.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 talk n talk also no use. The problem is inherent despite what n how much is talked. In any organisation where decision making is skewed, one-sided n decided without counter challenges, these can often lead to some bad decisions. You get the idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Rally is centralised in one location whereas voting day the crowd is divided among the polling stations..how is it possible to have huge crowds gathering on voting day? What I meant is where are the votes? From outsider point of view, the rallys gives the impression that majority are opposition supporters. No one wants to attend a PAP rally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Today ST has 3 pages of B*S* to justify the GST raise. They don't even admit that GST is part of high inflation and giving the impression that they are giving out more than that they collect from GST. pui!!! LOL...isnt GST = price hike = direct inflation? $1 >> $1.07 . My grandma also know Lets talk cars. a $100,000 car >>> u pay extra $7,000(was $5,000 before). Our press are 'controlled' by the garmen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Today ST has 3 pages of B*S* to justify the GST raise. They don't even admit that GST is part of high inflation and giving the impression that they are giving out more than that they collect from GST. pui!!! Those pages makes me really sian. They never gives a satisfactory answer. Still don't want to admit their mistake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 lets set up a MCF opposition party Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 Not just don't admit mistake. When WP questioned them and reminded the House that they have pointed out the budget is sufficient to not warrant a GST rise, some MP came out with a stoopid demeaning story just to disparage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 (edited) usually from experience, people interested in politics one will attend opposition party rally, people not interested in politics will stay home, only people link to unions or govt owned companies will attend PAP rally. but of the people that interested in politics and attend opposition rally, they are repeat customers and spread out evenly over singapore*. That is to say, they are normally distributed and higher percentage not from the voting constituency of which the rally is being held. Also since they are repeat customers, they can be seen over the various opposition rallies in hougang, potong pasir, jalan besar, making the cumulative crowds (of all opposition rallies) looked big but in fact, one such attendee only have 1 vote. i tell you, it is the vote of the people that are not interested in politics that swung it to the ruling party's favour. and they stayed home all the while. * why they spread out evenly over singapore? you should know la, with their sublime boundary drawing skills, they will ensure most supporters of opposition are spread out evenly over singapore, or spreadout even within the same locality to different voting constituency or GRC. Edited February 28, 2008 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 I'm not a garmen fan; in fact, i love to have more hammer in garmen Despite the unpleasant pay and GST hike, Singapore has boomed over the last 3-4 years.. Many has benefited from stock markets, salary increment, better housing etc. Along with these goodies, also come inflation with/without GST hike. It's a global problem now. Singapore is the first to emerge from Asia Economic crisis; There will be F1 race in 2008, Youth Olympic in 2010 and soon, 2 Integrated Resorts etc.. All these will benefit Singaporeans esp the mid-lower income working tourism/retail jobs. Comparitively, Taiwan's economy did not grow much over the last 3 years and inflation is at all time high now.. 600+ bakery closed shop in Taiwan because of flour prices soared; 4 bakers commited suicide because of that. There are always individuals in garmen who don't deserve the pay or position.. But collectively the garmen is sound despite occasional failed policy and consistent arrogance/political monopoly. Every politician wants to make money; it's either openly or under-table. Will you choose Thaksin or Suharto over LHL? Think again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Santa Neutral Newbie February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 cannot stand the reports feature in all major newspapers...wah lau those MPs not shameful meh...acting like they fight for singaporeans like a crusader...helping singaporeans to voice out our concerns and then in the end like a dog say yes to their master...*pui* shedding fake crocodile tears...in the end money money come come to their pocket...i dun recall there is a report stating the PM "supposed" donating his salary hike to the charity as he declared last year...where is the transparency....look at the comments and expression of the MPs when they recieve a pay hike last year...none of them stand out and say that they dun deserve the pay hike and it is their responsibility to serve the public since they choose this path...all keep quiet and laughing all the way to banks... how much is current MP SALARY ??? used to be 10k a month Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 More Hammer. They cannot make it lah. Look at the case of Gomez. What a disgrace. Looks at where are the opposition when there is no election, all go back to their job and some not even in singapore. Like that how to serve singapore. I am not towards the pay and pay policy but by just looking at the hammer, enuff say. Only Mr Low and Slyvia Lee deserve my respect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 (edited) i choose thugsin. becos his dotter look cute and so huggable... ok, i mean i rather choose thugsin's dotter then some1 e;se's wife. ahem Edited February 28, 2008 by Apollo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 (edited) Sometimes I get very surprised with all this talk abt lack of opposition presence when there is no election. FYI, the WP party members conducts monthly walks-abts to reach out to residents in various constituencies if you are not aware(they can't be around in all wards but they have been going around in AMK, East Coast, Hougang, Aljunied, Marine Parade and etc)...Secondly, PAP MPs also nt any betta. Popping up to shake hands with residents and conduct their walk abouts in their respective wards only when there is election going on. Previously I stayed in West Coast GRC but I only saw MP Iswaran once in the last 5 yrs making his rounds and that was during GE campaigning. But I dun see pple raising this issue. When its opposition behaving like that, pple make noise. But when its PAP pple doing the same, pple keep quiet. I just dun understand, but that seems to be the mentality of many voters in Singapore..PAP can slack but opposition cannot.. Edited February 28, 2008 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Falc 3rd Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 True. But lately one MP Ong says the kopitiam uncles in his area also very much into politics leh, as they were asking him questions pertaining to health of PM etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 yup got lumor he went away for medical. but hor, lumor hor.. not tumor. dun any say, wait kena ISA arrest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged February 28, 2008 Share February 28, 2008 haha he say only ma, what they really ask him you don't know... for all you know, they may only ask him if government is giving hongbao or giving new singapore shares. They ask him because he MP and they interested in money. This type not considered interested in politics la. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...