Doc's nose broken after noting driver's licence number

Miketow

A WOMAN driver cut into his lane, so he honked at her.

This led to hand-gesturing, more honking, tailgating and finally a confrontation that ended with a headbutt.

The road rage incident landed Lai Yew Sing in court in April. He pleaded guilty to one count of voluntarily causing hurt and was fined $1,000.

Lai, 40, a major in the Singapore Navy, had headbutted the woman driver's passenger on his face.

The attack left Dr Jason Chia Kok Kiong, 34, an associate consultant with the Changi Sports Medicine Centre at Changi General Hospital, with a fractured nose.

The court heard that Dr Chia was in a car driven by his colleague, Ms Sharon Seah, on 18 Mar last year, around 1.30pm.

They were travelling along South Buona Vista Road heading to The Village Centre near Pasir Panjang when Ms Seah, an occupational therapist, filtered into the right lane.

Lai, who was driving behind Ms Seah, sounded the horn at her. His heavily-pregnant wife was with him.

GESTURED WITH HER HANDS

Ms Seah gestured with her hand at Lai through her rear view mirror to indicate her displeasure.

She applied her brakes intermittently on the winding road and this further enraged Lai, who tailgated her and honked again.

On arriving at The Village Centre, Ms Seah drove into the basement carpark. Lai followed and parked his car first.

Dr Chia alighted from Ms Seah's car before she parked. He walked towards Lai's car to look at and memorise its licence plate number, court documents revealed.

Meanwhile, Lai headed toward Ms Seah's car and shouted at her while she remained seated inside.

As Dr Chia was walking back to Ms Seah's car, both men crossed paths. Lai was still shouting at Ms Seah, scolding her for driving badly.

As the two men stood close to each other, Lai suddenly headbutted Dr Chia on his face.

His nose started bleeding profusely and he called the police.

Lai did not leave the scene.

Dr Chia received treatment for his fractured nose at the National University Hospital.

Lai's lawyer, Mr Thangavelu, said in his mitigation that Lai had followed Ms Seah's car because he wanted an explanation from her.

He said: 'The driver flashed her middle finger twice into her rear view mirror.

'She also stuck her hand outside the window showing the same gesture and later braked intermittently for no apparent reason.'

He added that Lai had felt intimidated by Ms Seah's behaviour and was concerned for the safety of his wife, who was eight months' pregnant.

Mr Thangavelu said Lai had regretted his impulsive behaviour and had apologised to Dr Chia and offered to compensate him for his injury.

The court heard that after completing his national service in 1987, Lai signed on with the navy and had an excellent service record. He reached the rank of major in 2003.

Mr Thangavelu said Lai would lose his entire retirement benefits of $283,000, which he accumulated over 20 years, if he was sent to prison.

In her written judgment, District Judge Hamidah Ibrahim said she saw Lai's actions as a momentary loss of temper or control.

'I find that there was some provocation on the part of Ms Seah in the manner in which she drove her car that day,' she said.

SWERVED SUDDENLY

'She swerved suddenly into his lane, forcing him to take evasive action by jamming his brakes and sounding the horn.'

The judge added that Ms Seah's waving of her hands could have been perceived by Lai as the flashing of her middle finger.

'It was unfortunate that Lai had used his head to headbutt the nose of the victim,' she said.

'However, I find it in his favour that he did it only once and it was not premeditated and no weapon was used.'

She also noted that the conviction was adequate punishment for Lai since it was fairly obvious that his career would now be ruined.

While there is a need to protect the public from acts of violence, she did not think Lai deserved a jail sentence.

Lai was fined the maximum of $1,000, which he paid.

The prosecution appealed against the sentence. The appeal will be heard in the High Court on 17 Jul.

For voluntarily causing hurt, Lai could also have been jailed for one year.

This article was first published in The New Paper on 14 June 2008.

I don't condone the Navy Major's behavior - but i can definitely understand his rage.

