Perrier 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 8XXpsf for Potong Pasir is still too expensive in my opinion.Should be no more than $700psf for freehold in Potong Pasir. Watch the price, it will come off...... Base on past cycles, it will take at least 5 yrs for a turnaround in the property market. Feel sorry for those folks who got caught in 97-98, until last year's peak still cannot breakeven. Yet last year got so many people blindly jump in. I guess people who never kena hit never learn their lesson from others who did. I target some older developments in River Valley to hit below $1000psf. I might buy again when it is below $800psf. I agree with you. thats why I has shifted that development down my ranking. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 bro... save your money. buy D9,10,11 in 2009/2010/2011! you are buying blue chip at discount you know! I am looking for a new, reasonable property to house my family. That priority will come first. Maybe the next cycle then I will buy discounted blue chip. Pocket not deep enough, by then maybe a 2nd property. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glwk9 Neutral Newbie October 20, 2008 Share October 20, 2008 Hi, i am looking for private condo 1st QTR of 2009 after my HDB sale. What do you guys think of: 1. Seletar Springs Condo 2. Gdns@Bishan Need to near in-laws staying in AMK to take care of my kid. Not looking at big unit. 2 or 2+study. Comments please... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 No lah, I'm from poor man's school.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 Well done on the upgrade. Good luck to your property search. Hope you find the one you want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ooniik Neutral Newbie October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 Hi... Myself thinking of upgrading too. Looking around the East area. D15 a bit expensive to me. have seen Elias Green (13yo project) in Pasir Ris (99years). Also considering Flora Rd area and also Ballota Park (near prison) Main factor: 1. At least 1400 sq ft and more. Not to sure whether leasehold or free hold is better? For Elias Green, 1500+ sq feet can get around 650K and Ballota for 1472sq ft around 690 to 700k. Very new to private property as well and appreciate any sound advice from the experts and experienced.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 I'm no expert. bot my first property only in 1999. generally speaking:- freehold is better for staying leasehold is better for yield Elias green? dont even bother, dude, I'd rather stay HDB and hold cash. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 how about nuovo opp YCK mrt? I think 2009 sep, is the end of the 5year lock in period for EC. so you can expect quite a few sellers from that EC who wants to move out. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 Hi Ooniik, It may be better to go for freehold or 999yrs. If I remember correctly, those developments at Flora Rd are FH, same as Ballota Park. Personally I would rather buy a used HDB just beside the MRT. To me, it has much better market value. In terms of accessibility, I would say Ballota Park is much better if you are driving. There is one Esso station just beside Ballota Park and another Esso station about 50m away along the same stretch. Also, there is a small coffeeshop and some stall nearby plus Barks Cafe. Going to the expressway is also very fast, 2 traffic lights + pedestrian crossing away. Also, there is an exit door near the bus stop. **Quite a few stewardess stay there if I am not wrong coz I always see a bunch of them heading to the bustop when I fill my gas** The thing I dun like about those units at Flora Rd is that loyang road is quite congested during knock off time. It is also quite far from the main road. Not too sure about bus service. Good thing is it is quite cheap and relatively new for a FH at 600k++. I know these info because I work in Changi North area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King_of_abalone Clutched October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 (edited) Elias green? dont even bother, dude, I'd rather stay HDB and hold cash. I feel the same way as you do, but when making such statements you'll have to explain why because there is bound to be someone who would be insulted by your opinion. To many, buying and living in a condo -ANY condo- is already very good liao, the actualization of a lifelong dream, so they may not be aware of or even grasp the meaning of your statement. Am I sounding very lor sor like Leepee? Edited October 21, 2008 by King_of_abalone 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 good that you understand where i'm coming from. Like our previous encounters, by now you know, I'm straight talking. I know sometimes it may offend but I'm no celebrity so not too bothered Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 I just popped by the showflat for one-rochester (beside the buona vista MRT, opp MOE building) while waiting for a friend last friday. According to the agent, the developer is about to close down the showflat despite several units still available. During initial launch, the price is around $1600psf. Now, the agent was telling me that I would stand a very good chance to get a 950sq ft 2-bedroom unit, mid-floor, at $1200psf. Prices have dropped 25% within a year..OMG Heng, I never commit last year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 U almost bought that a unit there? Personally, i find One Rochester priced ridiculously expensive (for a 99yr condo) $1600psf can get u a brand new + freehold unit at dhoby ghaut area at the height of the property prices 10 months ago. Now the same units there are being offered for under $1200psf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King_of_abalone Clutched October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 (edited) Those under $1200 psf at 8@mount sophia are the ones that face the Plaza Singapura car park ramp! That is why so cheap. Edited October 21, 2008 by King_of_abalone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 DSeletar Spring now going at around 500 psf, these is amount eh lowest as compared with AMK/YCK area..there few TSC celebrity stay there. loaction is abit out from main rd and MRT. swimming pool is not so impressive. Standard Faclities, not too noisey...that is a plus pts There is one the Novo, the EC, directly opp YCK mrt..now is going around less then 500 psf..location is good..but very little seller. You may want to target the meadow@ perise by UOL, former green meadow... is a est 400 units, free hold, consist of a 14th tower block and a 5-6 6th storey unit. their launching had been delayed and delayed. am expecting the laucnh this year... pricing is till ???? me is looking at this ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 bro...8 @ mt sophia is leasehold leh. Not toking bout that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 thats right. They are being offered at $1200-$1300psf now realistically. I foresee prices will go to about $1000psf Developer price was about $900psf in 2005. I went to showroom then but bought somewhere else in D9 becos that area is too near the congested tip of Little india. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Glwk9 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2008 Share October 21, 2008 Thanks for your comments. I am looking for home-stay. Budget also a concern. Reason for picking Seletar Springs coz it's afforable. Near AMK/YCK. I thought the swimming pool is quuite impressive... no? Meadows@Pierce looks pretty gd. Gotta wait for it to launch. Any other properties to consider in Bishan / AMK / YCK area? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...