Canon dslr camera

Jen1106

Know of a friend who collects these super old antique cameras. He even has an antique Exakta. The first modern SLR. I find most of these things intriguing. Cameraquest website showcases a super rare Kriegsmarine Leica rangefinder. Should fetch a lot in an auction. It costs more than a Luftwaffe Leica.

Best advice from Cameraquest:

http://www.cameraquest.com/improve.htm

Edited by Genie47

once i have the moola i will try to get a full frame DSLR, currently a bit unsatisfied with the 1.6 crop factor. hehehe [lipsrsealed]

but that means i have to sell all the lenses that can't be mounted on it. oh well... its just like changing cars but very much cheaper i suppose.

u using canon?

for nikon D3 (full frame), it can still use digital-era 1.5x crop factor lenses. just that u don't maximise the full resolution.

older lenses may also be used. and these tend to be full frame. that is for nikon. antique lenses are compatible with modern camera bodies! [sly] for canon i have no idea.

Yeah. using an entry level canon. Will probably stick with canon for a long long time. Not choosing nikon due to personal reasons (a certain competitor peer belong to nikon camp) [laugh]

Well, to use a 1.5 crop lens on a 1 crop body is like having a small throttle body on a engine with a large displacement. [laugh]

I guess I'm a bit of the techno geek in this sense, I don't feel comfortable with using older lenses purely because the AF and stablisers are non-existent... i guess i'm lazy. [laugh]

Unless its a very good prime lens or special lens (fish eye or 12mm wide), I won't consider using an old manual lens.

Oooh. I bet he has many of those big fridge like dry cabinets. I guess I'm not so 'educated' in this sense... I just take a camera, compose and shoot... only worry about the results... not really into the actual history. Just like how people appreciate those older car models, which I don't think I could appreciate things at the same level as them.

But thanks for sharing your knowledge, it's very informative.

haha. i cant remember how it smell like liao... really long time ago...

Think I was 12... just go around taking photos, wasting my dad's films.. haha.

In the end he got me a cheap PnS, since I suck at focusing a manual slr. lol.

thats' how a great hobby get a kick start [laugh]

what a good way to put it [laugh][laugh][thumbsup][thumbsup]

"Well, to use a 1.5 crop lens on a 1 crop body is like having a small throttle body on a engine with a large displacement."

The only real disadvantage of dslr I can think of at the moment is that batteries die flat out in extreme temperatures...etc photography in Alaska. [;)]

think the same goes for ANY batteries right?

Funny thing is, my D70s batt lasted in -35deg C... no prob.. no change in batt, and, its not kept in bag or wat, its out in the cold.. :D

genie, darn, the only rangefinder cam that I know is Leica... and its darn expensive!!! u rich man! haha

In regards to speed, its relative.

I've used/owned all sorts of cam. Even tried the fastest claimed speed PnS.

Still, metering/focusing and shot made timing, none comes even close to DSLR.

A lot of my candid shots are done in last minute,... like this one:

(see below)

This goes like, pull out camera, switch on using forefinger, fire.... no cropping..

Rgds

Edited by Madsumm

tell u all something hor..

my D300 feels lighter then my D70s body.....

Is it because of the 24mm lens?? hahahaha

nah.. not kidding.. in fact it does feel lighter.

Rgds

we were discussing between manual slr and dslr. afaik, those people travelling those harsh extreme temperatures should be using manual, since they are spending weeks out in the cold to give us those fantastic shots like mt. everest and Antarctica.

yeah.. i dun mind taking leica R7. saw it in tokyo.. nice... old.. but nice..

no batts, juz ran by "cranking" the bugger.. :D

prob is.. will i even get to everest for god sake..

coldest i've been is -35 to -40c doing ice hiking in rocky mountains beginning of last year..

can lah.. try again...

i m seriously looking at some good PnS cam.

Ricoh GRDigital II

Ricoh GX100

Leica D-Lux 3 aka Panasonic LX2

Sigma new one..

some which I'm really keen to put in pocket when i go running for business trips.

Rgds

alamak.. here it is.. reduced size..

Image is copyrighted, do not use without permission.

Later the poor gal sue me.. :D

post-15-1206529317_thumb.jpg

Edited by Madsumm