Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 live in Upper Boon Keng (juz opp Geylang Lor 1). On d 2nd flr. Facing temple & Kallang/Whampoa river. No smell from river even though river got a lot of rubbish. Temple also not noisy or smoky except special days. Geylang crowd don't overflow 2 our area. Going into CBD is also low traffic. Unlike Bendemeer rd. Why are there so many rubbish there? I visited friends there on a few occasions and I must be lucky enough to see smokey scenes and noisy dances. How much roughly does the place cost these days? Which is a good block to look for? Thank you. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Simei is another small neighbourhood. with ECP, SLE, PIE surrounded. Erm..Simei is a little far away for me . Thanks. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Looking at ur requirement, McNair Road(Blk 108-111) or Jalan Rajar(Blk105-108). Both are next to river/canal and very quiet HDB areas. But they are also very near to the city. Happy hunting. I dont know the prices there, u can ask ard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Looking at ur requirement, McNair Road(Blk 108-111) or Jalan Rajar(Blk105-108). Both are next to river/canal and very quiet HDB areas. But they are also very near to the city. Happy hunting. I dont know the prices there, u can ask ard. Too bad, I don't have a street directory with me at this moment and www.streetdirectory.com is not working too . Anyway, Thank you for the recommendation . If decided to move here, it looks like my girl has to go Geylang Methodist Girl School liao. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 try this bro www.can.com.sg Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 can tell me which school u like ur girl to enrol in...from there easier for us to recommend which is better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 If u dont need next to river, I recomend the ones near Pei Kio CC. Quiet and near city. Its somewhat a forgotten little place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Another you may like to consider is Geylang Bahru, facing the Whampoa River. Quite near to Geylang leh and that river is dirty and noisy, got one Chinese temple there. Not ideal. Regards, Geyland Bahru is just next to Bendemeer Rd. I think they are(or still doing) the cleaning up of the river. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 How about Kembangan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 Perhaps I can offer a more relevant point of view being a resident of one of the blocks that face the river. My last property was a private one. Looking at over 30 units (all EA or HUDC masionettes), I finally found the perfect one at Potong Pasir. Yes, at first glance, the estate might seem in need of some refurbishment, but after staying here for coming to a year, I wouldn't want anything changed. The tiles and fixtures might seem to be old fashioned, but they are maintained better than any estate I have experienced, HDB or private. Every 2 weeks, the whole block is jet washed. Light bulb blown? It'll be changed right away. People are generally nice and private at the same time, at least in my block. It is a quiet and charming estate. Unlike most HDB estates, everyone is squashed together closely. But here in PP, there is space. Plenty of space. Not only that, there is plenty of greenery. Right downstairs is the park next to the river. There is virtually no traffic noise. It's even quieter than my ex neighbourhood where there are only private houses all around. You hear birds chirping. Staying on a top floor corner unit, my balcony view is totally unblocked facing the Woodleigh water treatment plant. Doesn't get better than that. It's a 10 minute drive from Orchard Road. Getting back to PP during peak hours may be a little slow as the traffic flow on both PIE and CTE are usually quite heavy. But it's nowhere near as frustrating as when you're living in AMK. I paid $480k for a 2-storey, 1800sq/ft masionette, just before the property prices went crazy. I consider this to be extremely good value for money. I have zero regrets moving here. In fact, I prefer it here to my old private housing estate. The only thing that bothers me is the fact that there is no sheltered parking, and I hate to park underneath trees, which leaves very few parking lots that I can park in. Every week, without fail, I get people knocking on my door to offer me up to $700k for my unit. Then I realised something which I never even took into consideration when I bought this place. PP has got St Andrews kindergarten, primary school, secondary school and junior college. As you know, parents are willing to spend money just to be in the right area so that they can get their kids into the schools. For me, there is no better estate to stay in... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 hmmm...no idea...never been to potong pasir. Despite the fact it is an opposition ward, I find the estate has some old town charm . Not able to win Potong Pasir is probably a regret to the ruling party. Regards, fully agree with you on that old town charm thing.. and what's more, it's CLEAN. it may not sport the latest design features but u can have that INSIDE ur flat but may i humbly suggest, do consult ur family. if ur kids are of certain age, bring them for recce, ask them what they think. my dad never asked us. i disliked all 3 locations my family stayed at only now, my wife and i choose, we like the location. