Do You?

Testa_ross4

<< I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

>>

it's good to be a car lover....but not a slave to the car.

car WAS used to be a luxury...then becomes a necessity these days. it supposed to be our slave to help us run around, getting to places faster & in a more efficient way. (subjective)

no doubt maintaining the running condition of car IS important, but fanning it is a little too much in my humble opinion.

anyway, it is no good to splash water or wash the car after returning. rapid cooling for some metal parts will cause adverse effect....eg, your rotors will warp.

Gosh! Molten state ! I super long time din hear this word since my chemistry class !

I ever saw the mechanic actually use a water hose to wash down the engine bay of a Starlet after servcing..but again, during servcing the engine bay would have cooled down..

no need to do that lah....the car engine bay sure get hot after a drive, unless your car overheated....

TS just simply love and sayang his car. no harm done anyway. smile.gif

Don't do that. It is easier to start the car if the engine is warm anyway. Just let the engine cool down by itself. The engine works more efficiently when it is fully warmed up as well, and if you're doing this you're just introducing additional heat cycles to the engine, which would not be very healthy to the engine. Then again, the actual effect on the car is probably minimal, while your neighbours might think you got yourself a lemon if you have to fan your new car with a cloth after getting home.

Clutched

I do that sometimes at home after a hard day for the car..

Was thinking of like a fan (those home fan), placed at the front to get the air moving..

but must find lot with power socket.

There's no need to do that. engines run better hot, but because of thermal fatigue, we need to keep it relatively cool.

I've only done it when i pushed my ex-car to the point the turbo glows, and even then, its with the engine running just to make sure the oil is flowing instead of getting cooked.

I was thinking the car must be damn lousy if the bonnet needs to be opened (for cooling)after each drive. [laugh]

Never seen such cars before.

Even Driftking's car is not as bad as this.

DK car bad meh?? 0-100 in 11.6s hor, dun pray pray [lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Open your car bonnet to cool down the engine at the end of the day after returning from a drive? Can feel the engine very hot after turning off the ignition.

I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

I think it helps save the rubber or non-metallic parts [laugh]

You will get over this one day. [;)]

You must be very young and your 1st car? or 1st few cars?

[sly]

Its best if u could open it, put it in front of an aircon to cool it down..

but really... u dun need to do that. :) Your car can cool on its own. U didn't spend so much on a car for nth.

2nd Gear

Correct, that is why every morning I try to have a good warm up before moving off.

Not sure what is the temp under our bonnet thou. smile.gif

I wonder about the theory rotors will warp, then what happens in sudden downpours? you know the kind one minute sunny then suddenly rain, how?

I dunno, many people think my actions are queer, or slave to the car, but for me just opening the hood, even for a few seconds to let the rush of trapped hot air coming out, then after that closing it back let the car cool naturally......feels good to me. [:)]