Wind30 Turbocharged June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 ya lah, I don't understand why so many tail gaters in MCF says it is because of road hoggers.... I think it is just an excuse. 90% of the time, they just want to go faster in an already crowded expressway. In singapore roads you want to road hog also not easy :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thermodynamics Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 I got one container full of pebbles in my car. If I highbeam the hogger infront and he don't give way, I ask my co-driver to throw pebbles. It works. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 throwing pebbles forward don't work. speed of car just too fast. U will definitely wack your own car if you throw pebbles in forward to car in front. pebbles are used to deal with tailgaters. car behind too close? flick one in an upwards direction with medium force. most of the time will be bingo! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 bcos they cannot afford brakes, whatever $$ they have all spent to improve power nia or their kock is small, feel inadequate. tailgating redeem some of their pride mentally Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 why ppl Tailgate?Tailgating is no good, when the person in front jam brake, the tailgater might knock onto him and he got to pay the repairs if so, why do ppl tailgate? is there any advantage to it? Why ppl hog the right lane? I thk it's the same reason why ppl tailgate.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 but i realize some Singaporeans drivers are quite inconsiderate.they drive at 100km/h u flash flash behind. they still not automatic signal left. unlike malaysian. when they see a faster car coming from behind, automatic they go left let u overtake. maybe that's the reason people tailgate. show their frustration True to some extent but I've seen MY cars hogging right lanes in SG...maybe our fuel too exp... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Hm..... This is how i feel about driving in singapore: Never road hog in the right most lane. If you want to road hog then dont complain when people tailgate. Sometimes, road hoggers really need to reflect upon themselves. Obviously the people who tailgate behind is probably in hurry or in some emergencies. For one, people who tailgate are in a bigger risk then people who road hog. If unfortunately crashed into the hogger's car, the tailgater will be in fault. Furthermore, tailgater needs a higher level of concentration. Who on earth will throw himself in such a situation if he is not in a hurry. I can say this even if no one agree with me. If you ask me, i am this kind of people lor. I will tailgate you when i am in a hurry if you road hog on 1st lane. There are just so many so many road hoggers everyday in Singapore road. I dont think its wrong to tailgate. Basic or advance thoery already taught that right most lane is for Overtaking and fast vehicles. I met one sonata cab driver road hog on lane 1 on cte. i tailgate this fellow from woodlands avenue 12 till lentor and he still refuses to give way. In the end i had to cut to lane 3 and back to lane 1 just to overtake this fellow. After i got back into lane 1, i simply drove like a turtle. Called me childish, but i think this fellow ought to be taught a lesson. Only then, the sonata cab decided to continue his 80km / hour on lane 2. How inconsiderate can 1 be? Although I don't dish them a dose of their own medicine, I gotta agree with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicapimp Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 because they poor eyesight, they think they are far away from the car infront. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 ya lah, I don't understand why so many tail gaters in MCF says it is because of road hoggers.... I think it is just an excuse. 90% of the time, they just want to go faster in an already crowded expressway. In singapore roads you want to road hog also not easy :) When there's congestion, inadvertently the gaps between cars becomes smaller...and the main reason I drive is to travel faster... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 why ppl Tailgate? Tailgating is no good, when the person in front jam brake, the tailgater might knock onto him and he got to pay the repairs if so, why do ppl tailgate? is there any advantage to it? What I will do is don't bother about them and just drive normally as their motive is to push you faster. If they want to be fast then just overtake. I also encounter few cases that I was travelling on the 2nd lane and people tailgate me from behind when I am travelling around 80-90km/h as there is no wrong to travel at this speed on 2nd lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zerod Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 maybe they are trying to see if the car infront has better brakes than the tailgater??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 agree half.. we shd drive fast and the one behind to tailgate to make sure the one in front drive even faster so fun, it's like pushing sushi off the belt.. the less fun part is that they mash together like that better remove speed limit then maybe less jam but may have more mash iron too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 at least you are honest. I think most tail gaters are just impatient people trying to make people give way to them in an already crowded expressway. Seriously, these people can tail gate me all I want but there is ZERO chance of me moving out of the right lane unless there is clear road in front for me for some distance, errr... which is pretty rare during weekday traffic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 If it's 2nd lane then it's ok to drive at a reasonable speed but if it's the 1st lane then you can't blame ppl from 'urging' you to go faster... The reason why ppl drive is to reach their destination faster, convenience..etc so imagine if it takes longer to commute by car than by public transport because of road hoggers then it defeats the purpose of owning cars no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asd78 Clutched June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 well, if respective drivers keep to the lanes designated for their travelling speed then everything should be fine. Roads might even be relatively smooth sailing and there will be less reason for them to erect erp gantires everywhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Those road hogs somehow find that the air is super fresh on the fast lane. They will stay on the fast lane at 80~90 kmh, until last minute when they want to exit [dun want to waste the fresh air].No point to high beam or horn, they will not bother. Simply LL. You stay behind them, they accuse you tailgate. precisely.. its so frustrating. Why can't ppl just move the hell out of lane one if they wanna travel slow.. One big fat reason why more and more ERPs are up was becoz road traffic speed too slow.. can I assumed these "hoggers" are partly to be blame?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 if lets say you're travelling at 150km/h on lane 1, will the TP book you or if caught by speed cams, will kena fine and demerit points? i always look at my mirror. some times, even i am travelling as fast as 150km/h, yet there are faster cars.. so i just have to simply keep left. seriously, many drivers got the wrong conception, thinking that 90km/h is the optimum speed to stay in lane 1. bro, really heng suay. i speed only when there's less traffic. wee hours in the morning. kenna speed cam before tho. $170 + 8 dep point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 (edited) Tailgating is very dangerous! If someone is tailgating you and you jam brake, the car behind will not have enough space and will smash into you and you might die! Please be kia si, signal and move to the left and let the tailgater pass you! Better to let the idiot pass than risk your car kenna whack and you dying! The signs on the expressway that the gov spend thousands on is for your safety! The sign that says - Keep left unless overtaking - is to help you! Pls follow it! Edited June 28, 2008 by Jamesc ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...