Wind30 Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 kind of curious have anyone thought seriously about migrating overseas? I mean I hear quite a few complaints about life in Singapore. How about overseas? Australia? I am thinking let say my property in Singapore is 1mil. I can get a similar quality one in Aust for 0.5mil and the other 0.5mil can be put to work to earn money. Same for cars... The weather in Aust is better and easier to live in too. More places to relax, and travel. Get a car, go to the beach and it is a cool 15 deg C. I never thought of migrating seriously until recently. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 3 Fs Friends Family Food If you have spent time away from Singapore as an overseas student you will know what I'm talking about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hutan 1st Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 pls lah.. for those decided to move out, 3 Fs that u mentioned is just an excuse , Food? what so big deal the food we have? u wun die becuase u dun have cheicken rice, nasi lemak, prata..blaa.. in fact u can get these at most of asian country. family? if u wan tp migrate, sure u intend to build/ make u own generation there. friends? this can build/ buy/ make from time so, what else? am not saying get out from SG is best, but just that 3 Fs is no no for those who wan to migrate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 those complaining won't be complaining if they had that kind of monies. and those with that kind of monies will be too kiasi to move out of spore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 Wind30, good for you that you are at least doing your research. There are things to complain about no matter which city or country you move to. Cost of property is one of many issues. If you really like Australia, you should try to spend an extended time living there first (excluding time spent there on holiday and as a student). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Author Share May 19, 2008 ya, I have been to australia on holiday but never stayed there for long periods of time. I really just started to think seriously if singapore is the kind of life I want. I mean with $1mil you can probably get a small apartment or a run down old terrace house. But in Australia, at the more laid back districts I think you can get a pretty ok house for maybe $600k? I mean work all my life in Singapore to pay for the house and car. What kind of life can I get in Singapore? no place to go for holidays... weather is hot and stuffy all the time.... Actually the main thing that is pushing me is the weather and housing/car prices. my mom is an impt factor as my brother is already in US working and probably not coming back anytime soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 The weather in Aust is better and easier to live in too. Thats what I tot before going... Its not.. Other than that, everything is a breeze.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sickscientist Clutched May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 Second that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 kind of curious have anyone thought seriously about migrating overseas? I mean I hear quite a few complaints about life in Singapore. How about overseas? Australia? I am thinking let say my property in Singapore is 1mil. I can get a similar quality one in Aust for 0.5mil and the other 0.5mil can be put to work to earn money. Same for cars... The weather in Aust is better and easier to live in too. More places to relax, and travel. Get a car, go to the beach and it is a cool 15 deg C. I never thought of migrating seriously until recently. U havent been travelling enough..just like many singaporeans...watch TV and think Aus is great..NZ is perfect... ring ring wake up and smell the peanut in the hot shi.t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 (edited) 600k can get some pretty good suburb that is very near to city. Unless you work in the city, stay abit further is better. Not as much jam and populated as in the inner city. Check this out, outer suburb. 23km to Melbourne. AU$340-370k. http://www.realestate.com.au/cgi-bin/rsear...s&tm=1211171670 Edited May 19, 2008 by Trex101 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 hi! care to elab why those 2 places are not as great as they seem to be ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 are u going there to work or start a biz? finding a job can be a challenge.