Linus Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 blue2, as far as OTs on threads are concerned, this thread is on general car discussion folder. if you want to be OT, please take it somewhere else. let this be a reminder to you. you would have been in MCF long enough to know that we do not tolerate OTs on the main folders. if you not do know about it, please go and read the MCF guidelines. regards, linus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 okie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Bro, Time for clean up again. Too much drifting by certain individuals. Good move. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Well, you shouldn't be surprised.... from previous threads in MCF, I have come to realise that hazard lights are used for various purposes in Singapore, all from really stopping and warning of hazard, to driving slowly in rainy weather, to indicate "newbie driver ...please don't bully", to taxis wanting to change lanes to pick up passengers, to drivers changing lanes abruptly, to "I'm driving on lane 1, at my own pace, the rest of you can F888 off!".... I wonder what other use SG drivers will think off to use hazard lights for... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 (edited) One would sure bound onto road hoggers everyday on the road Some times, they are jus in a world of themselves They do not understand that extreme right lane aka Lane 1 is for vehicles cheonging fast/overtaking lane Jus like 1 SJG Civic which i encountered this morning along AYE ... Must flash a few times at her before she move back to Lane 2 as when she came into Lane 1, she was travelling at 90Km/Hr leaving a damn wide gap before her for at least 10 over secs ... But at least she still gets the hint that the rear vehicle wants to go faster than her Bro, the one which you have encountered must likely think that you are trying to play punk with him or he has never travel on NS Highway before You on right signal, he on his hazard light loh Edited July 24, 2008 by Mzrmazda3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Author Share July 24, 2008 hmm...numeric 2 leh... so might mean got two come n listurb lah... why today so blur? u kenna suck empty empty izzit wah long time never come in realise that u became smarter leh 2 can mean him or both or you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 I know we have alot of discussion about roadhogging vs tailgating, but just now i encountered something which i m still confused over. I was travelling on the pasir panjang high way which links west coast to keppel. I was behind a Kia Cerato and he was doing 70km/h on lane 1. The speed limit on that stretch of road is 70km/h by the way. The road was pretty clear and he chose to be on lane 1 with the same speed as the trucks beside him. I put on my right signal to indicate my intention to overtake and hope that he can move to the lane 2. Upon seeing my signal, he sped up but still maintain in lane 1 although lane 2 is totally cleared of traffic. All the while i maintain 1-2 car length from him. While i still have my right signal on the wholetime to indicate my overtaking intention, suddenly that Cerato driver put on his hazard lights. I really dun know what he is trying to do or imply, i did check for presence of TP but road was simply empty. In the end, i overtook him from the left, following behind me were afew more cars. Can roadho..errr i mean, users enlighten me about his intention and behaviour possibly? I think when he sped up, it is for you to overtake. But u did not overtake, so he on hazard lights so you think he will be driving slowly so you will overtake from left and not come disturb him is it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Author Share July 24, 2008 Yeah, bound to meet roadhoggers daily. usually i will give them benefit of doubt, i will not use flash or horn as u know, drivers on the road nowadays become aggressive easily. i wont wanna become a victim of jam brake stunt the other type of drivers which i have been constantly encountering nowadays are drivers without lane discipline. i call them drifters and when u horn them to avoid collision, they stare at u like wanna pick a fight Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 hmm..shall not reply too much... wait OT again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Hi bro, I travel on that stretch quite a bit, there are many u-turns. That 'highway' is not very high speed with many 'exits'. I'd give the benefit of doubt that the vihecle intended to keep right because he need to make a turn or something. This is not unsual in these context. Don't be too concerned over it. Just be merry and make your way to the next lane that is better for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Author Share July 24, 2008 errr.. that pasir panjang high way which i m refering to doesnt have u-turn all the way from west coat to keppel. maybe u referring to the west coast high way instead? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Me also seldom horn or flash one unless necessary Nowdays people here on the road are all under pressure Pressure from work, Bor, Inflation ... etc hence temper would sure flare easily Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 I know we have alot of discussion about roadhogging vs tailgating, but just now i encountered something which i m still confused over. I was travelling on the pasir panjang high way which links west coast to keppel. I was behind a Kia Cerato and he was doing 70km/h on lane 1. The speed limit on that stretch of road is 70km/h by the way. The road was pretty clear and he chose to be on lane 1 with the same speed as the trucks beside him. I put on my right signal to indicate my intention to overtake and hope that he can move to the lane 2. Upon seeing my signal, he sped up but still maintain in lane 1 although lane 2 is totally cleared of traffic. All the while i maintain 1-2 car length from him. While i still have my right signal on the wholetime to indicate my overtaking intention, suddenly that Cerato driver put on his hazard lights. I really dun know what he is trying to do or imply, i did check for presence of TP but road was simply empty. In the end, i overtook him from the left, following behind me were afew more cars. Can roadho..errr i mean, users enlighten me about his intention and behaviour possibly? This is so simple. He on his hazard lights to tell you that he is a hazard, and as such, stay away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 Next time don't bother with the right signal. Follow behind the car for 5-6 secs, if he shows no sign of moving to Lane 2, just overtake from the left and go on your way. At least you won't be wasting your time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 maybe the driver very pek cek at being tailgated that his hazards are supposed to warn TS that he is going to lay spike strip on TS liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 U put right signal tell him u wanna overtake.. he put hazard signal tell u it's dangerous lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beei 1st Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 I am curious, why you din overtake from the left at the beginning?? Usually, I am not so patient to tailgate or signal right.. Got chance, i will overtake.. regardless left or right.. because my little experience tells me singaporean usually have no ideas they are road hogging.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear July 24, 2008 Share July 24, 2008 U put right signal tell him u wanna overtake.. he put hazard signal tell u it's dangerous lor.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...