How do you backup your data?

Guyver

How do you backup your data?  

47 members have voted

1. 1.

• RAID system.
    • Regular manual copying of files to another harddisk/storage device.
    • Regular manual burning to optical disc eg. CD-R, DVD-R, etc.
    • Regular manual online backup.
    • No backup at all.

I have a NAS on Raid 1. Backing everything there. I got another USB external drive recently, and start backing to there as well, so I have 2 backup copies.

IMHO, a simple RAID is effective for high availability and fault tolerance but as a method of backup, it might not be so. Here's why...

Let's say you have an important file on this simple RAID disk subsystem. Try selecting this file and delete it. The file is GONE. So where's the backup?

That's why in most RAID implementation, they still use other methods for backup and the more "copies" of the data, the safer it is.

Actually RAID implementation depends on what is the user requirement e.g. what programs, more reads or more writes, etc. I would think that for many users accessing, if peforming READs most of the time, RAID 5 would be suitable. If performing WRITES mostly, RAID 1 is preferred.

harddisk recovery CD does not recover anything other then destroy every single item reformat it and then install back the base data (eg MS Office)

shd be OS and other hw drivers only. usually don't include those applications

Acronis True Image is a very good software that does backup of your hdd and you can keep that image onto ext drives or burn to dvds. If hdd fails, change the hdd and put the image back in. And hey presto, your laptop is back to normal. No need to reinstall apps or OS. I bought mine from Challenger after reading all the reviews. Worth every cent of my $60.

RAID 5 uses at least 3 HDD right? Isnt that too expensive & kiasu for individual home use? Somemore have to run 3 HDD at one time.

RAID 5 is good for servers where many users access the HDD at 1 time. If choosing RAID for home use, RAID 1 good enough. Although is RAID 1 is 50% redundant, RAID 5 hv to spend more $$$ on additional HDD.

haha.. i think u got it wrong bro.

HDD are cheap now.

What I'm talking about 50% is NOT 50% redundant. Please go read on what is RAID 1.

What I mean is you waste 50% of the space you bought, whereas, for RAID 5, you only look 30%.

I get 2x 500GB HDD (Total 1TB) for Raid one, BUT I can only get 500GB of space. Another HDD is totally useless, unless in the event of a disaster.

RAID 5, if u have 3x500GB HDD (1.5TB) but you have 1TB to use. You only loose 1 HDD. FOr there onwards, if you upgrade to 4x500gb, you only loose 1 HDD. Not 50% of your disk.

Also for RAID 1, you need to always get a pair of disks, and the pair of disks, you waste 1 HDD (which is 50%).

In fact, RAID 5 over a period of time, is more cost effective then RAID 1.

Generally, for general users, dun bother with speed. Coz, only 1 use. :D

RAID 1 or RAID5, trust me, 1 user ain't going to feel anything.

Technically put, RAID one excels in Sequential process. RAID 5 excels in random processes. More spindles, more heads to do the random work, then only 1 head.. right?

Hehe

Rgds

Guess, think a lot of ppl "confused" themselve on backups.

I will not bother much on applications to be backed up, but DATA is much more important then apps themselves.

Backing up apps creates a totally different issue. Trust me, if you don't do the backup right, you will not be able to start your system or apps.

Also, given the smartness of WINDOWzzzz, you change HDD and boot, you might be given a "illegal" OS warning.. hahaha Mine did. And I gotta call Microsoft to "recertify" the new HDD as my Genuine OS.

I will split these 2 things up. Its very important to backup your data, photos, videos..etc. Application wise, I would not even bother. Then your would setup will be.. very simple and efficient. :D

Bro, keep in mind I am speaking in my opinion of a general home use PC which I did state. Unless I have a massively huge data which increases daily, why would I go for RAID 5?

Yes, my company servers are on RAID 5 because of huge data & multiple users. For home use, based on a normal usage, I dont think I can exceed my HDD space for the next 5 yrs. I dont leave my PC on 24hrs & download non-stop. Maybe u do, thats why RAID 5 good for u, can breakeven your cost.

Well, why not?

What you have assumed is you.

I've assumed as what you have assumed too, till I break all barriers after doing photography and ripping my CDs in lossless format. I've lost a few HDD along the way and a lot of time which money cannot buy back. SOme data lost even money cannot pay back. Its truelly priceless (Photographs..etc)

And, I did not say use PC. Haha.. Mine is on 24hrs a day, with max at 75w. Last count. average per day is no more then 20-30W.

If you only have a few meg to a gig, why not juz back it up via DVD? Cheaper faster and.. non-destructive. Even better then RAID 1 coz DVD can definitely outlast any HDD.

Guyver is doing car business, I belief such setups will benefit him tremendously in the end.

However, any other setups like RAID 1 is ok too. Just wan to describe the diff only.

Rgds

Edited by Madsumm

Bro, then be specific in your post ok, easily misunderstood if you dont say your views based on what purpose. I did state mine - for general home use PC. If yours is for Guyver's car business, pls state.

Eh... your 1 head is for wat? [sly]

Also, some general users not so general. What they want to use for, i don't know. [laugh]

well, guyver is doing car business, therefore data is related... therefore the posts.

maybe guyver did not state if its for home or business as well.

U assume, I assume.

kns lah...

u wan to go there izzit? point of no return?

Pee Sai ong, Comfy.. porker.. where the hell are u all?

kekeke

[smash]

I did say that my opinion is for general home use, i did not say for Guyver's home or business use. Clear? At least I state right? U like for what purpose also never say. Go read my posts again.

Edited by Ed2win2