Chery T11 gear problem

Keppy

I have experience in MR-S, BMW M3, Copen, S14, IS200, Sunny, SSS, Lancer. So I think I am expert enough to give your friend a honest opinion about his particular car.

wah..pple drive sooooooooooo many cars b4 leh. if drive tat number = expert, then those car dealers must be term as heavenly guru. [laugh][laugh]

hi all,

its a pity that singaporeans always think tat way.

i repeat: if a merc owner's merc break down he will say he "sway" only one kena. if a korean or now china car break down, he will say all korean or china cars are like dat, lousy, not reliable!!!

now a korean or china car owner wans to sell his car, he will say korean or china car no resale value, next time dun buy. but if he were to own a jap car, the depreciation will b even higher, n also send for scrap. he never think its bcos now COE is all time low tat affects the resale value.

worst!!! people buying a 1.6litre big size SUV, thinking he/she expecting the performance of a 2 litre turbo EVO X or ferrari? well, be fair, if the car is at fault, have it checked, dun flame the mechanic for ignoring your problem, its your attitude, if u r nice to the mechanic, he will take care of your car. he is also human afterall, as many people think customer is always right? well, dun take this BS as a motto of your life, u will create more enemies than u think.

else if not due to car, its the driver, either his skills or expectation is not rite!!! so be fair in judging a korean/chinese/malaysian car and in future a indian car. people never think of the savings they get from buying a china car as compared to jap cars. furthermore, as wat i know, u pay the china car price and get much much more in specs for Chery than any jap car u can find in singapore.

be contented. solve problems immediately. everyone will b happy

Hi TS,

Maybe your friend can go external workshopinspection centre for 2nd opinion ?

from your infor given , i guess is the clutch or the gear box that is giving problem .

hi all,

its a pity that singaporeans always think tat way.

i repeat: if a merc owner's merc break down he will say he "sway" only one kena. if a korean or now china car break down, he will say all korean or china cars are like dat, lousy, not reliable!!!

now a korean or china car owner wans to sell his car, he will say korean or china car no resale value, next time dun buy. but if he were to own a jap car, the depreciation will b even higher, n also send for scrap. he never think its bcos now COE is all time low tat affects the resale value.

worst!!! people buying a 1.6litre big size SUV, thinking he/she expecting the performance of a 2 litre turbo EVO X or ferrari? well, be fair, if the car is at fault, have it checked, dun flame the mechanic for ignoring your problem, its your attitude, if u r nice to the mechanic, he will take care of your car. he is also human afterall, as many people think customer is always right? well, dun take this BS as a motto of your life, u will create more enemies than u think.

else if not due to car, its the driver, either his skills or expectation is not rite!!! so be fair in judging a korean/chinese/malaysian car and in future a indian car. people never think of the savings they get from buying a china car as compared to jap cars. furthermore, as wat i know, u pay the china car price and get much much more in specs for Chery than any jap car u can find in singapore.

be contented. solve problems immediately. everyone will b happy

I agree with what you say. By sharing thru this platform, hopefully people eyes will be more open.

First laugh at Japanese car as Tin can, then laugh at korean car, then laugh at Thai car, now laugh at Chinese car. next time maybe laugh at India and Africa car............., Next time people from other country ask you, why you keep laughing at people, your country make any car or not?

Be more humble and objective, stop gambling our chips away.

Bro, sorry to interject, I owned a Cherry QQ before and I think we both face the same problem as your friend Cherry T11. For my QQ the car sometimes go up carpark ramp is very scary coz no power. Othertimes the power come back.

Another bro commented onthe gear ratio, and I think his point may be valid. But my observation is that something is wrong about the tuning of the engine. Sometimes got power burst, sometimes like can't move. I brought back to agent at Kaki Bukit, asked mechanic retune the engine... then much better...

Then funny thing is that after revving engine for some time, the tuning out again.... unlike other cars.

Guys, don't get too carried away and debate on car makes. Be objective and discuss the problem of the gear/clutch. peace...

To me it seems like the clutch is slipping in 2nd gear. If the clutch bites well, if not enough power to go up the slope, the engine will stall. If RPM goes up but car cannot move even though the clutch has been released, it;s a sign of clutch slippage. That also explains why on the way back from Genting, the gear cannot engage into 4th gear. Either clutch slip until cannot engage gear or gear box spoil liao.

I used to drive manual car and experienced cluth slippage in 2nd gear due to wear issues. That time after 1st gear, engage 2nd gear will have power loss, then have to skip and go into 3rd gear to get some power. So no choice have to rev 1st gear then shift into 3rd. Had to replace clutch.

Edited by Dunno

just go to a wkshop and had it solve so tat u will be at ease..i drive a korean car and 1 of the wkshop say my engine got problem n gv mi sacastic remarks say dun buy korean car ,buy jap car more gd...i see no reason in debating..my engine i believe is ok..and all the while i had been servicing my car wif this wkshop unless all the while the engine oil he recommend to mi is lousy..

many ppl till now still got a thinking of korean car cmi..but who cares..u buy the car becos of self-like...and of cos cheap.

sorry to intrude..

but T11 is most likely meant for a 2.0L version.. The 1.6L is downgraded to "suit" the market.. Being the exact same weight regardless 1.6 or 2 its fairly obvious the 1.6L lags power.. When i test drove the 1.6L i experienced quite severe power lag and eventually bought the 2.0..

Not climbing up the slope well enough, then perhaps drove to gear one and gradually increase your gas prior to climbing slope?

I could be wrong with my assessment and i'm too lazy to read 4 pages of topic.. XD

hope it helps

cheers! :)

I have driven the 2L version before for about 2 weeks. With the 2L engine the power is only just adequate for point A to B kind of commute. You can feel the 2L engine bogging down when going up the IMM carpark in gear 2 at about 10km/h-15km/h. So it is quite normal to use gear 1 in this case. In Malaysia, I believe they are pushing the 2.4L engine more than the 2L version. I believe this "SUV" is design to be a sedan in a overweight shell. One thing I like about this car though is it's headlight, very adequate for trips up north at night. You dun even need to turn on the fog light.

Bro, sorry to interject, I owned a Cherry QQ before and I think we both face the same problem as your friend Cherry T11. For my QQ the car sometimes go up carpark ramp is very scary coz no power. Othertimes the power come back.

Another bro commented onthe gear ratio, and I think his point may be valid. But my observation is that something is wrong about the tuning of the engine. Sometimes got power burst, sometimes like can't move. I brought back to agent at Kaki Bukit, asked mechanic retune the engine... then much better...

Then funny thing is that after revving engine for some time, the tuning out again.... unlike other cars.

Chinese cars... Haiz. My bicycle can go up the carpark ramp 100% of the time. [thumbsup]

Edited by Alfisti168