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 maybe u want consider Serangoon north..further up about 5km from Potong Pasir.Have nice and large low level/ground level maisonette?The surrounding is quiet and walking distance to neighbourhood shops / rainbow aquariums for fish lovers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Perhaps I can offer a more relevant point of view being a resident of one of the blocks that face the river. My last property was a private one. Looking at over 30 units (all EA or HUDC masionettes), I finally found the perfect one at Potong Pasir. Yes, at first glance, the estate might seem in need of some refurbishment, but after staying here for coming to a year, I wouldn't want anything changed. The tiles and fixtures might seem to be old fashioned, but they are maintained better than any estate I have experienced, HDB or private. Every 2 weeks, the whole block is jet washed. Light bulb blown? It'll be changed right away. People are generally nice and private at the same time, at least in my block. It is a quiet and charming estate. Unlike most HDB estates, everyone is squashed together closely. But here in PP, there is space. Plenty of space. Not only that, there is plenty of greenery. Right downstairs is the park next to the river. There is virtually no traffic noise. It's even quieter than my ex neighbourhood where there are only private houses all around. You hear birds chirping. Staying on a top floor corner unit, my balcony view is totally unblocked facing the Woodleigh water treatment plant. Doesn't get better than that. It's a 10 minute drive from Orchard Road. Getting back to PP during peak hours may be a little slow as the traffic flow on both PIE and CTE are usually quite heavy. But it's nowhere near as frustrating as when you're living in AMK. I paid $480k for a 2-storey, 1800sq/ft masionette, just before the property prices went crazy. I consider this to be extremely good value for money. I have zero regrets moving here. In fact, I prefer it here to my old private housing estate. The only thing that bothers me is the fact that there is no sheltered parking, and I hate to park underneath trees, which leaves very few parking lots that I can park in. Every week, without fail, I get people knocking on my door to offer me up to $700k for my unit. Then I realised something which I never even took into consideration when I bought this place. PP has got St Andrews kindergarten, primary school, secondary school and junior college. As you know, parents are willing to spend money just to be in the right area so that they can get their kids into the schools. For me, there is no better estate to stay in... 1. Glad to find someone with the same thought and feel for the estate . You rightfully put it that there is plenty of greenery in this estate. Actually my younger boy has not reached the junior schooling age but the gal can always take school bus to school. So schooling is really not that big a concern at this stage. 2. I've the thought that by 2010, there will be plenty of prviate condo & houses to pick from (over supply) and now is a good time to accumulate cash to wait for the next kill to go in. Although, I like PP estate but will not pay 700k for a PP flat, 700K can get you a nearby smaller freehold condo/apt. If someone wanted to buy at that price, I will sell. 3. Is it true that the lower floor of those double storey flat in PP has no toilet? So if going to financial district, will have to hit 2 ERPs right? I assume no ERP when on the back? Thank you for your info. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 maybe u want consider Serangoon north..further up about 5km from Potong Pasir.Have nice and large low level/ground level maisonette?The surrounding is quiet and walking distance to neighbourhood shops / rainbow aquariums for fish lovers. ____________ Still can't beat Potong Pasir leh . Close proximity to shop is not in my favour, tend to be noiser. Sigh, yet to find one estate that looks like Potong Pasir, perhaps those flats closer to Kallang river is also worth considering, also newer. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 How about Kembangan? Erm....you mean the one near the CC? Still a bit far, but I may take a look. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 Another you may like to consider is Geylang Bahru, facing the Whampoa River. Quite near to Geylang leh and that river is dirty and noisy, got one Chinese temple there. Not ideal. Regards, Geyland Bahru is just next to Bendemeer Rd. I think they are(or still doing) the cleaning up of the river. The cleaning is like no end and been like that for years. One key thing I dislike about the place, is the template. So out of place in that estate. Nah..it is just my opinion. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 2, 2008 Author Share May 2, 2008 If u dont need next to river, I recomend the ones near Pei Kio CC. Quiet and near city. Its somewhat a forgotten little place. Pei Kio? Near little india right? near Aids test centre is it? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie May 2, 2008 Share May 2, 2008 the least blk of flats and most remote & quiet should be Neo Tiew estate in Lim Chu Kang ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...