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 I just returned from a 18 days USA holiday. Been to Aus & some parts of Asia past few years. Migration was on my mind 10 years back. Have a few Japanese friends working here & love the S'pore sunny weather. Home-S'pore is the BEST!!!!, sunny year round, Govt-efficiency, cheap public transport, safe & secure environment & the cheap Budget Airline to Aus & Asia region for Holiday-Break is great. Job a plenty & Medical fee affordable with a Shield plan. S'pore is bad with a highly stress city living both for working adults & Kids in School. If can manage the stress.....S'pore is still a Great-Home. Good Luck & hope You have a good plan. My 2 cents here: Foods: Asian food cooked for Ang-Moh taste horrible....So it is a No, No . A family of 4 in San Francisco for Wanton Mee cost US$35. A chinese Fried Rice or Noddle meal in Jamaica-NY cost US$6- to US$7....think the same for Aus??? So eating out or services is very expensive in Ang-Moh country. You may have to Cook @ Home to save. Rest & Recreation: The Aus, NZ & USA have plenty. Job. They is a Glass ceiling & good job are reserved for the Ang-Moh. Taiwanese & Hong Konger are leaving Canada-Vancouver for these reason & a lack of competition. Can be boring for those driven type. Car & House: Without a good job or income good income. Car & house may not come easy in Hi-Gas price now & long distance driving is a norm there. Not forgetting inflation. Parking charges in can be high of A$5 per hour or A$25 whole day in Melbourne. Paid US$5 per hour in Seattle & saw a US$10 per 30 minutes sign in New Yoke. Crime: Oversea is not so secure. Medical: Was down with Flu, coughs & blood in plegm in New Yoke-Jamaica due to cold-dry weather. Saw the registration counter on Rate & Charges for Medical @ Jamaica Medical Centre.: It read US$600 before X-Ray & Blood test etc. Adapting: This may take a long times to settle. Do a have a Plan-B or Plan-C to return home, before $$$ run out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 in terms of medical.. isn't these countries welfare? while public hospitals got their long waiting list, those deem on critical condition should get priority. my engineer's dad's friend was admitted to hospital in australia (he is a pr) for cancer. got treated almost immediately and his over A20k bill was settled by their gahmen. in sg, we can buy insurance policies.. but we can only claim once per policy (and also got to depend on their t&c).. how many policies do we need to buy... for a chance to live? some ppl say spend about 10-15% of your pay for insurance.. but its like taking a permanent pay cut to prepare a hospital bill which u will kanna eventually one thing, if one really goes, dun burn the bridges.. who knows u'll need to come back when the condition in sg (*hope* somehow) turns better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newsman 1st Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 If btw Govt welfare & one buying own Medical Insurance. I chose buying an affordable long-term Medical plan. For a stable & secure Medical future. A change in Govt may mean Medical-Welfare gone for good....too much risk to depend on present Govt. Also no such things as FREE Lunch!!! Someone must pay for FREE Medical-Welfare.....WHO ? Canadian pay high taxes & get FREE Medical & Good Welfare but the Hong Konger are leaving now......WHY ? Whatever .....do a have a good Plan-b & C. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 one thing i know, is that some buy private insurance for 'express' cos the wait at gahmen hospitals can be quite long. i suppose it can also be a 'just in case' something happen and if one is overseas and this will come handy. i'm not sure about honkies leaving.. perhaps u can share? maybe canada too cold for asians? how about the 'return migration' rate for australia/new zealand? yes, as i mentioned, to the TS, if wanna go, have a plan b and dun burn the bridge. this way u have the flexibility of staying wherever that is better at that time. and btw, i'm also doing up my plan b depend on the situation, i may or may not be leaving at the end of the day. still have quite a lot of pull factor in sg and right now i can still tahan the push factors Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 and btw, while there is a chance of the present gahmen removing the social and state welfare, but imho, those who does that is limiting their terms in office.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear May 19, 2008 Share May 19, 2008 pls lah.. for those decided to move out, 3 Fs that u mentioned is just an excuse , Food? what so big deal the food we have? u wun die becuase u dun have cheicken rice, nasi lemak, prata..blaa.. in fact u can get these at most of asian country.family? if u wan tp migrate, sure u intend to build/ make u own generation there. friends? this can build/ buy/ make from time so, what else? am not saying get out from SG is best, but just that 3 Fs is no no for those who wan to migrate exactly... singapore always self claimed as food paradise.... omg, u go to every food court, its just chicken rice... chicken rice... laksa... laksa... mee pok.. mee pok.... oh come on.. gif me a break ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...