Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Hi Kelpie,For me, i will choose a location base on my travelling pattern to work place. As i need to travel to work daily, i need to make sure the route is 'on the way'. Example, i stay in CCK (yew tee area). So not near orchard or central, but i am happy because my wife work place in IMM office. I work in CBD area. So daily, i drop-off my wife and drive to my work place. After work, i pick up wife and go home. But if i stay near central, i need to drive to IMM then back to CBD. Not convienent. Weekends drive to suntec (example) takes a longer time but i just take it as enjoying my ride. I agreed with you that location plays an important part. If given a choice, I would prefer to live in a flat that is located within the CBD area. However, my kids are schooling already so I can't move too far away from their schools. Unless, they're willing to change school . Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Heard that Property Mkt for HDB is going down slightly in 2nd half of the year.. probably can wait for another 1 mth.. 1 month is not a long wait but making a choice on where to live is a difficult one. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 1. I'm seriously looking at moving to a HDB unit. But wonder which is a choice estate to live in? 2. I drove to Potong Pasir just now, I find it quite a pleasant estate though looks kinda old and in need of some facelift, otherwise should be quite liveable I thought. I find those units facing the Kallang river or should I say big drain seems not bad . Got park connector to Bishan Park also not bad . I like smaller and quiet estate so will not consider big HDB housing estates. Those that are far away from town area will also not be in my consideration too, preference would be those along NE line. 3. Coming back to Potong Pasir, those low rise units seems attractive. I found those living on the ground floor having a "private" garden amusing. They really planted fruit trees with plenty of assortments of floral. Is this a good or bad thing? Some even have garden furnitures ! One big issue is the rubbish chute that is built so near to the unit, I wonder smell and croaches will be an issue or not ?. All comments welcomed. Thank you very much! Regards, Potong Pasir? No other estate that attracts u? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 for ground floor. prepare for ant and croaches and other tiny creature to visit your house Treat it as life sciences education for the kids lor. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 i've been to potong pasir. my current location is not bad (amenities, MRT) but it's definitely less well-kept than PP. honestly, i like the older-style HDB feel i get there. the sprawling open air carpark (cheaper SP ) big angsana trees. but dun think i'll move there la.. not for the next 5 yrs at least conservancy lower meh? sure bo? I'm attracted by the smell of trees and the longkang . Got park connector somemore. Old or new, doesn't matter since I'm paying in full and I just want to find a comfortable and quiet hdb flat to live. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Another you may like to consider is Geylang Bahru, facing the Whampoa River. Quite near to Geylang leh and that river is dirty and noisy, got one Chinese temple there. Not ideal. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Potong Pasir? No other estate that attracts u? Can you find one that has a similar settings like Potong Pasir? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 hmmm...no idea...never been to potong pasir. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patwong 3rd Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 ==Quote== I agreed with you that location plays an important part. If given a choice, I would prefer to live in a flat that is located within the CBD area. However, my kids are schooling already so I can't move too far away from their schools. Unless, they're willing to change school . ===Unquote== Hi Kelpie I guess your kids schooling near Potong Pasir. How abt HDB flat at Circuit road? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 hmmm...no idea...never been to potong pasir. Despite the fact it is an opposition ward, I find the estate has some old town charm . Not able to win Potong Pasir is probably a regret to the ruling party. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thug Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Old town....or not fully developed due to its in the opposition's hands? How bout the schools there? U have young kids? Or all grown ups liao? If u say old town, how about clementi? Teck whye? Or u looking for estate in the east? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Old town....or not fully developed due to its in the opposition's hands? How bout the schools there? U have young kids? Or all grown ups liao? If u say old town, how about clementi? Teck whye? Or u looking for estate in the east? 1. You can put it in a way that it has a potential for further development. St. Andrew Junior, Secondary and JC are there. Primary school kids. 2. Clementi, Teck Whye? erm..lets put it this way, I prefer an estate with about 20-30 blocks at most, the fewer the better. East means marine parade? Highly inflated HDB prices there, not worth. Singapore sea view doesn't worth that much to me. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Go and look around Toh YI , less than 20 blk.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Go and look around Toh YI , less than 20 blk.... Erm..I would prefer NE side. Thanks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simply_lex Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Simei is another small neighbourhood. with ECP, SLE, PIE surrounded. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 I recommend Whampoa, Jalan Bahaja(not sure of spelling), McNair or St George area. I grew up there. Very near city and have good eating areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Another you may like to consider is Geylang Bahru, facing the Whampoa River. Quite near to Geylang leh and that river is dirty and noisy, got one Chinese temple there. Not ideal. Regards, I live in Upper Boon Keng (juz opp Geylang Lor 1). On d 2nd flr. Facing temple & Kallang/Whampoa river. No smell from river even though river got a lot of rubbish. Temple also not noisy or smoky except special days. Geylang crowd don't overflow 2 our area. Going into CBD is also low traffic. Unlike Bendemeer rd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 These are good places too. Any particular block to recommend? Thanks. Anyway, what is a reasonable price to pay for a 4~5 room flat these days? Flats that are along the NE line and near MRT. Near to shops/ market is secondary as I hardly shop in Singapore. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...