Comnao 1st Gear June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 Folks first things first ... i know this topic had been discussed 100million times before so i must apologize for repeating this query again. my time is a bit tight ... so i need some quik advise over here. i am looking to buy a stand alone GPS and/or phone with GPS built in but i am very confused by the maze of information i have garnered. So any advise will be heartfelt appreciated 1. I have approached sink-tel and they recommended me to buy either N95 or N78 bcos they both have AGPS and integrated GPS BUT ... i was told... i must pay to use this service Is it true ? According to Sinktel ... regardless AGPS or iGPS all got use GPRS to convey the data between satellite so thats why i must pay to use. 2. my wife wants the Nokia 6110 instead. But seems like this product is no longer on sale by sinktel Where can i buy ? Will it have the same "Pay to Use" problem with Sinktel again ?? 3. Assuming we do not buy a GPS phone bcos we have to pay for using the service, do i have to pay to use a standalone GPS unit like Garmin or VDODayton or Packard Bell or Holux ? 4. I can consider buying a stand alone unit to mount onto the car windscreen. I intended to buy from PC Show next wk. What models are good ? I heard there is a big difference as some units can logon to the satellite very fast, but some are slower ? Some models can search for your location very fast but some are very stupid. Example, cannot find Haig Road but can find tanjong katong road What other features should I be looking for ? I need one that allows me to use free maps but must still continue to have voice prompts also. BTW ... where can i get free maps ? I heard Malsing or Mapking or something like that sorry for the long post ... millions of thank yous in advance !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 Garmin Nuvi is a good model. You can check out product range online at www.garmin.com. No need to pay anything for use of GPS services. Maps can be downloaded free from www.malsingmaps.com. They can only work on Garmin GPS. Loads of info available there. You got to take your time to digest. If you cannot, this means you ain't ready to buy a GPS yet. Don't rush. If you are ready to buy, then head down to Sim Lim Square, look for Uncle Yan at Perfect Watch. Mapking is a GPS software for PDA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hishercar Clutched June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 if you have a NOkia phone with GPS function can it replace a Garmin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friedpiggy 2nd Gear June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 If cost of GPS is not a major issue, get standalone units. Faster, bigger screen. You dun need to pay to use. just need to pay for the unit. Usually it comes with a preloaded map, but you can get free(older) maps or unlocked maps from Malsing maps with some contributions or some cracked maps if you have lobang. i wouldnt recommend using nokia phones with built-in gps mainly becos their screen is small and hard to see while driving. Also pay-to-use isn't wise when everyone is getting it for free. If cost of the standalone unit is a factor, and you are thinking of getting a new phone, then you can consider gps equipped pda phones runnings on windows mobile os. Install garmin software and upload map from malsing. But may be tricky to get it to work if you are not a techie, especially garmin que software. Free to use/run but may suffer abit on speed since it depends on your pda resources. I'm running this configuration now mainly becos screen is acceptable size and its totally free since i already have a pda. I'm still finding the screen small though, thinking of getting a pure pda (BIG screen)+gps receiver, or maybe getting a 2din touchscreen hu equipped with gps for cleaner look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 I am not an expert in this.. but i can share with you what i know. if i am wrong, hope any brothers can correct me oso.. for phone, there are two types... GPS and AGPS AGPS- N82. GPS- N6110, [upcoming is N6220 Classic] AGPS need to pay, GPS do not need to pay. For GPS devices like garmin, oso do not need to pay to use. need to get the map for the respective countries. datz the shallow knowledge i know abt gps, still trying to learn more before getting one physically to play around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Espire 1st Gear June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 yes it can, but i think the phone limitation is the small screen, and whether it has the voice function, like asking you where to turn or something like that.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 Only symbian based Nokia phone can load Garmin Mobile XT. ie N95, N82 and N6110. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 7, 2008 Share June 7, 2008 It's kind of difficult to explain here in forum. And it'll take some time to digest especially updating of maps. U need to know which format or file extension for your device. Best person to approach in person to give u a demo is Chickenfarm cos he's using Garmin stand alone device and Nokia GPS phone. If u'r in a hurry to buy, sorry bro but IMO for better understanding u have to have patience to do so read up to know how to use the whole GPS thing. Best is register yourself in http://www.malsingmaps.com and read. Dun post questions like this in there cos no one will entertain u cos all the information/guide is there. I did a lot of read up b4 buying what I'm looking for. Or another suggestion is u organize a mini GPS meetup for ppl in MCF to share about stuffs on GPS systems available. From there u can see for yourself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rojakheaven Neutral Newbie June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 new nokia N72 has GPS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Author Share June 8, 2008 (edited) All many many thanks for the lots of response !! yes, i am short of time bcos i want to buy the unit during the PC Show as well as I am going to Germany to attend to some business for the first time next wk. So i need to buy the GPS soon and i need to buy fast. potentially i will also need a phone unit as well bcos of other reasons as well. special thanks to Thermody and Piggy and Espire You guys have really saved me a lot of hassle from going round and round. Seems like a Nok 6220 and a Garmin is the way to go !! thanks to Watwheels also ... I know you are a helpful guy around here. I jus dont hv the luxury of time to read the entire malsing thing ... which is why i am hoping the bros here can point me to the correct direction. I don't need to buy the best phone and GPS money can buy. I jus need something that works. to all other bros and sis ... many thanks as well !! Edited June 8, 2008 by Comnao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Anyone tried the GPS add-on for the PSP? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 holux is good too, enuff for local, not sure abt up north. Free map updates and price is good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 6110 is old model,replacing soon is 6210 with Nokia map v2. Diable agps should be free. There's many maps format and software,which one u want. Msm got a funny way for searching...go read up their website. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 If you are looking for standalone GPs....then try HP IPAQ 312 travel companion. It comes with 5 countries maps preloaded....Updating the maps I am not too sure... can always enquire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Ok, personal user of the N95 8GB, GPS is free for any nokia phone i.e. you can activate GPS signal and search for your places; but, you need to pay for voice navigation. Didn't tell me that did they? Not so bad right? Wrong. What use is a GPS device if it dosen't have voice navigation or routing? So my opinion would be to get a stand-alone GPS device i.e. Garmin, TomTom etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Best person to approach in person to give u a demo is Chickenfarm cos he's using Garmin stand alone device and Nokia GPS phone. bro..think u sala lah..is chickenbackside lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detion 1st Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 I have a Nokia N82 and Nuvi200. A GPS phone cannot actually replace a GPS device. The reception from GPS phone is unable to match the reception of a gps device. GPS phone screen is also too small for navigation. The phone might lag sometimes, the battery of the phone will deplete very fast when using gps. Somemore, it is troublesome when u use gps and someone calls you.. You will also have to get a stand for your phone in order to be easier for you to see the phone screen when you are driving. A Nokia N82 can install Garmin Mobile version if you know how. Nokia map must pay for annual subscription while Garmin one do not need. A standalone GPS will be better as of now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear June 8, 2008 Share June 8, 2008 Chicken confusion ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...