So_nice 6th Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 why tailgate when u could CUT him off? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redplanet Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 Sg drivers are generally quite ok, of course there will always be some bad apples. I personally find malaysian drivers worse: bad judgement(not keeping in centre of lane), anticipation(not able to estimate speed of car approaching behind when changing lane causing the back car to brake excessively) and most of the time road hogging(they keep strictly to the speed limit). What takes the cake are those malaysian motorcycles hogging on lane 1 during the early mornings. And the fact that many have faulty brake lights or headlights, making it difficult for others to see them. To threadstarter: Tailgating can simply be mitigated with no hogging. Never feel self-righteous just because one is already travelling at the speed limit, always give way(when possible) to faster vehicles. They may have emergencies to attend to... and thus have to speed. Policing these speeding drivers should be left to the TP and i think they do make exceptions for real emergencies(like waterbag burst, need to give birth). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 agree half.. we shd drive fast and the one behind to tailgate to make sure the one in front drive even faster so fun, it's like pushing sushi off the belt.. the less fun part is that they mash together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 trying to overtake from left lane is even more dangerous. drivers should always look at their mirror to see if there are any cars behind them, if they choose to stay in the overtaking lane, ie. 1st lane. i always look at my mirror. some times, even i am travelling as fast as 150km/h, yet there are faster cars.. so i just have to simply keep left. seriously, many drivers got the wrong conception, thinking that 90km/h is the optimum speed to stay in lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teriyaki Neutral Newbie June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 why ppl Tailgate?Tailgating is no good, when the person in front jam brake, the tailgater might knock onto him and he got to pay the repairs if so, why do ppl tailgate? is there any advantage to it? u think tailgate is fun? i hate to tailgate cars. but sometimes give them a friendly high beam, they still insist to stay on lane 1 @ 90km/h, then really no choice. it is damn stressful to tailgate people. u tailgate them, they not happy, they report TP. or worst, come out to confront u. in the 1st place, they shouldnt road hog. somemore, tailgate is risky. those road hoggers love to step on brake and make u frighten. then they speed up. then maintain at 90km/h again. so risky. u bang them, u pay. so i shall say, not that people like to tailgate, but sometimes it is no choice because of inconsiderate road hoggers..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 why ppl Tailgate?Tailgating is no good, when the person in front jam brake, the tailgater might knock onto him and he got to pay the repairs if so, why do ppl tailgate? is there any advantage to it? this topic has been discussed many times. it is a matter of tailgate = driving too slow = road hogging = refuse to give way. rule of thumb. keep left unless overtaking. universal language. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 say who? those ppl with these thought are idiotand to those road hoggers, can refer them to the 1st line of your siggi. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 27, 2008 Share June 27, 2008 They just want to go faster, especially the one infront is hogging the road, means there is basically no car in front of the hogger for a big distance... Just give way lah~ wont die right? Like chicken and egg, when there's no hogger there's no tailgater. well said, my friend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 how about if the road is crowded like the CTE? I am driving at the right most lane at around 90 km/hr. This bugger comes in behind and tailgates me. There is NO EMPTY road in front of me. Will you give way? That tail gate bugger thinks he is driving an ambulance..... H expect everyone to siam out of his way izzit? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Road hoggers and tailgaters are FRUSTRATED DRIVERS! I steer clear of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 no empty road in front how to give for tailgater, i will give in and then filter back again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 if lets say you're travelling at 150km/h on lane 1, will the TP book you or if caught by speed cams, will kena fine and demerit points? i always look at my mirror. some times, even i am travelling as fast as 150km/h, yet there are faster cars.. so i just have to simply keep left. seriously, many drivers got the wrong conception, thinking that 90km/h is the optimum speed to stay in lane 1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ff2004 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Usually I will try not to get into extreme right lane since that is for fast ride. I will keep on the centre or extreme left lane. Sometime even on the extreme left I am being tailgated as well. I just dun care them loh. Maintain my speed and they can overtake me if they want. No problem. Sometime on the centre lane also being tailgated. Travel at 90km/hr with the speed limit restricts at 90 km/hr on the centre lane also tailgated by others. Extreme right lane is empty still they choose to tailgate me. I usually keep half car body distance with the front car. Some drivers behind just want to force you to close up the distant. No way! Who are you? Police? If I bang onto front car who will responsible? You? If you dislike the half car body distant infront of me, you can always overtake me from the right lane and then filter back to the centre. I will always give way to you. If you think you are scare to travel on the right lane as well, then bopian.....stay behind me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 i always give way to tailgaters. and i apologize to them. i respect people who want to speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sw20 2nd Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 sometimes i tailgate the slower car behind.. i only push the car infront when i see openings to zig zag into traffic... esp on expressways. cos some kukus drive 70km/h on the 2nd land.. then some people on the 2nd lane drive slower than people on the 3rd or 4th lane.... also u notice some cars will drive slower than lorries. if you are a slow driver.... not u qpik... i mean others.. please move to the left most lane. Thank you for letting me rant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 I don't know about the malaysian motorcyclists but when I drive on the NSH ... the malaysian drivers always give way to cars who are faster than them. Yes ... I've met 1 or 2 bad apples but most of them are generally pretty good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ad23 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 That happens very often to me cause I am on the CTE daily ... I think if that's no empty road in front, there's no need to give way. That means keeping 1 car's length or the '2 second' rule. You're not road-hogging right? Pls correct me if I'm wrong though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 28, 2008 Share June 28, 2008 Front Driver drive Too SLOW ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...