Pisces69 6th Gear May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 Nowadays got so many different types of coolant meant for so many different types of cars. They cannot & sud not b mixed or changed around. When in doubt, check the car's owner manual. It will say what is acceptable for the car. If you just want to cool the engine, distilled water is enough. If you want protection, then mix a little anti-freeze. In our weather, 30% is sufficient. =================== OK thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bcyn Neutral Newbie May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 genie wat do u think of redline water wetter? the one in pinkish colour? it say pour i whole bottle and fill up with water will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 Stick to your manual's recommendation and get your coolant from reputable shop. Thanks alot. Coolant is reputable leh.. prestone.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Defelio Neutral Newbie May 4, 2008 Share May 4, 2008 My advice is not to get American coolant, I remember they may be formulated differently and MAY contain silicates which are bad for Japanese gastkets. Also I had bad experience using American coolant, NTUC used to sell the TURBO brand coolant very cheaply and it says made in U.S.A, but the can of coolant already contains rust sediments. I tried twice and encountered the same problem, you noticed it when you pour slowly and at the end you see the sediments. I told my colleaque, he doesnt believe me at first, until he save the excess coolant into a plastic bottle, and he can see it too. The Prestone bottles are plastic. I didn't see any sediments of tat sort when i pour. Only after i open my radiator cap!! Need to flush liao just to be safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 They didn't but quite obviously silicate free is the way to go to be safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 I have no idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 most petrol station sells coolant. got 2 main types, no need mix with water (pre-mix) & those that need to mix water. if u want to use a new coolant, its better to flush and top up with new coolant. dun mix 2 different types together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched May 9, 2008 Author Share May 9, 2008 i just bought a 4L can of pre-mixed Mitsubishi Super Long Life Coolant ($15) from Min Ghee for my Cerato V2. Think it's safe to use on my car? According to the sales rep, it's green in colour. My original coolant also green... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siyexcalibur Neutral Newbie May 9, 2008 Share May 9, 2008 Yes, it is okay, you got it quite cheap too. All japanese car manufacturers use similar coolant but different dyes Honda Blue, Toyota Red, Nissan and Mitsubishi Green. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 Read the whole thread. Color doesn't mean a thing. Is it silicate-free? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Huggable Clutched May 10, 2008 Share May 10, 2008 I'm also using WW. Bought about 7litres of Watson's distilled water to go with the WW. Wouldn't dare to use tap water. Noticed that the engine temperature could rise to running temperature faster compared to the normal coolant + anti-freeze/anti-boil. Just get a bottle of REDLINE water wetter. Flush out the entire radiator + engine passage ways and pour in the whole bottle. Top up with clean tap water, thats all. Maximum cooling and very little water loss. Much better than any glycol based coolant. Reason : 1) Glycol is an anti-freeze, anti-coagulant, anti-rust, anti-mineral fluid (thats alot of antis ) 2) Dye colour is to allow vehicle users to quickly identify coolant leaks, it has no other function. 3) Any other coolant is of course fine. 4) Since most car engines on the roads today are aluminium alloy casted, you don't need the anti-rust or anti-freeze properties. Hope this helps to answer your thread post Have a safe and enjoyable drive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rskeisuke Clutched May 10, 2008 Author Share May 10, 2008 (edited) thanks i did read thru. unfortunately, both my owner's manual and the mitsubishi coolant packinging won't as specific and detailed. both only vaguely mentioned, "EG-based for aluminum radiator", nothing on silicates whatsoever. anyway, coolant was changed today and i'm keeping my fingers crossed. Edited May 10, 2008 by Rskeisuke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keen 1st Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 bought coolant from song yi for avante, the person sold me turbo brand coolant, s--t... dunno whether it is silicate free? Anyone know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolfy3769 2nd Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 this is what ur WS tell u?? u better be careful..... the color is not just for coloring ..beside that.. they are coolant and antifreeze... the coolant and antifreeze help to bring up the boil temperature and also the freezing temperature (this one no concern to us here)... u better be careful that at the end of the day.. ur car will end up running on 100% water.... in this region.. i think must coolant are mix at 30/70 (30% coolant and 70% water)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 This thread is started in 2008!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 European brand coolants are normally with silicate. For Asian cars keep to those brands from Japanor Korea. EG = ethylene glycol. Best mixture for our sunny island climate is 50 /50 mixture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 bought coolant from song yi for avante, the person sold me turbo brand coolant, s--t... dunno whether it is silicate free? Anyone know? my mechanic recommended not to use stick to the original coolant for kia/hyundai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 14, 2010 Share September 14, 2010 bought coolant from song yi for avante, the person sold me turbo brand coolant, s--t... dunno whether it is silicate free? Anyone know? Check your car manual to see what type of coolant is required. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...