Vics23sg Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 Dear All, Need advice on OPC conversation. Currently have a 3 yrs old Mit Colt (normal car). Have not been fully utilized it as I do not drive on weekdays. After work reach home also do not have the energy to go out. On weekend sometime use it on Saturday morning and mostly use it on Sunday only. Mostly use it for family outing. Question. 1) is it worth to convert my current car to OPC which have the following advantage ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bmz3 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 I am thinking whether to convert to OPC too. Let's hope can get some good advise here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 (edited) I got this plan to either convert or change new car recently too. Change new car is out of the question. Cos i bot my OPC lancer @ 40k. 2.5 years ago. Plus interst will be 43k. Now they are willing to take my car for 19k maximum nia. Talk until saliva dry up, die die also cannot offer me 20k. THATS losing almost 10k a year!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Better i give them 21k, let them earn 2k, they sell me a 2.5year old OPC Lancer!!!!!!! Edited April 9, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 how come ur opc lancer so expensive?...so u tinking of changing from opc to normal?.. y not u guys switch car?one wants to convert normal to opc....de other wants opc to normal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walterkoh Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 hi, it is better to get a new opc car instead as it will make more economical sense. 1st, when u convert to opc, the rebate of 17k is not given to u 2nd, u still continue to pay the loan of a normal car 3rd, u still need to pay to get the red opc number plate out so sell away this current car, get a new opc car cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 During that time, a sports lancer costs 60k!!!!! I almost wanted to change into the Mivec Lancer EX. ALMOST!!!! Cos i test drove it, and me & wify like it very much. Pick-up is much better than our current lancer. The front part is much broader and spacious. But cannot say the same for the rear passengers tho. The engine is a bit noisier but duno why i like that noise lei. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 very tempting rite...so next time don go n test drive new cars! but seriously...its not worth to change car when ur car is only 2.5yrs.even mine 3yrs old also i don tink i will b able to change.must cough up so much jus to get new car n start de loan period all over agn. i've psychoed myself not to tink of changing car...jus keep de car n enjoy it for a few more yrs.tink of de things u can buy n do wif de money u need to fork out to change a new car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Libox88 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 Yes it is a big mistake if you are not sure of your usage and landed yourself into a normal car worst still if a higher end one. I bought a OPC cos I know I will use it every sat after 3pm and sun whole day. Occasionaly weekdays out for groceries and makan so not worth to get a bigger & normal car. I just testing and contacted a dealer for my 2 months opc and was quoted almost 7k lower than my buying price. Imagine mine is a small car already lost 7k for only 2 months and only 3k mileage worst still if normal car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 Actually i plan to convert last month. But hor, my household items started to breakdown one by one after 8 years, so spend quite a lot on replacing them. And spend on re-spraying the car and add a few accessories too. 10+k budget gone just like that. But now wify changing new job soon and needs to travel on the road often. So we need a normal car liao. Maybe just close one eye and convert it lor. Or my hand still itchy, we will change into the Lancer EX. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 wah...u 2 mths only itchy already ar? wat normally de dealer ask for?i also wan to try n ask....even though i know de least is 10k top up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 u stil can respray when u alraedy tot of changing car ar?aiyah....y waste money.anyway..how much u spray?i tot of repsraying too...since gonna keep de car for few yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 hi,it is better to get a new opc car instead as it will make more economical sense. 1st, when u convert to opc, the rebate of 17k is not given to u 2nd, u still continue to pay the loan of a normal car 3rd, u still need to pay to get the red opc number plate out so sell away this current car, get a new opc car cheers Curious to know... How will the prorated 17K rebate work when convert to OPC? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 I respray same colour = 800 bucks. A workshop in yishun ind park. Sound-proof 4 doors, change tyres, bot a GPS, K&N filters. All done 2 months ago nia. I told the dealer all these, but no reaction from them lei. Cannot add the resale value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 (edited) Normal to OPC, there is no 17k rebate. Its only when u buy & registered a new car under OPC than u get the 17k off the car price. Not 17k cash to you. Even if yr car registered as normal and on the road for 1 day, u wana change to OPC. Still you get nothing from the 17k rebate. It has to be done/registered as a new car right from the start. Edited April 9, 2008 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 Change a new OPC car. Better for the economics. The bank, dealer, government need your support. The best recommendation is the one that you already choose to ignore so this is my second best recommendation. No one knows what will happen in a few years time especially your car usage due to whatever reasons like job change, family commitments, etc. Your upfront 'saving' could be wipe out if you need to convert normal plate 2yrs later. Anyway what car are you planning to change to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 bro they only interested in e paper value. myself had to lose abit of $ to sell my car too hehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 It can be found on the onemotoring website with examples on the calculation. www.onemotoring.com.sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Libox88 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2008 Share April 9, 2008 No lah I definitely will drive my current ride for many many years and I just wanna check cos been hearing so many say once you drive out the car, the drop start from that very day and is very drastic. So now I check and I can confirm this 101% and I think if a person wanna sell his car, better sell to relative or friends. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...