Do You?

Testa_ross4

Feels good? do it then, it's your car, your time, your own happiness. [nod]

I have yet to see anyone do it, be it a kancil or 911 turbo [sly]

Come to think of it, I not so queer lah, or at least about on par with many 'queer' people here.

If you spend time on MCF you would realise on these forums, there are many MCFers who use prison standard search light intensity halogen lamps so large and powerful that they must be mounted on heavy stands to shine on the car paint work and use macro camera lenses to take pictures of the 'huge' swirl marks on their cars, after that they spend hundreds of dollars to engage some gurus to 'detail' their car for 6 hours or more and then use the same search light halogen lamps to shine on the paint work again to declare the 'after' effects and upload their pictures in special galleries on MCF. Some MCFers even spend nearly thousand dollars to specially import dual action polishers not meant for use in Singapore and spend some more money getting step down transformers to use these machines, or even get mini generators to power them in MSCPs.

They also invest lots of money in huge ranges of waxes, sealants, PPS, resins, cleaners, soaps, clay bars etc etc they engage in discussions, review them and compare them all the time. They also use the whole paraphenalia to detail their rides and then the very next day, they will lan lan, knowingly or unknowingly, drive their showroom condition cars on Singapore's highly congested, polluted and lorry filled roads to work and get their cars 'reswirled' and then they will go through the entire 'detailing' process again. After about 4 years these same cars will be exported to Madgascar or Ethiopia and never be seen again [shocked]

I guess you think those people not so queer huh? [laugh] maybe you can cut me some slack on queerness bro. [laugh] err before I joined here, I never knew swirl marks were a major problem, I always thought they just existed naturally on cars. [laugh]

Edited by Testa_ross4

Those detailing freaks? They can form their own forum. They should call it WDHALF (We Dun Have A Life Forum).

U are almost there buddy, no different from them. Qualify to be member liao.

Eh, only a few seconds opening bonnet lah.....don't think can qualify their high flying club lah, anyway I may not be do again next time also. [laugh]

Open your car bonnet to cool down the engine at the end of the day after returning from a drive? Can feel the engine very hot after turning off the ignition.

I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

I think it helps save the rubber or non-metallic parts [laugh]

[confused] why not u remove the bonnet? the engine can breath better, cool down even faster and the best part is, car is lighter, save fuel and can chiong faster [laugh]

i drove all the way frm sgp to thailand nonstop expect toilet break and meal break and the moment i reach my hotel, i just park my car there and i head str8 to the massage [laugh] no time for me to open the bonnet and wait for it to cool down [laugh]

Clutched
I dunno, many people think my actions are queer, or slave to the car, but for me just opening the hood, even for a few seconds to let the rush of trapped hot air coming out, then after that closing it back let the car cool naturally......feels good to me. [:)]

no la, i don't think that's queer.. nor is it a slave to the car act.

i also believe in 'looking after the car, n it will look after u'.. [;)]

you should know how hot the engine get during long drive..

In the case of traveling on NS highway at 110km/h for a few hours, the engine should not get too hot right? I am thinking the breeze, together with the car cooling system, should be able to keep the engine at a reasonable temperature.

as long as the car is cruising fast its cooling for the engine

You may like to try this, everytime you parked your car, cut the engine, open bonet, spray water on the rediator. Ofcourse you cant find water hose, but u can carry a bottle of water spray in your car (those people use when ironing clothes). The bottle spray will spray fine mist of water on the radiator, can cool down the radiator faster.

Open your car bonnet to cool down the engine at the end of the day after returning from a drive? Can feel the engine very hot after turning off the ignition.

I do it as often as I can, either when I am washing the car after returning, or I just stay with car maybe about 2 to 3 minutes and use a cloth to fan the engine bay.

hmm..do you treat ur body that well as u treat ur car?

if nv run for long time..try to run to recharge the batt...

After a rigorous exercise......do proper cooling down....

feed yourself with healthy gd food....

cleanse ur face and body with the best product u can find...

do a facial once a week like u clean ur car once a week...

buy a gd pairs of shoes to protect ur soles like how much u spent on ur top range tyres...

haha..jus a tot...

Not too accurate to find parallel between yourself and the detailers.

Detailers can actually show you the "problem" and "imperfection" because they are actually there on the car. To the layman, they are simply too insignificant to matter.

In your case, you perceive that opening the bonnet to cool the engine is taking care of the car. The fact is that whatever passing breeze and feeble wind that you can introduce with a cloth into a wide open engine bay is by far exceeded by the amount of ~100kph cooling air afforded by the grilles into the engine bay.

The fact is that a car engine runs cooler on the highway, than it does in a traffic jam. And once the engine is turned off, it will start cooling down anyway. This cool-down in temperature is only *slightly* faster by having your bonnet open, and I would really be interested to see if there is any real benefit to having it cool down that little bit faster.

I am tempted to say that the best way to cool your engine is to pull your hood release catch the last 1km to your home and keep the speed RPMs low. The ajar bonnet increases cooling air into the bay. However it is really dangerous to drive like that. So it is up to you to do it (or not).

[confused] why not u remove the bonnet? the engine can breath better, cool down even faster and the best part is, car is lighter, save fuel and can chiong faster [laugh]

i drove all the way frm sgp to thailand nonstop expect toilet break and meal break and the moment i reach my hotel, i just park my car there and i head str8 to the massage [laugh] no time for me to open the bonnet and wait for it to cool down [laugh]

Bro...i also do it last time but onli after a few hot laps and while vacummin my car before washing.