Jems Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 I almost bought one. But the insurance cost was . My current financial situation did not allow me to make such a large outlay. So i went the safe route and bought a mazda 3. I kind of regret not buying it as it is a great car to drive. However practicality wins over desire. Hia... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 You are right. The celica interior layout and design are awesome. It was the same reason that ran in my friend's mind before he bought his celica. I bought one too. Interior wise and finishing, the rx-8 is pretty good too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Author Share March 20, 2008 how much was the insurance cost for the integra compared to the mazda3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jems Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 age: 30+ Integra before NCD 3K+ Mazda Before NCD 1.5K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 20, 2008 Author Share March 20, 2008 ooo...quite a huge difference... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie March 20, 2008 Share March 20, 2008 ur 3k is high 3 or low 3? GSR should be lower for age 30+ with some ncd, rite? Also, teg is a coupe. The insurance is bound to be high. Can't compare with a mazda 3 which is a 4 door. My friend bought the insurance for his celica ss1 m for about close to 2k. He is like 28 something and has no ncd. If you check with some of the guys (insurance agents) here, I think you can get a good quote. My ride's insurance is about 3k+. Its another performance ride. I also hesitated for a while. It was within my budget. But, the other thing I felt was that its a once in a lifetime sort of experience. Just enjoy and don't regret. Of course, try not to burn too big a hole in the wallet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jems Neutral Newbie March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 i was looking at 3.2 to 3.5K. I asked for a quotation as i was not sure of whether to buy. Guess i just got married and the house, reno, misc cost came into effect. So i did not want to stretch myself too thinly. I calculated on fixed cost, insurance, rd tax, dep and interest Mazda 3 monthly:$700 Integra monthly:$1100 Each year i save $4.8K. Can bring wife for overseas trip as we love travelling. Guess i looked back longingly at the car, but guess my instinct was that prudence is more important. To some they like to enjoy first, later then plan for the future. I like to plan for the future with some small luxuries that i can afford. Guess to each their own. Just giving some advice to bonjoey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Devilmaycry Neutral Newbie March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 gsr = local model 160bhp, distributed by Kah type s = pi jdm 160bhp type r = pi jdm 220bhp, manual only. Hmm,i thought Type S is 200bhp? Local gsr is much different from type S....type S is 2--hp stock, chassis and front rear lights same as type R no sunroof Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
T_orange Neutral Newbie March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 ur situation quite tight... If I had a wife like you, I would choose a regular 1.6 ride. Your wife lucky to have a husband like u. Honestly, if you are a bachelor, I would think that you would quite easily fall for the "dark side". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 I think I'll list everything to clarify once and for all... JDM Versions: Type S (K20A3) : 160bhp Type R (K20A): 220bhp Singapore Version: GSR (K20A3): 160bhp US Versions: RSX Base (K20A3): 160bhp RSX Type S (K20A2): 200bhp Engine wise, GSR and JDM Type S are exactly the same. But the Type S chassis is more common with the Type R. On the other hand, as the GSR is export version, the chassis is closer to the US RSX Base. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 22, 2008 Author Share March 22, 2008 i am thinking for a 2006 Integra....Ard say $71.8k.... i put down $31.8k downpayment..and loan 8 years for the remaining $40k at 4% interest.... using the loan calculator provided by sgcarmart...it works out to $550/mth.... first car....no NCD...at age 29, i guess my insurance also $3.2k? after all these calculations.....worth it anot financially, my bros??? disregard the view that "if u like it, its worth it" kinda logic...pure financially, worth it? paiseh...first car....i dun wanna make wrong decision to regret next few years... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 Get the Type R bro. That one is good fun! Engine sounds good. Acceleration is quite good. Handling is one of the best for FWD! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 22, 2008 Author Share March 22, 2008 there is one black type R in sgcarmart....at $73k, which i am quite interested too...it is $1.2k more than the other black one non-type R which i am looking at also ....but the type R was registered in 2004 leh...hmmm...i am looking at the situation financially...hehe.... paiseh bro porker...first car ....still a bit blur blur ....btw, nice ride u got .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 You know what I drive meh? Anyway that black R.. price abit high for a 4 yr old car. Try and buy direct from owner and not go through the used car dealers. They typically mark up $5k or above IMO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 22, 2008 Author Share March 22, 2008 (edited) u driving tat imported BMW convertible right? there was a post a while ago with all the photos and such.... and the Black R posted by Direct Owner leh....wat do u think is a fair price for tat particular ride? given its age... Edited March 22, 2008 by Bonjoey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 Oh yeah hor that one is direct owner. Paiseh. Think $68,000 and below reasonable. Try bargaining lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear March 22, 2008 Author Share March 22, 2008 wah...u wanna "Tao Kar Qiu" abit? hehe not good at this especially first car....confirm "Dio Jiak" if i nego alone... haha...kidding...i see wat i can do...hmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 22, 2008 Share March 22, 2008 You see what u can do lah bro. Important is you like it. Test drive it if possible and see how you feel lor. Of course cannot tio ketok also lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...