Its painfully common to find stupid drivers who cut into your lane abruptly and forcing you to take evasive action like apply emergency brakes - and instead of waving to apologise - they wind down window and show you their middle finger!

There should be a law that punishes people for causing aggravated behavior.

Maybe they will think twice about showing their finger from the comfort and safety of their cars. [rifle]

Bro, there is another thread on this liao [nod][nod][nod]

I do agree with you on the 'Tulan-ness' of the Major given what the charbor driver had did... [:|]

Broken nose is let off rather easily dont u think? Then everybody will claim road rage etc. Just pay $1000 can break a man nose? Violence cannot be condoned. If wanna show finger, show butt, yell and scream ok, but once use physical force, it NOT ok. [shakehead]

I oso think that stupid woman was the cause of all this, cut into ppl lane still can tap brake & point middle finger. That would piss off even the pope man [thumbsdown] ... Wonder did the Doctor confront or provoke the Major first by "walking up close" to him...

[idea] Maybe the doctor unzip his pants and show his other "middle finger" at the major... [laugh][laugh]

major kena double impact, thus stress liao....

Edited by Wanderer

I have personally encountered a lady who flashed a middle finger at me, quite needlessly.

I came out of the car and asked her if she had the balls to come out and show me that finger again.[mad]

I can't stand all this "gung ho middle finger business" especially from ladies who think they can get away with anything b/c they are in their cars. ( sounds sexist, but hey.)

such a pity. He threw away his 7k salary and his wifey still pregnant. I wonder how the other lady driver can live with it... [shakehead]

i mean we all experience flashes of anger on the road every now and then but we dont go overboard. She's too much. affected people's rice bowl.

zero respect [thumbsdown]

bro if i were you, i would opt for discretion rather than valor. No cos i hum chee but becos of women's charter. She so easily build up a case against you udner the pretext of sexual harrasment. No doubt she was the one who started the whole birdie business but it's likely that you two would exchange words of the birdie kind. [dead]

Actually, serves him right - I have no pity for him.

Have time to horn means have time to anticipate and slow down.

only the bloody kia su attitude means nobody can overtake you.

All of you critise the lady, but I am sure all of you have also

been in a situation where you need to change lanes and the person

in the next lane refuses to let you change lanes and you have no choice

but to cut in. Even if there is 3 - 4 car lengths, the car behind will horn and

flash his lights at you.

Don't be so hypocritical and just critise the lady. As an officer in the Armed

Forces, he should have known better. All that years of training and

and no control? Ptooi!

Edited by E240

Actually, he's probably quite a condemned case in the SAF. 20 years in the force and still only a major? It's probably better for him to try to find a job as a security guard outside.

[thumbsup] for you!

Just like the other day while a show was just starting. There was this guy using his bluetooth headset and yakking loudly away in hokkien to his fren and he didn't even bother to switch to silent mode.

Getting unbearable, this gentle-looking guy who was with his gf, "fcuked" the other fella and told him off to get out of the cinema if he still wanna talk.

After that, it was just a peaceful movie showing! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Some just like to act tough nia.....

Anyway, kudos to that guy! [thumbsup]

Edited by Wanderer

when pretty lady flash middle finger at you, you shouldnt ash her to show again [:/] no good, like that not MAN [cool]

when pretty lady flash middle finger at you, you must [nod][nod][nod] you head at her [laugh][laugh][laugh]

aiyah...maybe the lady you encountered showed you the middle finger is to hint to you, can only use finger and no penetration leh...

I have personally encountered a lady who flashed a middle finger at me, quite needlessly.

I came out of the car and asked her if she had the balls to come out and show me that finger again.[mad]

I can't stand all this "gung ho middle finger business" especially from ladies who think they can get away with anything b/c they are in their cars. ( sounds sexist, but hey.)

kena condemn got lots of reasons one...maybe this he is a major buay seng mok, even the lady show him finger he thought the lady cursed him lor...maybe the lady asking him to finger ley...?